We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in central melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Melbourne to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in central melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

What a nice place to stay in central Melbourne and so close to everything. There is a nice pool and sauna on the 5th floor. The room was comfortable and there are larger rooms/appartments for those with children or groups of friends. The room was also set up for eating in and getting your own breakfast. There is a 7 11 store around the corner for food stuff and a grog shop close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    175
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
163
299
21
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Quay West in a 1 bedroom suite. We originally paid for a premium city view suite after calling them and being told they look directly over the river and city. Upon entering the room We realised our city view was of St Kilda rd. We rang reception straight away and after calm but stern words (from both sides) with the reception we were moved to the room we organised to stay in. The girl was not very apologetic but did organise the change of rooms for us and was polite through the conversation.
Rooms are well furnished (lounge suit not very comfortable as is the case in most apartments so we are used to it) Bed comfortable and everything clean. View is awesome form living area and bedroom but due to the position/shape of the building not all rooms would have these views. Make sure you spell that out very clearly that you want direct city views and ask them to make a note in the booking.
Breakfast was good, they will make you fresh cooked eggs so dont be afaid to ask. Parking not cheap but sometimes you can get a package deal with parking, breakfast and late checkout.
Over all great experience and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Direct City Views are great but limited. Higher floors also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne.

We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with your requests to change suites, we are however sorry that there appeared to be a mix up with the suite type at the time of booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West Suites Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had difficulty finding the apartments so rang reception and they guided us through the area. The front end staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We chose a City View apartment and although only on the 3rd floor, had a great view of Flinders Street Station and Yarra River. We were just a short 2-3 min wander along Southbank from the Casino. The room was very well appointed with a large bath. Everything you could want was in the apartment for a stay from 1 day to 1 month. If you have to pay for the breakfast, it's not worth anythong more than $15 and the staff are lazy so I suggest take a stroll along Southbank and find some amazing places to eat. The apartments are right next to the street market at the Art Gallery which operates on Sundays. You can find some beautiful things there that are made by the stall holders. Alternatively take a boat ride along the Yarra or catch the free tourist tram around Melbourne.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments have a pull out couch in the lounge room catering for another 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed there for a few days recently while at a Conference. Great location, rooms and service. REALLY GOOD service. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

As repeat guests, our family finds this hotel extremely pleasing. We stay several times throughout the year during the football season. The wonderful staff are welcoming and professional who are always making our stay enjoyable.
The fantastic central location is perfect, so close to all major attractions. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained suiting our family of four. Our two young boys find the indoor pool a must every time we stay. The customer service is one of the main reasons we chose to stay at the lovely Quay West Suites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I always stay at Quay West when I'm in Melbourne for work or pleasure. The location is perfect, the views beautiful and the service is second to none.
The rooms are beautifully presented, fresh, modern and clean. The kitchenette is lovely, it has all the pots and pans you need to whip up a meal in no time. Or if you're not in the mood to cook, the room service menu is great. They can even cater for difficult folk like me who are coeliac AND vegetarian, if you just ask. And as a person who loves a sleep in, triple points for the thick curtains that keep all the light out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We researched this holiday carefully online mainly with Trip Advisor. This hotel was more expensive than some of our other shortlisted hotels but it was worth every cent and exceeded our expectations in every way. Perfect location for downtown Melbourne but with the river right there for a leg streach in the morning.Also very handy for transport, many great restaurants, trams, "borrow bicycle" racks etc. Hotel is modern, spotlessly clean, friendly helpful staff, We paid extra for a 9th floor room which we did not regret as the views were fabulous day and night.We also enjoyed the well equipped gym, pool and spa.Well done to all of the staff memebers who are doing a great job. We will be back some day! Dont change a thing!

Room Tip: choose a high room to get great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.