We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed for five nights. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We stayed on the 11th floor with a glorious view over the city. Restaurants are one the doorsteps. If staying on a weekend I recommend the quality artisans of the southbank markets which are outside the front door of a Sunday morning. Walking distance to just about anywhere in Melbourne from the Crown to the MCG, To Flinders Street an all the CBD shopping, with trams and tourist shuttles from Lygon Street, Docklands and Chapel St from St Kilda Road a mere 200 metres away. Rooms are spacious, modern with all amenities, including an ipod dock in the master suite, foxtel and a washer/dryer which works very nicely to allow you to pop the washing on and its dry in time for when you get home from the daily activities. Breakfast is awesome and staff cannot do enough to make your menu more enjoyable. The bathrobes and slippers add to the luxury and comfort. Amazing quiet rooms on the Melbourne CBD doorstep. I will definately stay there again....My only gripe is the room service menu, but with such an abundance of quality restuarants, I encourage you to get out and sample them as often as you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    184
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
174
308
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at Quay West Melbourne. We had a fantastic stay . From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpfull. We thought the rooms were modern with a fantastic veiw of melbourne. But its the location that just cant be beat . Everything was on our door step which made our stay so easy. Would not hesitate staying there again .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We've stayed here a number of times when we've felt like a romantic weekend away from home. We like the location - it's on Southbank so you get the convenience of good restaurants at your door, and lovely views of the city at night. It's also right above the Sunday market if you happen to stay on that day.

We choose the 1 bedroom suite, which is spacious, clean and modern. Bed good, linen crisp and room always smells nice. Kitchen is generous, and things work (not always our experience elsewhere.)

A higher floor and a city view cost more, but they are worth it if you want to maximise the experience of the waterfront.

Not much real noise to complain about, and the breakfast downstairs is on the good side of what you expect for a $20 buffet. General service is fine, not exceptional but no complaints from either of us. If you find something wrong, the staff are always apologetic and keen to fix it.

The only downside is, like all hotels/condos these days, you get charged an arm and a leg for parking underground.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were extremely dissapointed. Our biggest complaint is that the furniture/carpet/doors etc are looking really daggy. Our room had a really musty smell and there were lots of stains on the furniture. Certainly not 5 star or luxurious. There are much better places to stay in Melbourne.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the Arts Centre
  • Disliked — In desperate need of renovation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

OK, good points.
1) The location. It's dead set centre. Really, it's that good. The only downside to it is if you're driving in. So if anyone from the hotel it reading, better signage required.
2) The people. Very professional, very friendly.
3) The amenities. Room is a good size, good views, kitchenette, washing machine, wide screen TV and DVD players (plus the usual). There's a gym and a pool. Breakfast at the Jarrah is nice. Not spectecular but the menu is well thought out. Good for meat eaters and vegies alike.
4) Good vibe all round

Bad points.
1) The entrance if you're driving in. Here's a tip: make it on to City road heading east. Drive past Eureka tower, and just before the bridge you're see a small road on your left. Turn in.
2) BYO toiletries. It's an Australian hotel. Sorry.

Basically, what we've got is a top class hotel. I actually want to give this a 4.5 but can't. Also for the price you're getting, I was expecting them to supply the basics as well, which was about AUD300 and that was a special price.

That said, bear in mind the hotel's greatest asset: location. It's walking distance to everything. Full stop. It's secluded if you're after a romantic getaway in the city or if you've got kids, well remember there's a kitchenette.

You'll like the stay.

Ka.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing overly bad
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I've stay for the first time in melbourne at (Quay west suites melbourne) I was located at 11th floor with spectacular incredible view of the river/city views.

Ive a self traveler so i got 1 large bedroom/balcony/full kichen with utillities/dine area/lounge room/full bathroom-shower toilet large mirror wall.

It was 110% confortable been in this apartment hotel. I was real happy but it does cost fair alot of money $$$

There was a plasma screen in the lounge room follow by another tv in the bedroom.

The bedroom was very spacious and big enough to put cloths in the large wardrope-mirror slide doors.. From the bedroom there was a slide door to step in and out of the balcony.

The balcony was fair enouf big for 2 or 3 people with 2 seats and a round table.

The views where so spectacular that i really didn't want my holiday to ever end.

The bathroom-toilet area it had plenty of clean towls to be used and enouf toiletry paper. There was a scale and the shower area had an open door to get in follow by a massive large bath area on the otherside.

The kichen had utillities but i was not impressed with the forks and knifes and plates been alittle dirty or half clean. That got me quite worried as im high-gineric.

There was a washing machine and also does dry cleaner and it was inside there in the kichen. The fridge was a medium sizes... Big enouf for a weekend stay or a week stay.

There was a dish washer but i didnt used it much as i wasn't sure what i was doing and was alittle disapointed due to the fact there was not enouf dedorgen liquid and powder to clean the dishes so i went shopping and brought the best BAM cleaner to clean the plates manualy. So the Dish washer was there but didn't used it.

Other then that the kichen and the rest was in 110% working order no complaints at all apart from the dirty and not enough utillities in the kichen but there was enouf there to frie meat and bowl milk and the water cattle and a toaster. Plus there was a microwave there handy so that was good.

There was an inter-con phone beside the kichen and there was a telephone beside the lounge room and also in the bedroom side bed. There was another inter-com phone in the bathroom area.

The air-con and heater was in 110% working order it made the bedroom warm and the loungeroom too during my stay here for MAY since its starting to be quite cold. (Autumn)

Ive was hopeing to be on the highest floor posible but they ut me on the 11th floor. For what ive paid for was a (executive) type room apartment from the 10th to the 15th floor. They couldn't fit me any higher floor because it was all taken* But after while i could not complaint the views at all the 11th floor was good enouf.

Be warn dont go for the 10th floor otherwise you might just see the roofs of the southgate malls.**

There was a dvd-video recorder machine handy, The plasma screen had channels as follow:

SKYNEWS AUSTRALIA / DISCOVERY CHANNEL / ABC1 - CH7 - CH9 - CHANNEL TEN AUSTRALIA/ SPORT CHANNEL 1/CHANNEL 31 COMMUNITY MELBOURNE CHANNEL.

There was more options for the following channels but that was to be paid for so i only got to see the free stuff ive meantion.

The couches and the furniture was an OK but could have been alittle better but other then that not much to really complaint about the furniture at all. There was plenty cabinet around to put things though.

There was the latest tv guide magazine to follow up. And get a new one for free if you let the cleaners do your room.

I allways left the (privacy please) sign on the door but when i left for a few hours and took that sign off the bed and the towls around and kichen was clean by the cleaners by the time i got back to my room apartment.

This apartment was big enouf but big enuf for 2 people its still large but not as in super large its confortable sizes and the images are shown to give you a look aspect to what to expect from this apartment hotel.

The staff downstairs where 110% real friendly i was very welcome each moment i came downstairs and upstairs allways a smile and allways new my surname to tell me have a goodnight or have a plesant day.. They where very friendly and i could never complaint about that.

Stepiing out the room you come out to the hallways outside. It was big enouf and there was 2 lifts available and also emergency exit plans.

I slept 110% peacefull and i could not complaint a thing there was no noise at all unless you had the balcony open from the lounge room or the bedroom side. Otherthen that it was peacefull and the views where incredible and it made me abit well... a moment when i just had to say good bye melbourne so long... until another time in the future i should be back for more good times in melbourne.. That moment made me abit almost with a cry in my eye because i was alone to this trip with everything i had expected was incredible and i should defently return back again for more. But be warn this apartment does cost alot. i paid around 340.00AUD dollars per night. Ive stay just for the weekend.

I would defently recommend this place. Best to contact the hotel reception for more details and price.

  • Liked — the views 110% and spacious apartment room
  • Disliked — slept confortable like a log :)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

It was fantastic i could never forget the day i came with all this time i plan my trip for a very long time. I was stress anough to wonder what to had expected. I came and the staff where very friendly very welcome and i was very happy to had meet the people there very helpful. I gave a tip to the conciech

The hotel room was good large enough but the utencils where very old which i give 2 stars negative.. big views ic an never forgoten. It was cold and i kept myself quite alot inside the hotel.

The aircon smell horrible when i turn it on but in 5 minutes it didnt smell then i gues they hanvnt used the aircon for quite sometime for the heater.

It was good the place if perfect but exopensive so expect to pay quite alot of money if you have it.

I recommended this hotel i slept very peacefully and thank you to sandy for the big help in providing me all the questions ive ask for and yiou did help me feel good to come and stay in this hotel quay west suites.

thank you. I own you credit.

I recommend this hotels now ask for special deals.

i hope you enjhoy my ophotos of the hotel stay and good luck with you staying to this recommended hotel. There was oretty much nothing to complaint about apart from just the price was shocking but you get to enjoy everything. They should include a spa in the bathroom because it disnt had spa and i pay quite alot apart from going downstairs to the spa auna place instead. But the rest was peaceful but very windy i hear the windows but no problems.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.