We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot deals : 10% off
Ranked #5 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here over the ANZAC weekend , we loved the room, the city view, the staff. Everything in the suite was of high quality , two TV s great with a child. Highly recommend it, could not find a fault.

Room Tip: City view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    140
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
143
250
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom Premium Suite as a group of friends travelling. Suite had two separate bedrooms on either side of the room, each with a lockable room key door. In the middle of both rooms was a full kitchen, lounge room with TV and dining room. There were two separate bathrooms and the sizable balcony was great for chilling out with 4 people with panoramic views of the city extending from the Rialto Towers one end to Federation Square at the other. High floor is a must for good views, staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was easy and rooms extremely clean. Beds were really comfortable. Could not speak more highly of this location!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a "brilliant" review of your recent stay. We are also pleased you enjoyed our location and facilities.

It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights here recently - unassuming entry & a very simple lobby but highly professional, friendly reception staff.
We had a one bedroom apartment for the four of us (two adults, two kids)...kids slept on the sofa bed in living area.
The room was simple with one bedroom, one bathroom, compact living room with dining table plus kitchen (with washer/dryer). Our view was across a courtyard to other apartments.
Positives of this hotel are:
Location - fabulous! Direct access to Southbank with Southgate Shopping Centre below.
Cleanliness - super clean + housekeeping did a superior job daily
Staff - friendly & professional
Room Service - delicious, fast & well priced
We enjoyed our stay at Quay West - not the most luxurious hotel (if that's what you're seeking, you'll be disappointed) but for a quick getaway in a central location this served us well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over the years. Around 10 years ago, this was one of the best "apartment hotels" Melbourne had on offer.

Now, unfortunately, it is outdated, and in desperate need of serious renovations. The beds are uncomfortable, the rooms need some new decor, and the new technology they have recently implemented, just doesn't work how it should.

On our latest stay, it took more than 3 hours to get our TV to work. Luckily we had a business dinner to attend, so TV wasn't necessary for the evening. 3 hours is unacceptable. I suggest if they don't know how to operate their "main frame" which I was told was the issue, to employ someone who does.

All in all, this hotel needs some serious renovations, staff training, and some new couches and beds to make the stay more comfortable. That being said, I will not be staying here in the near future.

Very disappointing, as the location is spot on, and most of the views (city facing), are marvelous.

Room Tip: Rooms with the city views are the only worthwhile rooms, although they charge a large premium, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is disappointing to read that you will not return to the hotel and you did not enjoy your stay. We always appreciate when guests tell us when our services are not the way they expect.

We note your comments regarding the technology in the suites and are sorry that the information provided to you was not adequate and you experienced issues with the television. The suites have been upgraded over the last twelve months and continue to have improvements made.

Hopefully one day you return and we can change your opinion of our hotel.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a fantastic view of the city and Yarra River. Check in was a breeze. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. Our suite was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 14th floor and our room was very quiet, so sleeping was easy. The location made it easy to walk to many attractions. Simply a wonderful stay. We would most certainly return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent some considerable time prior to booking this place, looking through reviews and also locations to other parts of Melbourne.
I was very pleased after arriving on 19th April and seeing our 1 bedroom suite overlooking the Yarra River and City Skyline , we were on 6 th floor. The room was spacious , large dining, Full kitchen, including washing and dryer, separate bedroom and large bathroom with bath.
Balcony with table and 2 chairs, also the bedroom had its own door opening onto the same balcony.
This hotel is walking distance to the Southbank restaurants , plenty of those, also to the trams at Flinders Street station and Federation square!
Keep and eye on my other reviews for restaurants!
We never ate at this hotel, the menu did look very good though.
2 tv's on in lounge, other in bedroom, bed was of king size, quite comfy as well! Large curtains which keep the bright sun out in morning and afternoon, noise almost not there with the double thick windows .
Paid approx $232 a night, which is very good for location and size of room.
II booked through hotel website, which had better deals then wotif .

Brilliant and would return again.
Photos to be added.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. The size of the suites is great so we are pleased you enjoyed the space. I would also like to thank you for placing the photos up on the site for other travellers to see our facilities.

It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The one-bedroomed suite was very comfortable and well-presented. Kitchenette has washing machine, dryer and dishwasher as well as crockery for 4 people.
Excellent location for visiting the city with nearby supermarket to buy food. The staff were very helpful. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.
My one disappointment is that there was no free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.