We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Westin Melbourne is perfectly located in the heart of Melbourne's CBD. A perfect spot for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is very well appointed with a fantastic spa. This is truly a 5 star hotel but it doesn't have that extra factor in order to receive a excellent rating. Being a Westin hotel it feels very business orientated. The hotel is rather bland in the corridors and rooms which is typical with most large American chain hotels. But in contrast the public areas are beautifully styled giving a Parisian feels unlike most Westin hotels. The service is to a high standard and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed with fantastic large bathrooms. The rooms also offer a great view over Melbourne.

Location:
Fantastic location in Melbourne close to all the major sights, public transport, shoppings areas and high end restaurants. In terms of shopping the hotels location cannot be beaten with all the major international designers adjacent to the hotel entrance.

Entrance:
The hotels entrance is elegant and stylish, it provides a parisian feel with the cobble stoned walk way and a classic facade.

Lobby:
Classy lobby with a grand staircase, great restaurants and a chic lobby bar.
Decorated to a high standard.

Room:
I stayed in a classic Westin room that was huge in comparison to many other hotels. It had ample space and was very well appointed with the latest technology and a huge desk. Being a Westin it had the amazing Westin Heavenly Bed that lived up to its reputation. The bathroom was huge with both a bath and a separate shower. It also featured the Westin Heavenly White Tea Amenities which are surprisingly good. Highly recommend getting a room with a view over Swanston Street. The Wi-Fi was also very fast and the housekeepers response time was also impressive.

I highly recommend this hotel, it would defiantly be one of the top 5 hotels in Melbourne!
It is classy, modern and has a fantastic Melbourne address.

Room Tip: Swanston Street View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your positive review. Your feedback is important to us. We are pleased you had such an overall satisfying experience and we certainly look forward to your return to The Westin Melbourne. Please be advised SPG members when dining and showing your SPG are entitled to 15% off Food in our Lobby bar and Allegro. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    307
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A wonderful location for a hotel which offers a lot for the money. Scored a good Wotif deal for the first night , a Sunday , which included breakfast , valet parking and free Wifi in room and they continued the valet parking free for the remaining 2 nights which is great when you see the price of parking in surrounding car parking buildings. Good sized rooms including bathrooms . Very comfortable beds - the Westin prides itself on this feature -, good toiletries in bathroom, good shower. You can not beat this location down the bottom of Collins Street , very close to the laneways with some great restaurants , ask the concierge for recommendations he sent us to a great Spanish Tapas place very close by, also try Decartes Street for any meal , very buzzy very fun. Went to good movies at a small cinema complex further up Collins called Kino . Concierge also lent us a card to top up and use on the trams so didn't have to buy one. All in all a very good experience and would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback – it is valuable to us. We are pleased you appreciated our hotel’s unbeatable address on Collins Street positioned amongst the best restaurants, designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future for an uplifting stay in every way. Until then be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Never disappointed with Westin Hotels. Classy, stylish rooms with plenty of hanging space, large bathrooms ,big showers and the most comfortable beds with the most squeaky white silky sheets imaginable! My room had a small balcony overlooking Collins street which lent a very Parisian air to the feel of the room. Loved it! Great buffet breakfast included.Cant go wrong here. Close to shops ,restaurants and Theatre right on corner beside Hotel!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is valuable to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Westin Melbourne. Our converted Collins street address does place our guests amongst the city’s finest dinning and shopping precinct and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre - all only a short stroll from the hotel. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly Bed (the name truly says it all). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Westin is located right in the heart of Melbourne city and is one of my favourite Melbourne hotels. We actually stayed there last Friday night on the spur of the moment, having gone out to dinner on the spur of the moment after work! We didn't have any bags obviously but were provided with all the toiletries we needed, and the friendly receptionist even upgraded us as the hotel wasn't too busy. The rate was exceptionally good and the room was lovely.

I would recommend the Westin if you like a 5 star hotel and want great service and the best location. Another time we stayed there we bought their bedding package which is a douvet cover and sheets & pillow cases for a King bed. Super luxurious!

My only recommendation - check the pillows when you arrive, surprisingly ours were very hard but that hasn't happened before so not sure why. I'm sure you could ask to have different pillows and usually I would but I only realised once in bed and couldn't be bothered!

I am sure that even though we live in Melbourne, we will be back to stay after a night out on the town!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer. We are thrilled you enjoyed a fulfilling stay with us recently.Our associates would be more than happy to provide you with a pillow you like so please let us know next time you are back staying with us. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all of our dining venues (T& C’s apply). Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Westin is a decent hotel.

The service was a little generic when compared to the individualised service that other 5 star hotels offer. All of the staff we dealt with were, however, helpful and efficient. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't necessarily choose The Westin over others in the vicinity next time we're in Melbourne.

The location is fantastic for sightseeing / shopping / eating out.

Internet access is not included in the room price - this is something which really should be 'standard' these days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location to explore the attractions our city has to offer. Our in-room internet is one of the fastest in town and guest could connect up to three devices at the same time at a minimal fee of $5 per hour. As an alternative, guests are welcome to use the complimentary internet in public areas, as well as desktop computers in the Business Centre. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and am very impressed with the genuine and friendly service.
Location of the hotel is excellent; everything within easy walking distance.
We had a standard room which is spacious and has a really nice bathroom. No view though as it looked into a sidewall of the adjacent building.
Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our large and well-appointed rooms and refined service are what we are well known for. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne for another uplifting stay in the not too distant future. Until then Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I love the location of the Westin - city square is a beautiful pocket of the city and the surroundings are lovely. The lobby etc in the hotel is very impressive, the service is smooth and non-obtrusive. If you ever want a taxi at night in the city the bellboys are totally helpful and happy to whistle one off the street for you/use the hotel as a rank.

I find the rooms very bland in design. Not in a minimalist way, just bland. The bathrooms are very large and I like the shower controls they have available.

All in all a relaxing and classic hotel on the higher end of the 5 star scale; a safe bet if you like and well suited to corporate business people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Melbourne always has so much on in the theatres, art exhibitions, ballet, jazz and also the fabulous shopping. We are delighted you experienced the personal service Westin is renowned for.
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.