We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh, The Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westin.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EASTER RETREAT from $290
Ranked #16 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Mildura
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ahhh, The Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here twice for business. Beautiful rooms, beautiful Hotel and decor. Excellent location.

You get what you expect from The Westin brand here. Room service was great and the rooms are large. Fantastic bathroom.

No downsides here. Loooking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear reviewer. We are delighted to read that you had such a fulfilling stay in every way. We see you noticed our very large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features that enable us to offer our guests a rejuvenating stay. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    261
    64
    26
    14
See reviews for
108
373
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've been wanting to try this hotel for a long time and wasn't disappointed with our one night stay. Firstly, the location is fabulous for foodies as there are lots of cafes, great coffee and good restaurants on your doorstep. The room was spacious, the decor nice, the beds super comfortable, and the view of Swanston St through our enormous bay window was really lovely.

Lovely pool, and the gym looked good too but I didn't have time to use it. The cost of a room service breakfast for our small family of 3, was staggering and I didn't think it offered good value for money, much better breakfast options just outside the front door at about 20% of the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Swanston St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is valuable to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Westin Melbourne. Our converted Collins street address does place our guests amongst the city’s finest dinning and shopping precinct and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre - all only a short stroll from the hotel. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly Bed (the name truly says it all) and the view from our deluxe suites onto Swanston Street and of the beautiful surrounding architecture is quite impressive. Your comments regarding the price of the in room dining is well noted and will be passed onto the relevant departments for further discussion. We hope that upon your next visit to the hotel, you get time to make use of our fantastic onsite facilities such as the WestinWellness Centre with the beautifully designed lap pool, steam room and sauna. The Lifefitness equipment in the WestinWorkout fitness studio has recently been upgraded and the facilities are available for use 24 hrs – enabling that late night workout. Plus, we have recently initiated a innovative Gear Lending program with New Balance, where guests can rent fresh workout gear and running shoes in your size for a nominal fee of $5 - the socks are yours to keep! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great service, good food, perfect location. Not much else matters! The valet service was efficient, room service quick and fast, and the breakfast buffet was good. The bed was comfortable, although there really were a lot of pillows to try out and choose from! There is so much to do in Melbourne, and a lot of it is right on the westin's doorstep, so we didn't really get to use any of the pool or gym facilities. I am struggling to find any down sides - I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we thank you for staying with us. For a weekend getaway and or celebrating a special occasion Melbourne is certainly “the place to be” We look forward to welcoming you back – hopefully in the not too distant future. Until then, be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel has an amazing location with plenty of food options around, very lively and cheerful - the place you would want to be after a hard day's work :)

The express service of the hotel is awesome - they are so quick that it feels like they were waiting outside your help to service your request.

There are certain other things about the service which can be improved though - I came into the hotel at around 10 pm on Tuesday and was disappointed to see no one at the door to help me with my luggage, I did not get any directions about the breakfast restaurant, internet usage, gym and the swimming pool area etc during check in, the room had no slippers for 2 days until I asked for it.

If a little more attention is paid to the service, it could be the best place to be in the town - something people will envy you for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback – it is valuable to us. We have the best address on Collins Street positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. We are also delighted you appreciated our personalised service however, we would like to apologise for the other less than satisfactory experiences you encountered upon arrival to the hotel. May we mentioned slippers are placed in every room and perhaps we have to review the location as they are in the bottom drawer of the wardrobe – apologies. We look forward to your return back to the Westin Melbourne for an overall uplifting stay in each and every way. Until then be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and in a good locale
In room dining food was tasty and good portions.....BUT
The service needed serious attention
- Lobby bar waiter was rude and was finishing his shift and wanted us to pay up, after 45mins and halfway thru out second glass of expensive red wine.
Strange as the bill should of gone to next waiters shift....not a good way to expect a tip.
- Checkin did not give us any explanations of where amenities were, or check out times, no information.
- No one was at the pool/ fitness centre to checkin towels etc on both occasions.
- key card to room demagnetised twice, and had to go back to check-in to have new ones issued...seriously frustrating.
- Checkout time, received the bill with a charge towards a charity ..upon asking about it, apparently it in the small print on checkin. Not appropriate for sooo many reasons.
The duty manager was polite however but by that time, I had already ticked this hotel off my list..Shame!!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback – it is valuable to us. We are pleased you appreciated our hotel’s unbeatable address on Collins Street. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the other less than satisfactory service experiences you encountered in our Lobby Lounge, upon check in and check out, and in relation to the magnetic strip failing on your room card twice. This is not a reflection of the typical level of service we offer at our hotel. The room key card’s magnetic strip is deactivated by mobile phones and it is unfortunate that you had to experience this inconvenience twice during your stay. As for the other service related issues, we realise there is no excuse for these encounters and rest assured we will be sharing your comments with related departments for further enquiry and discussion. We welcome you to contact our front office manager for a further discussion on these matters and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for an overall uplifting stay in each and every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just after Christmas, our family decided that we would like to spend New Year's Eve in the centre of the city and watch the fireworks from the banks of the Yarra River. So did approximately 500,000 other people so there was quite a bit of congestion on public transport getting in and out of town. Fortunately, the Westin Hotel still had rooms available so we were lucky enough to spend the night in town in a nice room. We arrived early in the afternoon, did a bit of shopping (OK - I didn't shop, my wife did and I carried bags), had afternoon tea and then rested in the room while we waited for sunset. A short walk got us an excellent vantage position for the family fireworks at 9:30 pm then we went back to the room and waited comfortably for the midnight extravaganza which we viewed from our hotel room window. All very nice indeed.

The Westin is a typical 5-star hotel with friendly responsive staff who despite being very busy always had time for a smile.

We woke up, had a nice buffet breakfast, then drove home just after 1:00 pm having had the benefit of a late check-out.

It was a great way to see the old year out and new year in.

And yes, the beds are quite heavenly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the old city square and gives you magnificent sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your review - we love it. New year Eve is a great time to be in Melbourne for the fireworks and all the retail therapy. Our city view rooms certainly offer 'front row seats' to the cities skyline, where the NYE fireworks took place. We are pleased you made the most of our unsurpassed location amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. We are also pleased to learn that our staff were able to offer our usual high levels of service standards, even on such a busy night and that you were able to make the most of our Superfood’s buffet breakfast, read the papers and generally make the most of the late checkout time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Westin Melbourne for another uplifting stay in the not too distant future.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location right in the city, walking distance to the shops, flinders station and federation square. The rooms are spacious, service was excellent and the bar was great, breakfast was what you would expect. There is a patisserie out the front on Swanston st that was a great option for breakfast, nice toasted sandwich and pastries.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to learn that we were able to offer you such an overall satisfying stay in every way. Our Hotel is positioned in an unbeatable location where the best coffee is served at many cafés located not far from our doorstep, including the coffee at our Hotel. Brunettis is very popular with all the locals and is a well known brand in Melbourne. In a 5 minutes radius there is at least 16 different coffee houses which present different tastes, roasts, sizes and accompanying cakes for all to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne for another uplifting stay in the not too distant future. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne Hotel
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin
Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.