We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great location with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed for only saturday night after a short cruise but would go back in a flash if in Melbourne city again. Fantastic location such a quick and easy walk to Flinders Station/city/southbank and casino. Its like staying in Darling Harbour Sydney The front desk staff friendly helpful and professional. Our one bed apartment was VERY clean well furnished and spacious.Great indoor pool and gym. Another important point it was so quiet considering it is apartment building. The building has a really nice feel about it. Great value for money. Ive stayed at a few 5 star Melbourne hotels in the past but would choose Quay West now. We had friends with us and they also found it great. We were early and it was no problem getting into the apartment early whjch is such a bonus!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    153
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
150
267
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay.

2 points straight off the bat : they upgraded us from a studio unit to deluxe on arrival, and had the room ready for us at 11 am, way ahead of their 3 pm check in time. A double bonus since we had our 4 year old travelling with us, who was tired from being up at dawn to catch a flight.

Location was fabulous -- right on the Southbank promenade with two bridges immediately adjacent. The first to Fed Square, the other directly to Flinders Station and the trams.

The unit was beautifully appointed, with coffee and tea making facilities and a nice fridge. And it came complete not just with crockery and cutlery, but also lined bins, fresh tea towels and dishwash soap. TV's in both the living and bedroom so we could watch what we wanted while our son had his share of cartoons. A nice little balcony overlooking the square with spectacular views of the the Eureka.

Bathhroom was spacious with both a shower and a bath, and three sets of towels, so we didn't have to ask for extras.

There was a great food court right next door, with not a single fast food joint in sight, so our son had some excellent meal options on hand through the day. And lots of little restaurants and wine bars all down the stretch.

We took a riverboat tour from the pier just in front of the hotel, which was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. And spent one afternoon walking down the riverbank to the Alexandra Gardens and the Royal Botanical Gardens, and another across the bridge to the Binnarung Marr park, which had a lovely playground for kids.

Staff were friendly but discreet and very thoughtful, offering us newspapers and Melbourne maps upon arrival. Some friends came by to visit, and the staff were kind enough to arrange parking (for free) right in front of the hotel so they could come up to the unit for a short visit.

Only drawback was nightly parking charge for our rental -- a whopping AUS 30 per night!

Definitely going back, without a rental car.....!

Room Tip: Riverviews would be spectacular but if you can't, ask for rooms that face Eureka. The views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing pool, perfect views of Yarra & city and in a perfect melbourne location, right on Southbank, just down from the Crown Casino and close walking distance to Federation square, Arts Centre, right in amoungst so many great Melbourne attractions. Would definatly stay at Quay West Suits again!!

Room Tip: Ask for city view room. it over looks the Yarra River and all the hustle and bustle of Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.I am also pleased you enjoyed the City River View Suite-the view is fabulous

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night mid week, an excellent location for going to the Theatre & Arts complex. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful & friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The suite was spacious with very clean, comfortable & well appointed rooms with bath robes supplied. The 15m pool & well equipped gym was appreciated. For us it was a great experience & will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am also pleased that you found our location handy to the Arts Centre and that the team looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice comfortable accommodation with a great location 100 metres max from the south bank of the Yarra near to all restaurants and bars

Service in the building is very good all the staff were extremely helpful special mention for Rhys

Pool and exercise facility's were great

On slight disappointment was the bed could have been more comfortable

Worth requesting a river view

Will return next time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and one year old in a one bedroom suite. The suite facilities perfectly suited our needs, ie. preparing food for the little one, bedroom plenty big enough to accommodate a travel cot and still have room to move around, bathroom even had a bath mat to the little guy wouldn't slip in the bath. Little extra touches like this really helped us. Having recently stayed in equivalent accommodation in both London and Paris, the Quay West is comparatively great value as well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is also spot on. Perfect for the buzz of Southbank but strolling distance to the shopping in the CBD and the Botanical Gardens in the other direction. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Melbourne. Keep it up Quay West! A very pleasant surprise indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Quay West Suites Melbourne.It is wonderful to hear this is your home away from home and your "little one" was well catered for.

We look forward to your return to Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last Friday night and couldn't be happier with our stay. After a last minute decision to stay in the city for the night, we only booked a few hours before checkin. To our surprise we found ourselves on the 15th floor with a beautiful view of the Yarra and CBD. They also gave us a complimentary 12pm checkout which was amazing as we would be looking at an extra $90 for this if we decided to stay elsewhere on Southbank. The room was clean and spacious and the private balcony was definitely the stand out for us. Breakfast at the Jarrah restaurant was lovely and so was the pool/spa facilities. We were really impressed with Quay West and will definitely return again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.