We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot deals : 10% off
Ranked #5 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a fantastic view of the city and Yarra River. Check in was a breeze. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. Our suite was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 14th floor and our room was very quiet, so sleeping was easy. The location made it easy to walk to many attractions. Simply a wonderful stay. We would most certainly return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    138
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
143
247
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent some considerable time prior to booking this place, looking through reviews and also locations to other parts of Melbourne.
I was very pleased after arriving on 19th April and seeing our 1 bedroom suite overlooking the Yarra River and City Skyline , we were on 6 th floor. The room was spacious , large dining, Full kitchen, including washing and dryer, separate bedroom and large bathroom with bath.
Balcony with table and 2 chairs, also the bedroom had its own door opening onto the same balcony.
This hotel is walking distance to the Southbank restaurants , plenty of those, also to the trams at Flinders Street station and Federation square!
Keep and eye on my other reviews for restaurants!
We never ate at this hotel, the menu did look very good though.
2 tv's on in lounge, other in bedroom, bed was of king size, quite comfy as well! Large curtains which keep the bright sun out in morning and afternoon, noise almost not there with the double thick windows .
Paid approx $232 a night, which is very good for location and size of room.
II booked through hotel website, which had better deals then wotif .

Brilliant and would return again.
Photos to be added.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. The size of the suites is great so we are pleased you enjoyed the space. I would also like to thank you for placing the photos up on the site for other travellers to see our facilities.

It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The one-bedroomed suite was very comfortable and well-presented. Kitchenette has washing machine, dryer and dishwasher as well as crockery for 4 people.
Excellent location for visiting the city with nearby supermarket to buy food. The staff were very helpful. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.
My one disappointment is that there was no free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. Our 1 bedroom city view suite was around $200 / night and was fully equipped for self catering. Very comfortable, excellent location, just across the river from Flinders St station and Federation Square. Excellent Melbourne base.

Room Tip: City view rooms are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

There were four of us on this journey to Melbourne so I thought a two bedroom suite might be ideal. It was marvelous. Unexpectedly spacious with a huge balcony and grand views. There was a full kitchen and a lovely morning table. It was clean and well presented. They accommodated our car for a modest cost. Breakfast was good but our order was incomplete on two occasions. There was reasonable in room dinning and the service was good. The location is in Southbank behind the Flinders Street station so it is about 20 minutes walk to the centre of town. However, there is plenty close by with all the restaurants on Southbank as well as State Gallery and Federation Square. Highly recommended if there are a few of you. We were in room 1601.

Room Tip: As always it is better if you can get a higher room to avoid the traffic and tram noise in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our one bedroom suite was lovely, with a big balcony, nice bathroom, kitchen and living area.
There is a fantastic food court downstairs and you can take a lovely walk down the esplanade to watch the performers, stroll by the river or eat at one of the many restaurants.
Close by is the Lindt chocolate shop which is dangerous for a chocoholic!
The staff are very friendly and helpful - we loved the pillows so much that we were able to buy the ones from our room for a discounted price (as they didn't have any new ones in stock).
Yes, the rooms may be a bit expensive and you are probably paying mainly for the location, but if you want to live it up for a weekend, it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a fantastic weekend with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location is good!
As for the apartment, it was pretty ordinary, nothing special at all. We had a view of the rear of the Art Centre, not great. Although there is a well equipped kitchen there was no dining table in our apartment (unlike in the pics posted on this site), just a big empty space where it should have been, very strange! The towels provided were faded and old, we got the wrong newspaper delivered and I have been waiting over 24 hours for someone to call me back about a lost item after being told, "I will call you straight back." There are better places to stay, and with a more modest price tag.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We were disappointed that you did not enjoy the suite; we have various suites available overlooking the river and other suite types so I am sorry you were disappointed with what you booked. We do have suites with dining tables in our superior one bedroom and deluxe suites. We would be happy to show you one of these suites nest time you book. I also note your comments regarding lost property and wanted to confirm if you we have been in touch with you. If not, I would request that you contact the hotel and ask to speak with the assistant manager so we can look for the items and return as appropriate.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.