We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot deals : 10% off
Ranked #5 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Havelock North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were delighted with the accommodation in Quay West Suites. Our suite was on the 8th floor with two balconies, overlooking the river and in very close proximity to the CBD.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and was open till 10.00am. There was an excellent variety in both continental and cooked.

We were given a great welcome by the very friendly and helpful front of house staff. She gave us all kinds of useful info. The furnishings were very tasteful and everything was very clean - my priority. A full kitchen, washing machine, drier were included in a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: ask for a river view with a balcony......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to extending our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    145
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
147
255
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Couldn't fault the staff, rooms or location. We didn't eat at the restaurant but I'm sure that the standard would be as high as everything else. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased you thought it was "Top notch" .
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a 7 night stay at the Quay West Suites and were very happy with the accomodations and service. The desk staff and maintenance personnel were pleasant, professional and helpful. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Rooms are modern with comfortable bed, desk and good lighting - there is a balcony with table and chairs. Bathroom included both a stall shower and large soaking tub - plentiful hot water - good water pressure. The usual amenties - hair dryer, soap, lotions, etc. -- and a scale.

The location could not be better, situated on the Yarra river esplanade, just a few minutes walk from downtown, Federal Square and Flinders Train Station. Bus lines and tram lines are nearby so getting around the city is easy. Seemed to be a very safe area to walk around - even at night.

Our studio room had a mini kitchen area that included a stocked mini refrigerator, microwave, hot water kettle, The cupboard was stocked with cups, plates, utensils and dish soap/towels so we could make snacks or reheat meals. There are many nice restaurants along the river near the hotel and there is a food court in the mall next door. The hotel's breakfast buffet has both hot and cold items and the service is friendly and competent. We had dinner in the hotel one evening - food was delicious, nicely presented and pricing was comparable to area restaurants. Room service was quick and accurate.

One Caveat - if you plan to pack light and do laundry - confirm that your room type will have a washer/dryer. There is no shared guest laundry - the larger rooms apparently have laundry equipment - studio rooms do not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband, toddler and I travel very regularly. I don't want to be too negative, as I would actually stay there again but I wasn't impressed with a number of things. The sheets on the bed felt like sandpaper, and the pillows were terrible, would even go as far as saying the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever used -wasn't a pleasant experience.

The pressure of the water in the shower was terrible and even more of a concern is that it would switch from cold to boiling hot and vice versa with no warning , so was quite dangerous when we were trying to shower our toddler.

I went to iron my babies clothes and I had a big layer of black stain come onto the clothes. I let reception know and they had a new one sent up, when I tried to explain to the gentleman replacing it, he just cut me off - saying yes yes, this one is ok and walked off. No apology and didn't want to hear me out. Quite rude.

Breakfast is very very basic, we were there early and the hot food seemed like it has already been sitting there for hours - I would hate to head there at around 9 or 10.

On a positive, the location is fantastic and the actual apartment layout is great if you have children with the separate lounge/bedroom and overall the staff were all quite pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team.

Your comments regarding breakfast and the linen have been noted and I will personally follow up with the relevant teams. We appreciate you letting us know.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just had a 3 night stay here and have been delighted with Quay West Suites.
The location is fantastic and the apartment was clean and comfortable. We payed a little extra for a room with a river view which was lovely.
The staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I was grateful for their advise and help with travel plans.
I would highly recommend these apartments as a great base for a visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.