We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, spend less!
Ranked #5 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The Quay West Melbourne is a great hotel with a great location on the South Bank Promenade. Easy walking distance to Federation Square, restaurants, and downtown Meelbourne attractions. The room is itself is a mini appartment complete with a full kitchen, bedroom, living and dining area. A large balcony is accessable from the bedroom or living dining rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    135
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
141
238
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Payette, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at this wonderful hotel while on a vacation in Melbourne and were so shocked when we walked into our suite and saw the beautiful river and the city skyline out our door! All we wanted to do was sit out on our balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy our beautiful view! And Garren and Claire and all the staff were simply amazing and helpful!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the river/city skyline suites-well worth the cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. The view form the balcony is great so we pleased oyu enjoyed it. Garren and his team will be thrilled with the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night before flying to London. A travel cot was provided for our 12 month old son, and the large bed was very comfortable. We had a view of the city, including from the bath (I wasn't brave enough to leave the blind up though!)

Kitchen facilities were good, although Southgate is just next door so we got takeaway. I would definitely recommend Quay West for families as the location is perfect and the kitchen/washing machine facilities mean you can cater for most child-related emergencies!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a city view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We are also pleased to know that the family was well catered for and you used the facilities of the washer/dryer which is very handy .

We hope to see you in Melbourne again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in Quay West suites going for a high level city/river view suite. It was our second time. Again we had a great stay enjoying the excellent location and facilities. Tim, was especially helpful in moving us after 2 nights to suite 1410 which had the more understanding views. Overall the staff are 'top notch' being consistently friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Again we made good use of the well eqipped gym.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms ending in "10" offer the best views, e.g. 1410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team. and in particular to Tim.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is my third stay at Quay West Suites. So they must be doing something right. I experienced none of the problems that the previous reviewer did. I have found the bed linens quite luxurious. I too stayed in a Deluxe Suite. This is not the most expensive suite at all. There are others that have better views of the city and river. However, we were in room 1201 which did have some views of the river.
Our suite was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
I will agree with the previous comment about the doorstops placement in the bathroom. I did manage to tread on it a couple of times in bare feet.
Only a couple of small gripes this time around.
There has always been three of us staying each time in a one bedroom suite. The sofa bed has always been made up but not this time. My daughter phoned reception and was spoken to quite abruptly and the reply was that they only do this upon request. I don't know if they expected the three of us girls to have shared the same bed.
When the bedding arrived it was just handed to my daughter by I assume the same gentleman with a "you'll make it up yourself then?" Hmmmm.
Only one other gripe and we had to also call down for an iron which was missing from its usual spot in the wardrobe.
Apart from these two hiccups no other complaints. Smooth check in and smooth late check out, which was very much appreciated
The Welcome Drink Voucher was also a nice little touch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We note your commnets regarding the sofa bed and this should ahve been made up prior to your arrival, please accpet my apologies as this is not the standtad we aspire to here at Quay West Suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are looking to walk around the Melbourne City Centre you can't beat the location. Also being a 1 bedroom suite you get a lounge room & kitchen area to make you feel more at home. An ideal location, walk to restaurants & food court in Southbank, short walk across bridge to catch the free city tram & see Federation Square. If you only ever get 1 trip to Melbourne this is the location to stay at. Not the cheapest hotel but definitely one of the best locations.

Room Tip: City view room, sit on the balcony & have a coffee & watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and found the location to be convenient. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We recently spent a night at Quay West to tie in with a night concert at the Arts Centre. The location could not have been closer to the Arts Centre if it tried!

We had booked a lunch at one of the Southbank restaurants for 1pm and arrived at the hotel to see if we could store our bags somewhere. Reception were very helpful and said she would check to see if our room was ready, and if it was we could check in early. The room was ready so we were able to check in before heading off for a relaxing lunch.

The hotel is located in the heart of Southbank so there a multitude of choices for lunch or dinner.

The suite had ample room and a full size fridge and kitchen area. We had paid for the city and river view and I was definitely not disappointed. The view in the daytime was great, but at night time it was another thing altogether.

The staff were all very helpful. From reception, to the valet parker who helped me retrieve a bag from my car that I had forgotten to bring in, to the technician who came up to assist when the DVD player was not transmitting through the TV. All requests were fulfilled with a minimum of fuss.

I thoroughly enjoyed my night there and will definitely return again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.