We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay- except for wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay- except for wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My only negative comment is that this hotel does not offer free wifi(or even cheap wifi at that). They did provide an Ethernet cable, but that doesn't quite help with an iPad. :P and I guess the gym could be a bit bigger- I felt like the guy on the treadmill beside me was chasing me or hovering over my shoulder- great equipment though.

Now for all of the positives- I've never stayed in a cleaner hotel. That may be the biggest turn on or turn off of all hotels- but the cleanliness here was phenomenal. The rooms are a great size with a nice and opened layout. The beds are comfy with three pillow types to choose from (this is great as there is a pillow for every type of sleeper). They have black out blinds and curtains on all windows if you want to sleep in which is really nice for jet lag. The pool, spa and sauna are fantastic as well as the hotel location in regards to running paths.

All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay at Quay West, but I must say that they get a gold star for going above and beyond. I was sent o Australia for work and it just so happened that I would miss my birthday at home. My boyfriend called on the evening of my birthday around 6pm and asked the concierge if he could get flowers delivered to me for my birthday. The concierge told my boyfriend that he would try to get them that evening, but if he couldn't, I would get them the next day..... I got roses at 9PM on my birthday. That's great service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    149
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
149
260
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Right on the banks of the river Yarra on the fashionable southbank and a short stroll across the footbridge to the Melbourne trams and shops. Lovely serviced apartment with great views. Very good staff who were really friendly and helpful, Very clean and had good facilities such as washing machine etc Pool and fitness suite

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you want great staff where nothing is to much trouble clean quiet and superb location for getting anywhere around Melbourne look no further you've found it.Views of the city and river are fabulous.Walking distance to the MCG Crown Casino and if you are up to it even Etihad Stadium Docklands. If going to Etihad at Docklands take a River Taxi which can drop you within 300mtrs of the stadium or catch a tram which can get you even closer. Breakfast was terrific but there are plenty of places at Southbank to eat if you want to try something different. Cannot speak highly enough of our say here just fantastic.We have stayed here before and it was pleasing to find the standards have been maintained.

Room Tip: Request a room from floor 9 up with river and city views you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location, great facilities, very comfortable and quiet but the stand out was the staff - professional hospitality at its best . Very friendly and helpful - high attention to detail with a genuine regard for their guests - thanks J & A

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, your comments will be passed on with appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night and must say was very surprised at the quality of the hotel for the price we paid. The standard rooms have plenty of space and include a desk, couch, sink and accessible balcony. The bathrooms are roomy with great water pressure and include a bath tub. The location is great just behind the Arts Centre in Southgate and close to the CBD and Crown Casino. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne. It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable and you enjoyed the comfort of the suites.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the Quay West with my 3 daughters recently. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and there was a nice view of the river from the balcony. The location was great. Just a short walk to numerous restauants and just a short walk across the river to the city.
My only complaint was that I booked a 2 bedroom suite, however was given a 1 bedroom suite and a studio suite next to each other linked by a main door to both. Each of the suites however had there own lock which meant using the keycard to gain entry every time we went from one to another. The main door at the fronts lock was also broken which meant the other 2 doors had to kept locked. This wasn't such an issue as my daughters are older but would be totally unsuitable for a family with small children. If booking a 2 bedroom suite I would confirm that it is an actual 2 bedroom in the same apartment.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay. It was nice to learn that we met your expectations across many levels. We note your comments regarding our two bedroom suites and we are sorry you experienced an issue with the door lock between the suites. This suite should only require one key on the interconnecting door that joins the suites.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at Quay West Suites for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised. The room was wonderful, spacious and had beautiful views. The location is fantastic however it is slightly dated. The lobby isn't all that flash but overall I was pleased with my stay at Quay West.
If you're after a conveniently located place to stay in Melbourne with lots of space I would recommend Quay West.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.