We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay West Melbourne Victoria Australia. Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, spend less!
Ranked #4 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quay West Melbourne Victoria Australia. Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quay West Suites Melbourne are not the cheapest, but you do get what you pay for with these appartments. Good size bedroom with king bed. Kitchen with plentiful cupboards and appliances. Two flat screen TV's. blueray Dvd.
Very clean and tidy.
Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    126
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
133
217
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Quay West is ideally located on Southbank and a short walk from the Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Bourke Street Mall.
We have stayed here several times now and the service has been consistently outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble and staff go out of their way to be accommodating and friendly.
We prefer to stay on the higher floors as the views are fantastic. The suites themselves have everything you need including cooking and washing facilities, which help so much during extended stays. The beds too are incredibly comfortable.
Thank you Quay West, yet again, for helping to make our Melbourne stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Quay West Suites doesn't meet the Tripadvisor rating. The hotel was pretty average in facilities and the property lacks that x factor which a 5 star hotel should have. The standard cleaning was pretty poor and was the worst feature of the stay. However the desk staff were very helpful and it is really well located for the Australian Open, for south bank cafes and restaurants and for shopping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Firstly, I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I will pesonally review your comments with our housekeeper and aplogise for any lapse in this area.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

3br apartment booked for girls tennis trip. Fab location for the tennis, nice views from one bedroom & communal areas.Breakfast included ok - nothing to write home about.
Pool, gym & spa excellent.
Feeling a bit chilly, donned the robe hanging in wardrobe, put hands in robe pocket and....ewww..
someones grotty tissue was in it! The robe had been hung folded, as if cleaned but NOT!
For $1,000 a night you would expect better, hec for $200 a night it should be.
Maybe next time back to the fab Langham.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, It is disappointing to read that you will not return to the hotel. I will personally follow up with our housekeeper regarding the bathrobe in the suite as this is unacceptable. This was an oversight from the team and we apologise.

We always appreciate when guests tell us when our services are not the way they expect. Hopefully one day you return and we can change your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had organised to stay in another apartment close to quay west suites, but unfortunately, the air conditioning wasn't working and it could not be fixed for a few days. The temperature at the time was 39 degrees ( at 6 pm) and was supposed to be as hot the next day too. My husband went over to quay west at 9 pm and got us an apartment at a great rate within minutes.
Nothing was too much trouble while we stayed ( for 5 nights) from allowing family to use a car park for a few hours, a rug for a picnic in the botanic gardens to lemonade for my husbands upset tummy. The apartment was spotless, the pool entertained our son for hours, the location was superb, the staff friendly and especially helpful ( thanks Hayley and Cathy) and the beds were comfy!!!
Thanks quay west, we will be back for sure!!!
Can't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne and pleased we could help out in a difficult situation.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. I will personally pass on your comments to Hayley and Kathy at the Front Desk.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Quay West Apartments are situated right in the heart of Melbourne, you have everything at your doorstep. The apartments are very comfortable, with a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and being on the 14th floor we had fantastic views towards the Tennis Centre, MCG, the Botanical Gardens and much more, with the Dandenongs in the distance. Our room was spacious with a couch for easy TV viewing, very comfortable beds and a large bathroom with a separate shower and bath. While you expect a clock/radio next to the bed, a lovely surprise was an iPhone/iPod dock with alarm capabilities, very handy for charging as well. We had late check out the next day, so after a delicious breakfast in their restaurant, we did some exploring to see the Christmas decorations. The staff were not only happy to hold our luggage until we returned, they even put it in our car which we had dropped at the front door on arrival for Valet Parking, we only had to let them know when we were ready to leave, the car was there in 5 minutes, now that's service.You are surrounded by the excellent Southbank Restaurants, The Art Centre,and just across the river from Federation Square, the Tourist Information Centre & Flinders Street Station. One of the other benefits is being within walking distance to Crown Casino and the Free City Circle tram which gives you access to The Princess Theatre, Melbourne Museum, Imax Theatre, Docklands, The Aquarium, The Immigration Museum, Etihad Stadium and much more, which means no taxi fares. We were attending a Christmas Function at Southbank so it was an easy walk, and we didn't have to worry about driving home. We had stayed previously, and will stay again, and would not hesitate in recommending the establishment to everyone.

Room Tip: The only difference in the rooms is the view, so you could ask for a particular vista, but any view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review of your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.