We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ok. Amenities basic. Road noise.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Mantra Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location ok. Amenities basic. Road noise.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Easy access to the city short walk. Nothing fancy with amenities in the rooms. Basic but adequate fit out and kitchen was adequately equipped. The smoke alarm started beeping on our first night, a girl from reception came up quite quickly to fix. One of the bedside lamps was fiddly to turn on and off. We were mid level in the front of the property. The road noise was noticeable. We got a special rate through the mantra loyalty club. So it was good value. Not sure if I'd stay again on account of the noise and the rest of the experience not being special in any way. Don't consider it worth the full advertised price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay with us. The team and I apprecaite your valuable comments.

We are currently reveiwing a solution to further limit any noise that can be experienced on occassions from City Road which runs adjacent to the hotel. We hope to have something in place within the next few months.

Great to read that you are a member of our loyalty program and that you have found it of benefit to get you a great rate with us.

We hope to se eyou back at the hotel at some stage in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    124
    53
    26
    8
See reviews for
59
59
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good size apartment on the south side of the river. We found the location excellent to get to the tennis, city, find places to eat etc. Very friendly staff willing to help with anything you need. Two things detract from a higher rating: we had to continually ask for better room servicing and the noise if on a lower floor. There is a little grocery/bottle shop about 300m away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay.

Glad to hear that you found the location to be ideal for your needs. Your comments regarding the nosie and service have bene noted and discussed with the team and we appreciate you passing on these thoughts.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had organised a 2 night stay at mantra southband for 8 professional ladies, booked paid for and confirmed 2 weeks prior to our departure. Location specifically chosen for bookings we had.
The day before we were flying to Melbourne, mantra phoned me and cancelled my booking, stating that they could not accommodate us, and we would be relocated.
On arrival to relocated mantra on the Park, rooms weren't ready, we could not get to our rooms until 4pm, although we were told 2pm. Poor service, no luggage in rooms. It cost us $60 for cab fares to other side of Melbourne.
I asked for an explanation for relocation, still waiting for an answer.
We were very inconvenienced, and will not book Mantra again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your planned trip to stay with us at Mantra Southbank.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused in having to relocate you to our sister hotel at Mantra on the Park.

It is my understanding, having now contacted our Central Reservations Team through whom you booked, that they contacted you in advance once they had realised that they had over booked Mantra Southbank in error. They discussed the relocation to Mantra on the Park, the saving in rate difference that was to be refunded and your requirment to have a balcony on your room. From this it was estbalished that, although an inconvenience of sorts, you seemed satisifed with the solution provided.

As this appears now not to be the case I would be delighted if you would contact me directly to discuss your grievances further. I have sent you a personal message with my contact details.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here with 3 other friends for 4 nights in January to watch Australian Open. We got a 2 bedroom apartment with 1 bathroom. When we were checking in, we asked for 2 beds for each room because in their website it said that you may get 1 room with Queen size bed. They immediately said No, it's not available. But when they realised that our room is part of the Australian Open package that we got through an agent, they granted our request. That's really interesting. It's really easy to see how important that Agent for them.
The rooms were adequate. Nothing special. The AC was another tricky thing to figure out.
We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear the street noise. None of those night was quite. The location is good. Not far from restaurants and the river. 15 - 20 minutes walk to the Rod Laver Arena or you can take the water taxi or tram from Findlers station.
I will not go back to this hotel again. If I go back for the Australian open, I will ask for another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay with us for the Australian Open in January.

I am disappointed to read that you would not request to return to the hotel in the future and that you were not that impressed with the overall experience.

Since January when you stayed we have commenced a property improvement program including painting of all rooms, new furniture in many two bedroom apartments and continued upgrade of many beds, linen and in room equipment.

I hope that given the improvements that we are putting in place that you may re consider your thoughts about staying here again in the future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose This hotel for location as we wanted an easy access to car parking. this we achieved as Mantra has a small car park and there is a larger one, at discount rates across the road. (make sure you get the right directions to the right car park. If you end up at Secure it will cost 3 times as much!!!)
Rooms are clean, large and comfortable.. and well equipped. Really missing nothing except Foxtel. Its a very short walk to Southbank and all the restaurants. And not far to the casino if you are into supporting The Packer Family. In the other direction the Remberance Shrine is a great visit...while the Botanical Gardens are an absolute must see. Both are short walks up St Kilda Road.
We generally walked to the city as the weather was superb...across one of the 3 nearby bridges, but took taxis for further trips afield.
Was a bit pricey the weekend we stayed as this was Grand Prix week...but normally the cost is reasonable value for what is provided.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel met your needs.

The hotel has 4 levels of parking on site to cater to up to 76 guest cars so generally has enough available ot cater to most guests but yes there are also some cheap options nearby and the staff are able to give you directions if required to make the best use of these facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when you are back in Melbourne to enjoy all that a fabulous location like Southbank has to offer.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caveside, Tas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Three nights - almost up, and we have been very happy with our accommodation. Three families with children all situated on the same floor (thanks), rooms are perfectly adequate, spacious enough for all families to congregate for pre dinner drinks and wind down after big days of shopping and activities. Bathroom a little small and dated but that's barely worth complaining about, everything we need, terrific location and very friendly service. More expensive that others times that we have been but it is Easter weekend and to be expected. Kids and parents all enjoying the pool and full breakfast with kids eating for $5 as their Easter special - that's a bargain! Looking forward to our next stay - thanks again to all staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

Glad you and the other families in your party enjoyed that hotel heated pool and also the fantastic specials that we have on offer in the restaurant which we do every holidays.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay we prefered the room layout of our room the first time
Made use of the pool we have stayed in this area many times on trips to melbourne will stay in this venue again
As it offers resonable parking rates which is important to us

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay and we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's location.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Mlebourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious 4.5 star apartment-style hotel accommodation in the heart of Melbourne’s vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, the hotel is also within walking distance to the east of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG, Olympic Park and Hisense Arena and to the west Crown Casino, South Wharf and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.