We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is clearly an emphasis on service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EASTER RETREAT from $290
Ranked #16 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“There is clearly an emphasis on service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel has lots of plusses:

- staff who smile
and are clearly making a lot of effort
- an excellent location
- rooms which are very good and well designed
- a top tier fitness center with a 20 meter lap pool and a reasonably well-equipped exercise center (well above the average Westin standard)
- service is prompt and efficient.

I cannot think of any minuses. It would be a particularly good hotel for business.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    260
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
107
373
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

have just stayed and the westin for 1 night in deluxe king with city view. we were greeted by extremely friendy staff on arrival and even though we arrived before 11am (not expecting our room to be ready) we were given a room which was with a small balcony and view over fed square and church etc., all ready to go.
Great location
The staff, lobby area and bar etc was definately 5 star. the full buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent including everything you could think of.

There is only one complaint about our stay that i have to mention and that is the tv in our room, i think all 5 star hotels (for the price you pay) should have lcd/plasma tv's we had an awful big bulky tv that is hidden in a cupboard very disappointing in an otherwise good room with big clean bathroom

i would stay again even though extremely disappointed with the outdated tv!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We have just returned to Adelaide after travelling to Melbourne to see WICKED for the second time - I make about 5-6 trips to Melbourne each year,either for the football/shopping/ or to spend time with family. Each time we like to stay in different hotels. Some of these have included the HYATT,CROWN TOWERS, AND THE GRAND. This would have to be THE BEST we have stayed in. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen somewhere special. We were greated by the loviest people at reception who couldnt do enought for us. We had a beautiful room with a view of the cathederal and federation square- immaculately clean with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. THE BEDS ARE TO DIE FOR - the most comfortable i have ever slept on. There is not one thing i can fault with this Hotel - the staff were the friendliness and most approachable i have ever come across., We are coming back to Melbourne in may and i will not even consider staying anywhere else. TO SUM IT ALL UP?????? THE BEST HOTEL IN MELBOURNE IN MY OPINION

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

The Westin is amazing, fantastic service and you can't beat the location. We had a deluxe room on the 6th room. Great view of Collins street. Juliet balcony which allowed some fresh air and opportunity for some great photos. All staff are extremely helpful and considerate. Extra touches go a long way, for example newspaper delivered to your room daily and complimentary apples at lifts etc. It is expensive but for a special ocassion it was perfect. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Tip: Dine at Ezard (Flinders Street - about a 1 minute walk) amazing!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Our experience with The Westin Melbourne was all good. Gorgeous hotel in a great location, rooms were beautiful, spacious and very clean. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful.

If you can afford to stay at The Westin, there is no need to go anywhere else. It is an excellent hotel.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Great hotel is the centre of Melbourne. Like any 5* property, the hotel has all that you want. The thing that wins it for me every time I stay at a Westin property is the bed. The signature heavenly bed is just fantastic!

Staff is efficient and very friendly. I was given a queen size bed on check-in at 8am arriving on an overnight flight from Singapore. I thanked them first of all for being able to accommodate me that early as normal check-in time is only at 3pm (and this was during Australian open). However I also asked if they did not have a king size available. Front office staff very generously offered me the queen for the time being, so I could get some rest, and mentioned they would move me to a different room (king size bed) later that afternoon (off course there was no obligation on their end to do this at all!). In addition they also apologized they did not have a suite available for an upgrade as I am SPG platinum. The upgrade is always nice but for me it’s more important that I can get into a room early to take a shower, catch one or two more hours of sleep and to dump my stuff. So only kudos to the front office staff!!

Overall the hotel looks very nice (also smells very nice). Rooms are adequately equipped. Bathrooms are large and have a separate shower and bath. The concierge is very friendly and knowledgably. On a different stay I tried the martini bar and found it a comfortable bar with good staff. The hotel is walking distance from most attractions and various trams stop nearby to take you to places further out. My only remark would be that the TV’s in the room should be replaced by flat screens.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — TV's in room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
468 helpful votes 468 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Any hotel that allows you to check into your room at 8am earns several brownie points, so the Westin Melbourne was off to a brilliant start as far as we were concerned. Our standard room, 213, was extra spacious, with sleak decor, a deliriously comfy bed, perfect bathroom with a soothing rain shower, full-size tub, twin vanities and a host of lotions and potions. No view to speak of but, surprisingly, it was preferable to the room we had just vacated - a premium harbour-view at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore.

The Westin is slap bang in the heart of busy, cosmopolitan and scruffy Melbourne - you can walk or take a tram to anywhere with ease. We particularly enjoyed the botanical gardens (slightly stressed-looking after a ferocious heatwave) and the aboriginal art at the audaciously designed Ian Potter Centre. We dined the first night at Bistro Vue, a superb Frenchified annex to a high-end, minimalist three toque restaurant. The next night we dined at the legendary Stokehouse on the beach at St Kilda which we found cacophonic, overpriced with mediocre food. So we didn’t really sample the food at the Westin, apart from one disappointing buffet breakfast.

Service levels at the hotel are a bit varied - no nightly turndown service, a breakfast cook who couldn’t fry an egg, but outstanding concierge assistance and valet parking attendants. There is free wireless internet in the elegant, modernist lobby. There is also a health spa, with a decent indoor pool - not a place to linger but great for a few laps, and there’s a steam room, too, an ideal place to cool off from Melbourne’s summer heat.

I am not usually a fan of American-owned chain hotels but this Westin was a superb choice, as many previous reviewers have noted.

  • Liked — Location, excellent room
  • Disliked — Poor buffet breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne Hotel
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin
Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.