We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms are large and nicely furnished. Staff was helpful, efficient and courteous. Rates were reasonable compared to other properties suitable for a corporate business stay. For anywhere in the downtown core, this is a well-located hotel. There is a mix of kiosk food and full-service restaurants immediately next door and a great view of the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    155
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
152
268
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The highlights of this property are the friendly staff and the fabulous location.

Our 1br superior room was spacious, with a large living area and full sized kitchen. Decor was 4.5 - 5 star - nice, but with no WHOA factor.

Staff were really friendly, checkin and valet were smooth, effortless and had plenty of smiles.

The location was really great, although we had trouble finding the place. Walk out the front door and you're within a stones throw of the Yarra and all the deliciousness that Southgate and Southbank have to offer. We've stayed in a couple of other premises in Southbank/Southwharf (Mantra and Hilton) and this one was by far the most convenient - right beside the Arts Centre - Bourke Street Mall was an easy walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Yarra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend get away. Staff were friendly at check in and the room was quite nice. One night we ordered late room service. The girl who brought the food up was the disappointment of our stay. We opened the door to Greek/Italian girl with dark and blue hair. She muttered something and placed the food in the kitchen and then left. No eye contact, no friendliness, no professionalism. She acted like we were keeping her away from something more important. The food looked like it had been slopped on the plate with no care and judging the attitude from the girl I can see why. The rest of the stay was very good but marred but this one staff member. Note, if you see a girl with blue hair and a lot of ear piercings, don't order late night food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Firstly, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in particular the late night room service you ordered.

I note your comments regarding the staff member who delivered the food and will be following up with the relevant department manager for their action and follow up. Our staff are trained to look after all guests in a professional and caring manner on all occasions, we are sorry you were made to feel this way as this was not our intention and we apologise.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, It is through comment such as yours that we can continue to improve and monitor our standards

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a wonderful weekend here with my wife for our 5th wedding anniversary. Secured a good deal through wotif.com after reading all the other excellent reviews. We weren't disappointed! We were pleasantly surprised when we checked-in to discover that our studio room had been upgraded to a one bedroom apartment on the 13th floor with amazing views over the city and the Yarra river. We also discovered a complimentary bottle of wine awaiting us with a card congratulating us on our anniversary. The room itself was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Buffet breakfast was also very nice and staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

Perhaps one of the best parts about this hotel was its location - tucked away at a quiet end of Southbank, yet within 5mins walk to everything you could possibly want. Lots of restaurants nearby as well as the Eureka Skydeck which was beautiful at sunset!

We will definitely be returning next time we visit Melbourne!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you felt spoilt for your anniversary and you left with great memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My daughter and I shared a deluxe one bedroom apartment. The apartment was spacious, well appointed and had a pleasant, though limited, view of the river. It was a bit too cool to spend much time on the very generous balcony. I suffer from back problems and get nervous about staying in strange beds but was pleasantly suprised by the quality and comfort of the bed and pillows. The kitchen was well set up and we did do some cooking in the apartment. There is a great food hall a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and also a variety of supermarkets and bottle shops within a 10 minute walking distance. It is an easy walk to the Convention Centre, Federation Square, Flinders Street Station and the CBD. The Art Gallery and theatres are right next door.
I have stayed at this hotel several times before and it has never disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels and found the location convenient.

We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Quay West with my wife as part of a quick trip to Melbourne to see a show at the Arts Centre. As previously, the service and accommodation was top class, and the location was perfect. There is also a great range of dining options withing easy walking distance. We both look forward to our next stay. A smooth. enjoyable and hassle free experience all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great place to stay, so close to everything. Staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. We were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely suprise. The apartment was so lovely, roomy and comfortable. Would love to stay there again one day. Thank you....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.