We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, practical and comfortable - what's not to like.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, practical and comfortable - what's not to like.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the Quest Southbank in March at rate of $210. Room upgraded to Two Bedroom Apartment at Check-In (One Bedroom Apartment booked).

Location: Located just off the back of the Arts Centre, Southbank, so perfect for those attending the theatre or the Opera.

Check-In: Friendly, and hassle free.

Security: Excellent. Access to lifts and floors requires use of proximity fob on key provided.

Room: Everything you need (large fridge, kitchenette, wireless internet, dishwasher, washing machine, etc) and then some. Clean, comfortable and decent value for rate paid. Every toiletries provided nice, but you'll need to bring your own toothbrush. A nice touch is room is set up for your arrival - lights on and air-con already running, so no stumbles in the dark nor a sultry wait for cool comfort.

Check-Out: Again friendly and efficient to boot. They were even willing to check that I got my cab ok - nice!

Summary: You get everything you pay for here, and then some. A+

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear The_Hotel_Reviewer for Melbourne

Thank you for posting this. What a great review!

We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, the girls at reception are very friendly and helpful. room was clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. I couldn't fault this hotel, they only thing was when coming back at around 11pm at night I had a simple question and asked the male who was at reception. He was extremtly rude and was a disappointment as he let the whole team down.
I would happily stay here again and recommend it to people I know.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear KEA14,

Thank you for your feedback and for bringing to my attention the interaction you had with our Night Manager. Thank you for recommending us and I do hope we see you back again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrific location and quiet quiet quiet. For Melbourne this is amazing as I have stayed in a few Melbourne hotels and never had a quiet night. We stayed over on the White night all night arts festival which 300,000 people attended and which carried on till 7am yet we didn't hear a thing in our apartment. We walked to all the activites from the apartment as it was very close to southbank and the Art Gallery.Friendly, efficient yet welcoming staff. Room comfortable and enough space for two of us with a nice lounge/kitchen that was separate from the bedroom. We even used the washing machine which worked well. It was a hot night and the corridors around the lift were very hot but the rooms were airconditioned and staff had it running to cool the room before we arrived. We were able to adjust it ourselves and turn it off if we wanted. The breakfast voucher was a welcome surprise and we had a pleasant and short walk to La Camera at Southbank for a lovely big breaky with a view of the river. Late checkout at 11am and complimentary parking provided too. We were very happy.

Room Tip: We had the 6th floor overlooking Kavanagh St which was not an inspiring view but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi secondglance,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.

We think our location is wonderful – so close to everything Melbourne has to offer – yet just tucked away enough so it’s quiet for sleeping.

Housekeeping do a great job to ensure apartments are perfectly clean and comfortable for your arrival, right down to cooling your apartment if it’s hot outside, and heating it up in winter.

Booking our “Escape to Southbank” package is great value for money – providing breakfast, parking and the late checkout for one low rate. We’re so glad you enjoyed your weekend.

See you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Quest Apartments are in a great central location in Melbourne being walking distance to the Theatre area, Casino and the city. The apartment was well appointed and clean.The reception staff was "professional" on check-in and helpful on check-out. It was serviced daily. My only grip was the check in slip I had to sign which was more like a threatening Legal Document than an agreement. The names of each individual Guest had to be provided and each person had to sign in! They also demand a $300 bond that is debited to your card and "will be refunded in about 5 days"! All in all I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Robyn S,

Thank you for your feedback.

The document you signed on arrival is titled ‘Guest Registration and Code of Conduct’ and it asks you provide your guests names and phone numbers. This is for many reasons – in case we need to evacuate and account for each person in house, or even just to contact someone from your apartment should you be unreachable. It outlines that Reception is available 24 hours and asks that you agree to no parties, loud noise or lewd/offensive behaviour. So it’s more for your safety and to ensure a lovely stay for all guests more than anything. It is certainly not threatening in any way.

A credit card pre-authorisation (hold or “freeze’) is not out of the ordinary for good hotel practise, and you’ll find many hotels do this around the world. It’s not our money, but instead your bank has frozen it should we need it for any reason. We mention this on all documentation; confirmation emails, etc. so there are no unexpected surprises on arrival. A pleasant and safe guest experience is our upmost priority.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here in February for one night to attend Warhorse at the Arts Centre. Very handy as just a 3 minute walk thru the arts centre car park & directly into the arts centre. Room was a two bedrom, two bathroom & very clean & comfortable. Quite at night with the lounge overlooking st Kilda rd & the Shrine. We ate out but kitchen well equipped with champagne glasses for our drinks & nibbles prior to theatre Melissa on front reception very friendly & helpful on check in. Able to check in early & leave car & return after 2pm when our room was ready. Close to southbank with many eateries. Have stayed here many times & will continue to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear LuLu09,

Thank you for such wonderful comments! We're so pleased you continue to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Convenient for theatre, restaurants, shopping, CBD and most importantly the Tennis Centre. Our washing machine wasnt working so reception offered to do our laundry for us...bonus!! Rooms were clean and beds really comfy...only slight negative was the showers..Both shower screens dripped water all over the floors and on one occassion our cold water went scalding hot! Never heard of this before and reception were a bit skeptical of our claims (four adults all experienced this strange phenomona). They did come up and check while we were out but things had miraculously fixed themselves.....hmmmmm maybe we WERE all dreaming??

Room Tip: We requested a city view room which wasnt available but it really didnt matter as the view towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lea61,

Thank you for posting such a great review. I'm not sure I can explain what happened with the showers but nonetheless am happy it sorted itself out.

We hope to see you and your friends for Australian Open 2014 if not sooner!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Quest Southbank apartments for just the one night but the rooms are perfect for a short or long stay. Everything is incredibly clean, the rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and well equipped with appliances, utensils etc. It's a good-looking all-rounder, really. Additionally, staff members were wonderful - very informative and helpful. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Eliza M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review! It's always great to read such positive comments and know our guests love staying here as much as we love having them.

We hope to see you for a longer stay next time you come!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.