We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot stay away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot deals : 10% off
Ranked #5 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Cannot stay away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This visit Dec12 - Jan 13 was our seventh consecutive stay always at the same time each year, so surely tells you something.Staff in all departments provide an excellent service are friendly, always cheerful and go that extra bit with out prompting. . Location on the river is hard to beat and within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and transport. The house bar is welcoming particularly after a hard days shopping often in high temperatures with good bar food or room service meals available either in the bar or ones suite.
Breakfasts are excellent and provide a good start to the day.
Airconditioning in all suites is both functional and essential. The ability to do ones laundry or cook in suite is a bonus. One of the best we have stayed in and will continue to do soi. Have already booked our next end of year stay. Great venue to view the fabulous New yerar's Eve fire works display.

Room Tip: Request a high floor suite with a river and city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your return visit to Quay West Suites Melbourne.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable once again and that you cannot "stay away" . We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back this year to celebrate the New Year! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    140
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
143
250
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Melbourne is our home town and this is the place to stay. It's location can't be beaten for going shopping , eating at some great restaurants, seeing the sights, art centre, Ian Potter centre and Federation Square, walking distance from Flinders St station. Hotel rooms are great and apartments even better but the real reason is the staff who are warm and welcoming. Thanks for another great stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony. The apartment would be a good choice if you want a bit of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at Quay West and we absolutely love it. We had booked a standard suite with breakfast and check in we were upgraded to a one bedroom deluxe suite. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and it was great to have a separate lounge/dine and kitchen. One bonus was that it had its own washing machine to wash your own laundry. The views from the balcony looking out over the Yarra river were magnificent. Breakfast options were plentiful, however the coffee wasn't that great. The hotel is in close proximity to bars, great restaurants and trams. We will definitely be going back to Quay West Suites in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Quay West Melbourne several times, everytime the staff have been friendly and welcoming. We love the position along Southbank. Easy walking distance to the centre of Melbourne, the casino or across the river form Flinders Street station and trams. We have stayed around Christmas time 3 times and the kids love the walk across the river to see the decorations etc. The rooms are spacious with self contained kitchen and if you can make sure you get a room that overlooks the river. It is beautiful at night.
The kids also love the pool. When we travel to Melbourne this is the first choice for us.

Room Tip: Book a higher room that overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your continued support of the Quay West Suites Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear this is your home away from home. It is always a pleasure to look after you. We look forward to your return to Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Quay West Suites in Melbourne looked after my husband and I very well when we stayed on New Years Eve. We have stayed at Quay West many times and really enjoy the personal service and the extra care they take with their guests. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always willing to lend a hand or give that extra bit of advice. We both really enjoyed the complimentary bottle of champagne left in our room to enable us to toast in the New Year whilst watching Melbourne's awesome fire works from our balcony on NYE. Well done to all and you will see us back next time we are in Melbourne!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My daughter, father and I stayed here for 3 nights aross the New Year. We booked a one bedroom apartment (with a divan in the living room) and a balcony looking out across the Yarra river. The apartment was very well equipped and the balcony was great. We had a fantastic view of the New Year fireworks while being above the massive crowds. Service was excellent and friendly without being too intense. The pool is lovely but I would have appreciated an outdoor area with sunshine given the beautiful weather. Some comfortable seating near the pool would have been appreciated.
Two noteworthy points for the mobility impaired. There were excellent grab rails in the bathroom and the shower. For those in a wheelchair there is an impediment in getting out to the balcony as there is a 10 cm+ raised step to get up and over onto the balcony.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to discuss your needs, I did and what I booked was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

simply first rate,the staff,room and food all top notch, easy to get to everything else in melbourne.The view is just devine and if you like a bit of a punt the crown is close by and the amount of restaurants nearby is mind blowing.Will be back with bells on.

Room Tip: river side up to 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.