We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My girlfriend and l recently stayed here and went right next door to the Regent Theatre to see a show, the staff especially Ian are the best, cant do enough to help you out. The shops are just a short walk away and so are the beautiful restuarants. The Westin is very comfortable the bed linen even smells like lavendar, the beds feel like you are sleeping in clouds just lovely. We used the swim pool and spa which were great. Very nice place to stay l recommend it to everybody who likes that something really special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    283
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
406
84
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel about 20 times over the space of a year, and have always had a great experience. A little pricey, but worth it.

1. Excellent location, right in the heart of Melbourne CBD activity. Close to shopping areas at Swanston and Bourke St, great food joints all around, two minutes from Flinders St station
2. Extremely comfortable beds, large rooms as compared to other business hotels nearby
3. Warm and welcoming decor and staff
4. Great subtle personal attention and service for Starwood Preferred Guest members
5. Try to get the Westin Workout rooms if you can - you have a treadmill/cycle, weights and stuff in the room!
6. Gym could be better, but not bad
7. Room service menu is limited compared to other business hotels, and is far more expensive. The food, however, is delicious

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is the typical business class hotel catering to well heeled travelors. Spacious rooms, desk for work, good lighting, loads of closet space. Shower had good water pressure and rainfall faucets. Staff and concierge service were most helpful. I expect to stay here again in 6 months. My only 2 complaints were (1) lack of free internet in room and what was there was as slow as molasses {when you pay $300 a night, having to pay for internet is nickel and diming) and (2) they put a donation to UNICEF on the bill which I find incredibly presumptuous. The hotel does run a car service to the airport which is around $100. Private car service is aound $67. Can't beat the hotel location on Collins Street. Check out the restaurants on little Flinders Lane and Southbank over the bridge. Starbucks is in same building as hotel but you have to go outside of hotel to access. I am a loyal fan of Starbucks, but I must say if you want a really good coffee, check out the barista on the opposite end of the plaza.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our room facilities. We pride ourselves on responding instinctively to our guests needs and are disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns regarding our Internet service at the time of your stay. We would also have been more than happy to remove the UNICEF donation on your request at the time of checkout. Please rest assured that we take your comments seriously and look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Generally a very solid hotel with large rooms, bathrooms and comfortable beds. The location is the best - next door are tourist sites such as museums, churches, as well as restaurants in all price ranges. We checked out both Michelin starred restaurants and cheap local eateries. Our favorite was this pizza place called Hairy Canary. Make sure to check it out if you like Italian food. The pizza is amazing and the price is very very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Westin Melbourne, is without a doubt one of the best central and well maintained 5 star hotels in Melbourne. Coming from Melbourne originally and knowing all hotels well its without a doubt the best for the money. In the Paris end of Collins St shopping, restaurants etc, right next to Flinders St station and a few minutes walk to Southbank it has it all at your feet. Dont stay anywhere else yo will love it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your unprompted and considerate recommendation of The Westin Melbourne. We are inspired that we are able to fulfil your needs.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Vault
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Spent a night there. Room is very clean and well equipped, though a little outdated. It gives you a feeling of an old English style decor. Better location than Park Hyatt Melbourne imo. Easy access to Yarra river and of course Crown casino. The price tag is high but you can expect the best of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with The Westin Melbourne. We are pleased to read that you had a satisfying visit. Further to your comments on our rooms, we are pleased to advise that as at today's date The Westin Melbourne has completed a renewing refurbishment transformation on more than 70% of our accommodation rooms. The balance of our rooms will be fully transformed by 31 July 2010.

Once again, we thank you for your comments.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The hotel is centrally located in Melbourne CBD. Stayed one night on 7th Floor. The window view is not impressive at all. Our room is facing the main street with little noise disturbance. Very comfortable bedding. Internet access is chargeable. Parking is convenient if don't mind to pay for the hefty parking charges. Service are friendly. Recommend for business stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking your time to post a review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a satisfying visit however it is our desire to exceed our guest expectations and we regret that we were unaware until after your departure that you were not fully impressed with the view from your room. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance of your next visit so that we may personally discuss the range of inspiring view options that we are able to provide from our guest rooms.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.