We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, modern and convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet, modern and convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I found the hotel very comfortable and clean. Off the main roads but easy to find. The art gallery is next door and south bank restaurants and cages offered plenty of choice. A main railway station is close. Plus it is close to the river and parks for walking/running. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Hepast,

Thank for your great feedback. We pride ourselves on immaculate apartments and fantastic service so it is always nice to hear. We also think our location is great! Very easy to get anywhere.

We look forward to welcoming you to Quest Southbank again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
31
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment at the Quest Southbank with a group of friends for 3 nights. It was ideal for 4 people especially having the 2 bathrooms. I found the bedroom was too cold and had to put an extra blanket on the bed for warmth. There was also a dirty towel left in the bathroom which was a bit gross! The apartments are just a little too far from the CBD and are not on a tram route but overall I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear anon123255344,

We find our guests really enjoy the close, convenience of the city without the hustle, bustle and noise of the CBD itself. We’re a five minute walk to Southbank Promenade, then another five to the city. Five minutes in the other direction and you hit the beautiful Botanical Gardens.

Tram no. 16 stops almost outside our door, just a two minute walk diagonally across the road, and trams both ways along St Kilda are at the end of our street and up the stairs between The Arts Centre and Hamer Hall. Next time you stay Reception will happily point out the shortest route to anywhere you wish to go.

We do hope you recommend Quest Southbank to your friends and colleagues and I thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the Quest Southbank with a group of friends (five of us in total) on a Saturday night. We originally booked this place because it offered the option of 4 single beds plus a rollaway bed. But I received a call the day before to say that the bedding configuration would be one queen, 2 singles and a rollaway - and no amount of discussion would change this arrangement. Sleeping issues aside, we found the apartment (once we did manage to find it) quite suitable for our needs. The living area was spacious, the kitchen was large, it had two bathrooms (an essential with five women!) and also had a laundry and balcony. It was handy to have an IGA (with liquor outlet) and a pizza restaurant (which incidentally makes great pizzas) just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Lilwend,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

As we do not guarantee bedding requests, we think it's nice to call and let our guests know, so that you know what to expect before you arrive.

We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We think our location is great too!

Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would not recommend these apartments. We stayed at the Quest Southbank for 3 nights and I will never stay here again. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and have not experienced a worse hotel during my travels. The bathrooms were unclean, worn out and had terrible water pressure in the showers. The carpet was mouldy and smelt putrid. The beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable but the worst part was there was no heating in the bedrooms. How can you have a hotel in Melbourne and have no heating! There was no way the heat from the lounge room could have heated the two rooms. To make things worse we had to pay to upgrade to a slightly better suite but this was only marginally better. The staff at the reception had no reaction to our poor experience. There are hundreds of hotels in Melbourne much better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear A P,

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing a great product to both the business traveller and leisure guest. I have looked at the notes on your booking and can see that the only concern you told Reception about at the time was the heating. I believe my staff were helpful in offering either additional blankets and portable heaters or a payable upgrade to our Executive Apartments which, among other things, have ducted heating – to which you chose the upgrade.

We’re currently in the process of laying new carpet, and we regularly steam clean all apartments on a cyclical basis. I inspected the carpet in the apartment you stayed in and while I did not find it mouldy we have subsequently steam cleaned it since your departure.

It’s a shame we weren’t aware of the other concerns as I know my Front Office Staff do their best to ensure every stay is a positive one.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at the Quest Apartments with my wife when she was in Melbourne for work. It is a quiet hotel with all the basic amenities. It would be ideal for a family stay or business.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment away from the elevator. Also try and get city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear LeylandBrothers,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arriving, the building looked a little unkept, numbers falling off the front... close to the city, thats about it for the posatives! 9th floor is unkept and untidy. upon arrival, we were met with a hole in the wall, an empty cigerette packet, and empty can of red bull, and one of the foyer chairs positioned right outside our room. The fact that the room was clean was a bonus, because walking to and from the elevator was a DISGRACE!! Obviously the cleaners are unproductive, as there was a trolley on the floor, but the communal areas were revolting, they cleaned the room and left everthing else just sitting there...for the price they charge, this place is well overated, will look elsewhere in the future-..

Room Tip: dont stay on the 9th floor, ugly and messy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear sarah j,

Our housekeepers not only thoroughly clean guest's apartments, but also ensure common areas are clean and well presented. The 27-level building is both Quest guests and permanent residents, so while this kind of thing can occasionally happen; it is not just isolated to the 9th floor specifically.

Since you posted this review, I have been trying to find a record of your stay with us. It would be great if you could contact me directly to discuss this further.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for a business trip to Melbourne with 2 other colleagues. The place was a good location as we were working at Freshwater place. Well kept rooms and reasonable. The apartments are well sized and would be great for a family of 4. As I am always looking for places for a family this would be a place I would stay for the family as well. Just have to work out what your budget is as it is was not cheap when we went but I found it great accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear BC1123,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am happy to hear you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to accommodating you and your family next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.