We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a few steps from theatres” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just a few steps from theatres”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I thought I had already posted a review for my stay in early December, but I was wrong.
This is my accommodation of choice when visiting Melbourne for the theatre and/or Art exhibitions.
If travelling alone, the location is ideal, as there is an entrance to the theatres a minute or two from the apartments and the Southbank theatre is not much further away. So I have no qualms about walking from either location after an evening performance.
The one bedroom apartment I stayed in was clean and the bed comfortable. A roomy bathroom housed a washing machine and dryer, and the kitchen had everything needed should you want to cook or reheat food.
Am planning to stay here again when visiting Melbourne for the Monet's Garden art exhibition.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear spenditnow,

Thank you for this review, we think our location is fantastic too! We're lucky to be in the 'thick of it' when it comes to the Arts, Theatre, Sports and Commerce locations - not to mention the great restaurants on Southbank Promenade and the beautiful Gardens. Then Albert Park, South Melbourne, South Yarra and St Kilda are 10 minutes on the tram!

Thanks again for your feedback and we'll see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
38
26
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked for 3 nights to watch the Aust Open Tennis and notices all other accommodation hiked up there prices for the weekend by more than double.....Disgusted me.
The quest did not and we booked expecting something lack lustre. We were so happy with the spacious kitchen, bedroom and lounge area also with a nice balcony.
Very Happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Troydan7,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next time you're in Melbourne.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tired from overnight travel, we arrived at about 7 am to drop our bags but the lady at reception said we could check in already. This we greatly appreciated as our body clocks told us that it was still the middle of the night, not a time to be wandering the streets of Melbourne. We all promptly fell asleep in the comfortable beds. The apt was clean and welcoming. Delivery service was much appreciated at dinner time. One point to note so that you don't get nasty shock when you arrive. Heating/air-conditioning was only available in the living room, but I think this setup is quite common in this part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear SGborn,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide such great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were delighted with our 2 bedroom apartment with a view of the city. The apartment was clean, modern and well equipped with everything we needed and plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. We were a short walk from the yarra and the southbank area with restaurants,bars and a foodcourt in the southbank mall.We were a 20min walk from the MCG and walking distance from the city and other attractions and a 2min walk from a well stocked IGA and great pizza place, sopranos. The quest was in the middle of the new years eve fireworks and we had a great view of from the balcony of the apartment . The front desk staff were always helpful and polite and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Realm10,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. See you again next time you’re in Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here in an "Executive" apartment in late November. Apparently this was a busy weekend in Melbourne and so the rate was greatly inflated. The apartment was dated and dirty. As a very frequent traveller for both business and leisure I would not contemplate staying here again even for half the rate we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you need accommodation for an extended period of time then this is a great accommodation facility and good value for money.
The apartment accommodation has a self contained kitchen with all conveniences.
Apartments are very well maintained, lovely decor and furnishings and the bedding is very comfortable.
Helpfull and friendly staff.
Secure parking available withing the facility.
Located at Southbank is easily accessible by public transport.
Less than 5 min walk to the many restaurants at Southbank.
Approx 10 min walk to Bourne st Melbourne for great shopping.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, eg; short or long term accommodation, I always prefer the uppermost level w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear 1986couple,

Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Given its excellent location this hotel should have a high usage rate and with that a lot of wear and tear. But all in all in all the room was in good condition and clean. Only the carpet had spots all over it. Nice sized bathroom/ laundry combination. Girl at check in had 'done it all before' and rattled off the instructions faster than a speeding bullet. It was my first stay. I wondered how foreigners or the elderly would understand a word she said. The auto settings on the radio and airconditioning had been left as set by the prior guest. So these turned on atomatically and you spent the next minutes turning them off. Lucky for me the alarm had not been set. Also the fan in the bathroom and the fan in the kitchen could not be turned off. So these ran non stop. A problem if you are a light sleeper. Good idea to locate the bedroom away from the street side of the room and reduce street noise impact. Good room layout.

Room Tip: Excellent breakfast venue right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear bluebull79,

I should note that it’s our housekeeping staff who set the radio, A/C and welcome lights for all guest arrivals. We find our guests really appreciate this, especially if arriving when it’s very hot outside, or when it’s dark.

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.