We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Thornton, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here in February for one night to attend Warhorse at the Arts Centre. Very handy as just a 3 minute walk thru the arts centre car park & directly into the arts centre. Room was a two bedrom, two bathroom & very clean & comfortable. Quite at night with the lounge overlooking st Kilda rd & the Shrine. We ate out but kitchen well equipped with champagne glasses for our drinks & nibbles prior to theatre Melissa on front reception very friendly & helpful on check in. Able to check in early & leave car & return after 2pm when our room was ready. Close to southbank with many eateries. Have stayed here many times & will continue to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear LuLu09,

Thank you for such wonderful comments! We're so pleased you continue to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Convenient for theatre, restaurants, shopping, CBD and most importantly the Tennis Centre. Our washing machine wasnt working so reception offered to do our laundry for us...bonus!! Rooms were clean and beds really comfy...only slight negative was the showers..Both shower screens dripped water all over the floors and on one occassion our cold water went scalding hot! Never heard of this before and reception were a bit skeptical of our claims (four adults all experienced this strange phenomona). They did come up and check while we were out but things had miraculously fixed themselves.....hmmmmm maybe we WERE all dreaming??

Room Tip: We requested a city view room which wasnt available but it really didnt matter as the view towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lea61,

Thank you for posting such a great review. I'm not sure I can explain what happened with the showers but nonetheless am happy it sorted itself out.

We hope to see you and your friends for Australian Open 2014 if not sooner!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Quest Southbank apartments for just the one night but the rooms are perfect for a short or long stay. Everything is incredibly clean, the rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and well equipped with appliances, utensils etc. It's a good-looking all-rounder, really. Additionally, staff members were wonderful - very informative and helpful. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Eliza M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review! It's always great to read such positive comments and know our guests love staying here as much as we love having them.

We hope to see you for a longer stay next time you come!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had an enjoyable 1 week stay here. Great location, customer service from front desk staffs and housekeepers were excellent. Well furnished and equipped rooms. Keep up the good work! Will definitely book again if i return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Magnus C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay here.

See you next time you're in Melbourne.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Quest Southbank apartments and was very impressed with the quality of the rooms and service. The apartment was supplied with fantatsic amount of cooking utensils compared to other apartments I have stayed at. The position is great and parking charges reasonable. Would most definetly reccommend to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Sandy L,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you next time!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a weekend stay at Quest Southbank. General Manager Darelle, and staff, particularly Melissa on the front desk were so obliging and helpful.
The rooms were very clean with all mod cons. What a great location. So central to all amenities including shops, restaurants, Crown, DFO, National Gallery of Victoria and the list goes on.
We highly recommend Quest Southbank. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear maria m,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your weekend and your stay here. I have shown Melissa your comment also, thank you for this.

See you next time you're in Melbourne!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights from 19 to 28 January in a 2 bedroom executive apartment. It was absolutely the most unhygienic place we have stayed in. On arrival: the bedspread was stained, the bathroom so mouldy we had to ask to have it cleaned again (shouldn't have bothered). On one occasion clean towels were delivered to the room but were stained as well so we had to send them back. The saucepans were so dirty from the last guest we could not use them. Each complaint was addressed but when we asked that someone more senior phone us given all of these issues and the fact the apartment was costing $430 per night and therefore meant to be at least clean, we were never contacted. Without a doubt the worst accommodatin we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear EtakPerth,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

The bathroom isn’t mouldy, but the grout has discoloured, which would explain why there was no difference once it was cleaned again. We are in the middle of an exciting refurbishment which includes the re-grouting of all bathrooms as we are aware this needs to be done. However it’s a lengthy process and we haven’t gotten around to the apartment you stayed in as yet. We did ask if you wanted to move to a different apartment but you chose not to. I’m unsure why a manager didn’t contact you if you had asked, as we take every opportunity to ensure guest’s feedback, requests and queries are followed up and resolved as swiftly as possible. A positive experience for all guests is our upmost priority.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Again, I thank you for your comments.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.