We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, spend less!
Ranked #5 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great start with an upgrade from our twin room to a suite. The bed was comfortable, all lovely and clean, and spacious bathroom.

Location was superb, close to CBD, restaurants & shops. We used the indoor pool, jacuzzi and spa twice during our 1 night stay! The pool is salt water and a lovely temperature, with relaxing waterfalls and subtle lighting. All very clean.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, assisting with directions to shops, and with instructions to access the free wifi in the lobby (otherwise wifi was $9.95 for an hour, seems the norm for hotels in Melbourne).

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    135
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
141
238
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Nl Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently spent three nights at this hotel and still marvel at the view from the balcony. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was really well appointed with everything that I needed for my stay. The rooms were large and very very clean. We were on the 15 floor and had a beautiful view overlooking the Yara River and city of Melbourne. It is easy to walk around and just down the street from the free tour bus stop put on by the city of Melbourne. The staff were really helpful and very nice and made suggestions of things we should see and do. Would really recommend this as a place to stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Up high and overlooking the river to see the activities. People are gliding up the river in boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and you enjoyed the beautiful view

It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Are staying here in a one bedroom apartment for 15 nights while our own apartment is being renovated. (They have discounted rates for 15 nights or more; have stayed before and they offered a room upgrade with valet parking and wi fi included). The apartment is very spacious, comfortably furnished with large bedroom, full kitchen and separate bathroom. It's on the 14th floor with fantastic views of parks, the river, and stadiums that are lit up at night. Reception staff extremely obliging and friendly. Feels like a home away from home rather than a hotel.

Superb location by the Yarra River, just on the edge of the CBD. Short walk to the Arts Centre, National Gallery and Federation Square, slightly longer to the Botanic Gardens, MCG or tennis centre. Just a few minutes walk to the main shopping areas in the CBD. Very close to trains and trams for exploring further afield. Hotel has a bar and restaurant but we haven't tried them as there are so many other cafes and restaurants to choose from close by. Also many take away choices in the Southgate food court and a 7 Eleven nearby. At 15 m the indoor pool is long enough to swim laps and is pleasantly warm. There's also a spa pool and gym.

Some road noise on weekdays as you would expect, but not an issue when the balcony door/windows are shut. Much quieter on weekends.

Highly recommended for extended stays for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have good views. At check in ask for a room with a view, and the one you prefer ie cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are so pleased you feel like you are at home!

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and are also pleased to know oyu are enjoying your stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perfect Location in Melbourne!! Just on Southbank, lots of restaurants around even a food court. Just across Flinders station and Federation Square. Walking distance to the shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens and the National museum is just behind.

Got a room on high floor with a beautiful view of the city and Yarra river from the balcony accessible throught the living room and the master bedroom. Huge spacious suite with separate kitchen and master bedroom, living and dining area and separate toilet and bath. Staff are friendly and always smiling and greeting you whenever they see you. Was able to use their pool for a short swim in the morning, an indoor pool with a jacuzzi. Very nice and warm and we had the pool and jacuzzi all to ourselves. Had a minor issue with a credit card charge which wasn't supposed to be charged, took time for them to "investigate" but eventually all sorted out. It's a hotel with no frills but has the warmth of a home! Definitely recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location,excellent staff,clean room what else needs to be said except why would you want to stay anywhere else in melbourne to do business,go shopping,all sporting events and the arts,just the best hotel in Melbourne to stay and relax

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and we are pleased that you know that you would not want to stay anywhere else in melbourne to do business..

We look forwrad to welocming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was spotless & very comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly & very helpful. Check-in and checkout experience was easy. While hotel has bar/restaurant, being adjacent to Southbank, lots of food outlets nearby and great boulevarde of activity. Close access to city & public transport. Did not get to use the spa or pool. All food needs obtained locally.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have improved views - rooms with private balconies are a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.