We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous relaxing week at the westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fabulous relaxing week at the westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

For a special week away we chose the Westin which did not let us down in anyway. It is a superb hotel, very modern, classy and tranquil and in the best position for everything you could want to do. The staff are really helpful in everyway. The spa and pool area are great and usually we had it to ourselves. The Hotel backs onto Flinders Lane which has fantastic cafes and restaurants. We did splash out and have the most superb meal at Ezard at Adelphi which i would highly reccomend for a special night. It is right behind the Hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 20, 2009
Dear katyjoyNewZealand,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear your special trip to Melbourne was an enjoyable one and that our intuitive service and hotel facilities contributed to a relaxing stay for you. Many of our guests comment on the renewing powers of our tranquil Wellness Centre and pool and I am glad you made use of them while here. I hope you will be back one day to experience another restoring stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    283
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
406
84
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English Traveller
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Our stay in the Westin was great. The staff were very polite and helpful on check in and even gave us a complimentary late check out. The location of the hotel is very central, situated on Collins Street. We had a city view room, which was a good size, was nicely decorated (4.5-5* standard), clean and had a good sized bathroom. The bed was also very comfortable. All in all a lovely hotel that I would definitely stay in again and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I have just returned from spending a nice break at the Westin. It is a great hotel that is centrally located.

The staff are very nice and extremely helpful. The rooms are very nicely furnished with comfortable beds. I stayed in a Deluxe room and I found that the room was spacious. It was also great having a city view room.

The bathroom was large and also tastefully decorated. The rain shower was a nice touch and it was great that they also had a traditional shower if you didn't feel like a rain shower. It was nice to see a totally separate full sized bathtub.

Each time I came back from a day out the lights were on in the room which was a nice touch.

If I had to fault anything it would be the fact that they still have the old style televisions. I don't know of too many people who have these at home so you would expect a 5 star hotel to have a flat screen tv. Apart from that there is nothing else that is wrong.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

All in all a great hotel with a great location. Prices are over the top, when compared to other hotels in Melbourne, and also compared to Westin Sydney and Sheraton on the Park Sydney. It's disappointing that Platinum members receive very low or no recognition at this hotel. I've stayed 10 or more times, and seen a suite once. There's no Exec Club facilities so don't expect any of the nice touches you'll get at Starwood properties in Sydney. Management are invisible at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My first time here. Usually I stay at the Marriott further uptown or the Grand Hyatt. Location is a definite plus point. Friendly & chatty staff. They have their hobby written on their name tag. Very engaging & innovative i must say.
The room & bathroom is that expected of a westin with all their heavenlies. Breakfast was good too. Room rate is a little pricey. Wish they offer better rates. Otherwise it's back to the Grand Hyatt for my next trip there...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed for three nights in a Deluxe Room overlooking the City. The room was spacious and clean and the beds unbelievably comfortable.
This hotel is centrally located and while it offers good dining etc. Melbourne is a foodies mecca. Almost every restaurant sells great coffee. However, I probably had the best coffee in Lygon Street, Carlton. China Town has some excellent restaurants and the Korean restaurants near RMIT are worth a visit. There is also a great Japanese restaurant in Lonsdale Street opposite the Wesley Church.
You can dine out quite reasonably and experience lots of different flavours in Melbourne.
The Hotel is a block from Federation Square/Flinders Station and a short walk to the Art Galleries etc. Or, if you don't like walking, the trams make most of Central Melbourne highly accessible.
The Hotel staff are pleasant and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
If you want to see some Australian Wildlife, rent a car and head to Healesville. You can see all of Australia's native animals in their natural habitats.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We recently holidayed in Tasmania and on the way home on the boat we thought we would treat ourselves to something special before the long drive home to Sydney.
On arrival we were greeted by a lovley man "Ian" who kindly valet parked our car. He was most chatty and very helpful with plenty of information to help us get around Melbourne.
As a starwood priviledge member we also recieved an upgrade to our room.
On arrival to our room it was beautifully presented, very clean and as the Westin has a reputation for their 'heavenly' beds this would certainly encourage me to stay again due to the most comfortable bed.
John at concierge was most helpful and kindly made an appointment for me to have my hair done at this amazing hairdresser 'Falconies' just close by to the hotel.
Our room service ordered was presented hot and very tasty. Great range on the menu.
Our High Tea in the lobby was divine!
You can't miss the high tea with the Champagne! We have experienced many high teas around the world and this would have to be one of the best... Extremely impressed !!
The only improvement I would like to see for my next visit is a plasma or larger tv of some description in the room. TV looked a little tired. For a five star hotel I think this is most needed.
We loved being so close to all the theatres, concierge again was most helpful in securing us tickets.
Well worth a visit to Melbourne to experience this most pleasurable five star hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.