We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spacious rooms at great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 166 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious rooms at great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked for 3 nights to watch the Aust Open Tennis and notices all other accommodation hiked up there prices for the weekend by more than double.....Disgusted me.
The quest did not and we booked expecting something lack lustre. We were so happy with the spacious kitchen, bedroom and lounge area also with a nice balcony.
Very Happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Troydan7,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next time you're in Melbourne.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
33
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tired from overnight travel, we arrived at about 7 am to drop our bags but the lady at reception said we could check in already. This we greatly appreciated as our body clocks told us that it was still the middle of the night, not a time to be wandering the streets of Melbourne. We all promptly fell asleep in the comfortable beds. The apt was clean and welcoming. Delivery service was much appreciated at dinner time. One point to note so that you don't get nasty shock when you arrive. Heating/air-conditioning was only available in the living room, but I think this setup is quite common in this part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear SGborn,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide such great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were delighted with our 2 bedroom apartment with a view of the city. The apartment was clean, modern and well equipped with everything we needed and plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. We were a short walk from the yarra and the southbank area with restaurants,bars and a foodcourt in the southbank mall.We were a 20min walk from the MCG and walking distance from the city and other attractions and a 2min walk from a well stocked IGA and great pizza place, sopranos. The quest was in the middle of the new years eve fireworks and we had a great view of from the balcony of the apartment . The front desk staff were always helpful and polite and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Realm10,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. See you again next time you’re in Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here in an "Executive" apartment in late November. Apparently this was a busy weekend in Melbourne and so the rate was greatly inflated. The apartment was dated and dirty. As a very frequent traveller for both business and leisure I would not contemplate staying here again even for half the rate we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you need accommodation for an extended period of time then this is a great accommodation facility and good value for money.
The apartment accommodation has a self contained kitchen with all conveniences.
Apartments are very well maintained, lovely decor and furnishings and the bedding is very comfortable.
Helpfull and friendly staff.
Secure parking available withing the facility.
Located at Southbank is easily accessible by public transport.
Less than 5 min walk to the many restaurants at Southbank.
Approx 10 min walk to Bourne st Melbourne for great shopping.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, eg; short or long term accommodation, I always prefer the uppermost level w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear 1986couple,

Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Given its excellent location this hotel should have a high usage rate and with that a lot of wear and tear. But all in all in all the room was in good condition and clean. Only the carpet had spots all over it. Nice sized bathroom/ laundry combination. Girl at check in had 'done it all before' and rattled off the instructions faster than a speeding bullet. It was my first stay. I wondered how foreigners or the elderly would understand a word she said. The auto settings on the radio and airconditioning had been left as set by the prior guest. So these turned on atomatically and you spent the next minutes turning them off. Lucky for me the alarm had not been set. Also the fan in the bathroom and the fan in the kitchen could not be turned off. So these ran non stop. A problem if you are a light sleeper. Good idea to locate the bedroom away from the street side of the room and reduce street noise impact. Good room layout.

Room Tip: Excellent breakfast venue right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear bluebull79,

I should note that it’s our housekeeping staff who set the radio, A/C and welcome lights for all guest arrivals. We find our guests really appreciate this, especially if arriving when it’s very hot outside, or when it’s dark.

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in September/October. This is about the 4th time we have stayed here and once again it did not disappoint. The apartments are quiet but within easy walking distance of major attractions and restaurants.They are well equipped and comfortable. There are numerous tram stops close by to get anywhere in the city and the staff are universally pleasant and helpful. Though we will certainly stay here on our next trip to Melbourne the apartment we stayed in was starting to look a little tired and clearly needs some maintenance and upgrading. Overall it remains a very convenient and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Robert B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We strive to continually maintain our apartments, and are currently in the middle of a refurbishment. This includes new beds, pillows, linen, towelling, paint, appliances, televisions etc.

See you again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.