We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot deals : 10% off
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Return Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent 3 fabulous nights here with my 22 year old twin daughters over the long weekend to celebrate my birthday. I had stayed here for one night last year and vowed to return.
We had a one bedroom riverview apartment on the 9th floor and what a view it was!
The close proximity to some of Melbourne's best restaurants is a big plus.
My daughters used the gym whilst I made good use of the pool and spa. These are great facilities and very well maintained.
Cannot fault the staff and service. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
It was lovely to escape Melbourne's heatwave and retreat to the air conditioned comfort of our apartment.
The only downside and its minor is we found the pillows uncomfortable. A pillow menu would be a great option.
I also found the coffee undrinkable so went out and bought my own.
Will definitely be by home away from home when visiting Melbourne and will recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you felt relaxed and pampered for your birthday and you left with great memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday celebration! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    140
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
143
250
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here 8 nights into a months tour and thought the location and facilities were great. There is easy access to the riverside, transport hub and city and the reception staff were extremely helpful. However the benefits of staying in an apartment were slightly lost. We needed to launder some clothes but the instuctions with the machine were inadequate and although the maintenance man was helpful the condenser drier was ineffective and required a clothes horse to finish drying, but then we were told off for putting it on the balcony! Also, whilst the kitchen was well equipped the lack of basic items dissuaded us from having a break from restaurant food other than some great fruit from Victoria Market for breakfast.

Room Tip: Check you have instructions for the washer drier before you end up with wet clothes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. Please accept our apologies for the trouble you experienced with the washing machine, we are upgrading these items in all suites over the next twelve months. The new machine are much more "user friendly".

We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend of the White Night Festival in the CBD. It was the perfect place to stay! It's right next to Southbank, and a short walk to the CBD. Our plan was to take in the festival, go back to the room to cool down (it was a hot night), go back out again, and so on...
Quay West was ideal for that!! The apartment was spacious, the bed comfy, the view from our balcony outstanding, and the pool and spa is divine. Add in a friendly staff, who gave me a late checkout without any questions asked, and my experience was one to remember.
I'm already planning on coming back for next year's festival..and any other weekend when I know it's going to be a late night in town!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you felt relaxed and enjoyed the view frrom your balcony of the White Night Festival.

We look forward to welcoming you back for next year's festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently stayed here with my wife for 4 nights on first trip to Melbourne. Very clean apartments serviced daily.

Great location on South-bank. Ideally situated. Staff really helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
•Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November 2012 with 2 other couples. Check in staff were very friendly and as the room wasn't ready so we left bags and went for a walk. The position is very close to Federation Square and the city, and the Crown Casino is only 10 mins away on the same side of the river.
The one bedroom suite was clean and had a microwave, kettle and toaster and dishwasher.
The shower stall was very small and my husband, a little on the larger size found it very tight.
We only had breakfast once as the service was slow, and the room became very crowded .
There are plenty of cafes and the Southbank food court is right next door where we found a very friendly cafe for breakfast, coffee was great,mother closest to the entry door from Quay West.

Room Tip: We had balcony room looking at Federation Square, higher floors give you a better view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comments regarding the shower , we are reviewing refurbishment options for all bathrooms which will include the shower area.

It appears you also caught us at a busy time in the breakfast room, however we appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great, great location, very large suite complete with all facilities, including kitchen. Super breakfast in pleasant suroundings. Very helpful staff. What more could you want? Booked two nights but stayed four nights because we liked it so much. If I return to Melbourne this is where we will stay. Loved it! We stayed in 17 hotels during a month's visit to NZ and OZ. This one was one of the best.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view, may cost more though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed with my better 'alf for 3 nights in a one bedroom high floor apartment, breakfast included. Enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Great location for tram riding or foot slogging and an oasis to return to for recovery. Apartment clean comfortable and well set up and the staff friendly and helpful - especially when it came to rescuing my favourite shoes and saving them for "Cinderella" to collect the following week. When we next come for a city break to Melbourne Quay West will be the first hotel considered for a return visit.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter and have an interesting City Scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
From Cinderella and the team- we are pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. I was also happy to know you enjoyed the view and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.