We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not beat location or service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Algarvia, Portugal
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“You will not beat location or service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice comfortable accommodation with a great location 100 metres max from the south bank of the Yarra near to all restaurants and bars

Service in the building is very good all the staff were extremely helpful special mention for Rhys

Pool and exercise facility's were great

On slight disappointment was the bed could have been more comfortable

Worth requesting a river view

Will return next time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    153
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
150
267
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and one year old in a one bedroom suite. The suite facilities perfectly suited our needs, ie. preparing food for the little one, bedroom plenty big enough to accommodate a travel cot and still have room to move around, bathroom even had a bath mat to the little guy wouldn't slip in the bath. Little extra touches like this really helped us. Having recently stayed in equivalent accommodation in both London and Paris, the Quay West is comparatively great value as well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is also spot on. Perfect for the buzz of Southbank but strolling distance to the shopping in the CBD and the Botanical Gardens in the other direction. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Melbourne. Keep it up Quay West! A very pleasant surprise indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Quay West Suites Melbourne.It is wonderful to hear this is your home away from home and your "little one" was well catered for.

We look forward to your return to Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last Friday night and couldn't be happier with our stay. After a last minute decision to stay in the city for the night, we only booked a few hours before checkin. To our surprise we found ourselves on the 15th floor with a beautiful view of the Yarra and CBD. They also gave us a complimentary 12pm checkout which was amazing as we would be looking at an extra $90 for this if we decided to stay elsewhere on Southbank. The room was clean and spacious and the private balcony was definitely the stand out for us. Breakfast at the Jarrah restaurant was lovely and so was the pool/spa facilities. We were really impressed with Quay West and will definitely return again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am wiritng in this forum to acknowledge the hard working people at the Quay West Suites that went out of their way to help us during our stay in late January.
I was travelling with my daughter (toddler) and my mum and ALL staff really went out of their way to make our life easier and comfortable. From providing a pram (because of a QANTAS mix up), to ensuring we had the necessaries upon request, even the service for a TV breakdown was instant.
Highly recommend staying here as the people are great and the location is fantastic- especially at the time of the Aussie Open!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review of your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My now fiancé and I stayed at Quay West for the cricket. I had a feeling an engagement was on the cards but thanks to the friendly, thoughtful staff at Quay West I was still so surprised by the proposal! Firstly we will definitely be back to Quay West!! The location is absolutely perfect for walking to the tennis or the cricket and the tram outside means you don't have to walk to places like Lygon Street if you're feeling lazy. We stayed in a delux suite & I really didn't want to leave!! So spacious, so tidy and so trendy!! The view was also great. But the best memory for me will be how sweet the staff were sourcing roses, chocolates and champagne and then decorating our room while we were out at dinner. They even went the extra mile to re-clean the suite before we returned!! We're so happy so thank you SO MUCH, I will never forget my stay at Quay West!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you felt relaxed and pampered and you left with great memories. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Septemebr and we will definately going back again. The location is right on Southbank in the heart of the Crown Casino district. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the amentities including the pool, spa and gym were excellent.

Great value and great service. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: They have specials. Check their website and book a king deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect. The concierge was fantastic ( although hubby thought someone was stealing the car at first). The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and perfect. We could choose to cook in our own kitchen , use the restaurant or go to one of the many fantastic restaurants in Melbourne. The paper was delivered in the morning and the Continental Buffet Breakfast was to die for. The food was fresh and there was plenty to be had.

On discharge, the concierge offered for our car to say there till 11pm that night if we wanted to stay and do some shopping, whatever.

a great place to stay and it is the only hotel we use when we stay over in Melbourne.

A+++ Helpful, professional and friendly staff
A+++ Room Cleanliness/Apartment Keeping
A+++ The Restaurant food and staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.