We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 3 nights recently at the Mantra in a one bedroom apartment. The Mantra is in a great location, close Southbank, Crown and city centre. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was suitable for our needs and clean, found the lounge room couch a little uncomfortable, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyways. We ended up with a room with a disabled bathroom, which didn't suit us and was annoying to have no vanity space and water all over the bathroom floor. We were on level 6 and were able to hear the road noises like we were on the same level, which at times during the time was annoying, not sure if higher up it was quieter. Didn't eat at the restaurant, had one drink the bar, bar staff very friendly. Overall, great city stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear austag,
Thank you so much for your review. It's terrific to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided by all of the staff was friendly and helpful. In regards to your feedback about the accessible bathroom, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel next time you are in Melbourne and we will be happy to meet any requests that you may have.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    150
    63
    27
    8
See reviews for
69
74
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location of this hotel was great. We were in Melbourne for a concert at AAMI and it was an easy walk to the stadium and back. Also the hotel is well appointed for Flinders Street Station, the Southbank and the CBD.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on level 7. We didn't have much outside noise in the room and slept well. The apartment was well set out and was clean and tidy. The bathroom contained a walk in shower rather than over the bed. The beds were comfortable; air con worked a treat and the general facilities of the room were excellent.

All in all, I would be very happy to stay here again and I would recommend the apartments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for a work trip last week. I have never stayed here before. I checked in only to find that the restaurant and kitchen were closed for room service and dining. I arrived on an early flight, very stressful business meetings, the usual debacle of never being able to get a cab in Melbourne and walked 1.4 kms in heels, with my suitcase to the Mantra! The last thing I wanted to do was leave the hotel and forage for food... I asked the hotel why we weren't advised of this when we booked - paying full price... which I assume would include room service. But no, we were not informed when we booked. Why then no discount as services are not available?? I was told that they would investigate and let me know.

When I asked for some help of where I could get dinner from, I was given a half-hearted answer; "there's places around here you can walk to"... OK? where? "there's a few". Anyway, I asked if Melbourne had a MENULOG or EAT NOW app for takeaway delivery. No one at reception knew what I was talking about.(I did log into the App and managed to get dinner delivered to my room).

The reception staff rang me to explain that the reason for the closure was unforeseen and had happened the THAT morning because of a "smell" in the restaurant and some pipes in the kitchen needed to be checked so they needed to close the kitchen to check the plumbing.

So why then, were there painters and electricians in the restaurant laying down painting tarps. It was an obvious re-furb. Knowing that full food services were not available, they should have given guests the choice if they wanted to book there. The services were not available, we paid full price, and basically, I was lied to.

Room Tip: The traffic noise for rooms facing/backing onto City Road is UNBEARABLE... unless you want to wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thnk you for your feedback following your stay with us in February.

I would like to apologise about the inconvenience caused due to the restaurant being closed due to major works following a flooding incident that was totally unforseen and required the closure of the restaurant for recitification works.

I have sent you a private message with my contact details and hope that we can get the opportunity to invite you back to enjoy the hotel and the restaurant as you had intended on this occassion.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The rooms indicated on the web did not match reality. Room booked was for 2 queens got 1 queen and 2 singles. Booking indicated that there was an ipod dock in the room none to be found except for a cassette player. Request to change the 2 single bed to a queen bed was acknowledged but went unattended. Overall a disappointing stay for the price payed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedabck following your stay with us in February.

I would firslty like to apologise that you did not receive the value for money that you were expecting. The team and I have reviewed your comments and made some changes accordingly.

I have sent you a private message with my contact details and would be delighted if you were to touch base so that we can invite you back at a future time to experience the hotel how you had orginally intended.

I look forward to hearing form you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel was very good. The apprtment was very clean and well equipped.The bedding was very good and the bed extremely comfortable.There were good blockout curtains.
Breakfast wasthe only weak link as it lacked good table service.
The hotel was within walking distance to the CBD and the free tram.It was a few minutes away from the Southbank restaurants and the casino.Across the road from the Eureka Tower.

Room Tip: Request a high up room and take your bathers as the pool is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us at Mantra Southbank, Melbourne. Delighted to read that you found the apartment clean and well equipped.

I apologise that the service at breakfast was not as good as it could have been and have passed this onto the Food and Beverage team so that they are aware and can make the necessary improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Room was huge . Staff was so much friendly specially housekeeping staff welcome in corridor was fantastic . All kitchen equipment was available for cooking and ,laundry facilities was provided .Cleaning standard was acceptable but only feel carpet and furniture was bit old which don't effect us .

Room Tip: Choose city view rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us.

The apartments at the hotel are all of a fantastic size with most of the two bedroom apartments between 75sqm and 100sqm. Lots of room for the entire family and certainly well equipped with all you need to cook for yourself.

We hope that you are able ot stay with us again on a future occassion when you are back in Melbourne again.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our second stay at this Mantra. The staff are friendly and helpful and room service was excellent. The best aspect of this Mantra is its location. There are a number of venues within walking distance of the Mantra, including AAMI Stadium, the MCG & Melbourne Park. We stayed at the Mantra to attend the Australian Tennis Open at Melbourne Park, which meant we were able to walk to and from the venue. The other reason we choose the Mantra is that we can do our own catering. Our one bedroom apartment was quiet and comfortable. It had a kitchen, lounge/dining, separate bedroom and separate bathroom. It also had a washing machine behind a door. The main drawback with the Mantra is its lighting. The lighting in the kitchen area is good but in the lounge and bedroom areas it is poor. The lights are old fashioned incandescent lights that don’t give enough light to see to read. Overall, the Mantra is in a good location for sporting venues, Southbank and the City combined with the ability to for guests to do their own catering. For people who stay at Meriton Apartments, this Mantra is similar to but not of the same standard as the Meritons.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Many thanks for providing feedback following your stay with us at the hotel in January.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be excellant.

We truly appreciate your comments and will be sure to investigate further your remarks about the low lighting levels in the room so that we can make improvements.

We hope that you find the time to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.