We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day stay during school holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Three day stay during school holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

While thwir mother worked we hosted our grand nephew (9) and and grand niece (7) in a 2 bedroom Quest Southbank apartment. While the decor and fittings are not ultra luxurious, the apartment is generous in size and in a quiet central location. We took the children to the National Gallery of Victoria and Federation Square as well as shopping in the central city - an easy walk from the Quest. The staff were friendly and helpful so no complaints there.
The apartment was well appointed with good kitchen and laundry facilities. It also had two bathrooms which is plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Rob,

It is always great to hear that our guests have really enjoyed themselves whilst staying at Quest Souhtbank. We are very fortunate that our apartments have plenty of space and in particular that our 2 and 3 Bedroom apartments all have 2 bathrooms.

We look forward to you all returning again in the future and hopefully your niece will be able to take a break from work next time!

Sincere regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (2 adults and a teenage daughter) stayed here over 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment.
The room was very spacious with fantastic views from level 17. We had friends staying on the other side of the building and their view across the city was even better.
The apartment had a modern feel and was fitted out with modern appliances - all in working order.
As far as location goes, the Quest is set back slightly from the Southbank river front so it's a 5 minute walk to get down there but certainly not inconvenient. Just next to the Quest is an IGA mini mart which provides a handy place to buy your groceries and stock your fridge.
Room service is available although we never used it (this is a serviced apartment after all).
We found the staff here to be very helpful which always makes for a pleasant stay.
The Quest is definitely worth considering if you're staying in Melbourne.l

Room Tip: Ask for a view across Fitzroy Gardens to the MCG
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MaxsterPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for commenting on the spaciousness of our rooms.

I am also very glad that you and your friends enjoyed the different views we have available!

We look forward to you staying again with us in the furutre.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a high floor apartment for 4 girls weekend away. Close to local spot tourist spots. Easy walking distance to local attractions including markets, casino and nice dinners. Loses points for previous departing guests hair and stained bath towel in bathroom so housekeeping should be fine tuned as we spent a lot of money on this accommodation. Tip: have breakfast in one of the little cafes along the Yarra.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear 1travel24,

Thank you for your review of our property. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping department.

I hope you had a lovely girl’s weekend away and once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in two bedroom apartment. The room was spacious, clean and modern. Service was friendly, professional and helpful, even on a very busy weekend. The front desk staff offered help with a smile when we were faced with problems due to cancelled flights and did all they could to assist. It is in a great location and the rooms were very quiet considering it is in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Leonie O,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We strive to offer a great product and fantastic services and I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This visit was our 4th stay at QUEST Southbank. The customer service and kindness from the ladies at the Front Desk is excellent. The Quest Southbank apartments is very comfortable and so central. We will always recommend to friends and family to stay at Quest Southbank. It is also very easy to get on to the major motorways out of the city centre from the QUEST. There is an IGA shop and various fast food outlets and restaurants close to the Quest.
The Quest is close to the art centre of melbourne and the entertainment precinct of Southbank with a short walk further the the busy city centre of Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Westernaus,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you have continued to stay with us and recommending Quest Southbank to your family and friends as a place to stay in Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the Quest Southbank in March at rate of $210. Room upgraded to Two Bedroom Apartment at Check-In (One Bedroom Apartment booked).

Location: Located just off the back of the Arts Centre, Southbank, so perfect for those attending the theatre or the Opera.

Check-In: Friendly, and hassle free.

Security: Excellent. Access to lifts and floors requires use of proximity fob on key provided.

Room: Everything you need (large fridge, kitchenette, wireless internet, dishwasher, washing machine, etc) and then some. Clean, comfortable and decent value for rate paid. Every toiletries provided nice, but you'll need to bring your own toothbrush. A nice touch is room is set up for your arrival - lights on and air-con already running, so no stumbles in the dark nor a sultry wait for cool comfort.

Check-Out: Again friendly and efficient to boot. They were even willing to check that I got my cab ok - nice!

Summary: You get everything you pay for here, and then some. A+

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear The_Hotel_Reviewer for Melbourne

Thank you for posting this. What a great review!

We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, the girls at reception are very friendly and helpful. room was clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. I couldn't fault this hotel, they only thing was when coming back at around 11pm at night I had a simple question and asked the male who was at reception. He was extremtly rude and was a disappointment as he let the whole team down.
I would happily stay here again and recommend it to people I know.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear KEA14,

Thank you for your feedback and for bringing to my attention the interaction you had with our Night Manager. Thank you for recommending us and I do hope we see you back again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.