We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by Most things.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #21 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Ballarat, Vic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressed by Most things.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed on a Fri/Sat/Sun night for our annual getaway and xmas shopping trip and decided to spoil ourselves a little this year. Overall a very good experience except for a couple of minor details.

Pluses - staff very courteous and professional; check in fact and easy; rooms very neat, clean and tidy; heavenly bed did not disappoint-extremely comfortable; great city location.
Peaceful sleep. Like the option of forgoing housekeeping to gain extra SPG points.
Bath a good size, fits two (just)

Minuses - Rooms need a clock next to the bed so that if you wake up in the dark, you don't have to forage for your phone and spectacles to check the time;
extra power points needed beside bed for recharging of phones;
toilet flush buttons poorly positioned, in that have to move seat and cover to access buttons, or go like a girl and leave seat down all the time;
Key cards did not work all the time in lifts. Had to go to reception twice to have checked - first said nothing wrong with them, second time had a new card issued;
When about to check out, called for a luggage trolley as we had all our christmas shopping to cart down from 6th floor. Never arrived and we had to make two trips down.
Valet parking $50 per night. Not an option for us, too expensive, parked one block away at 114 Flinders St for $15 for Fri, sat nights and all day Sun.(pre book online).

Appears minuses outweigh the pluses but would definitely stay again next year.

Room Tip: Room overlooking City Square. Trams and street cleaners a little noisy in the mornings but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments, your feedback is important to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards which we are well known for and our well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly bed – the name really does say it all and it offers a very restful night’s sleep indeed. We are also pleased to hear you participated in our innovative Make a Green Choice program by forgoing housekeeping, it is a great way for our guests to earn SPG points and to preserve environmental resources. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the key card incidence. Mobile phones and credit cards can deactivate key cards magnetic strip, which may have happened however we will have all the hardware checked in the lifts to ensure they are working correctly. As for the delay in bell services, we agree this is not acceptable and your comments have been passed to the related departments to ensure we maintain our responsive service standards. Your comments regarding the room features that would have made your stay more accommodating and comfortable are also well received. We are actually replacing all the bedside clocks in January that will ensure easier visability of the time. Lastly, for your next visit, we would be delighted to place a powerboard on the bedside table set up for your convenience upon request. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future for a much more overall fulfilling stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    628
    285
    73
    29
    16
See reviews for
117
413
86
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by local friends Westin Melbourne didn't disappoint. Large room, heavenly bed, enormous bathroom with huge bathtub and large walk in shower. Elemis toiletries - all lovely. Ticks all the boxes I expect from Westin. Top marks for location, walking distance to CBD and most tourist attractions.

What really annoyed me was the add-on wifi charges. Free in the lobby but not in the room? So if you walk in off the street and buy a coffee you can get free wifi but pay several hundred dollars for a room and its $20 a day? Come on management, wake-up, add $20 to the room rate if you must, we would probably pay it and leave without feeling ripped off!! Better still give guests free wifi, I travel extensively and most 4-5 star hotels don't add an obvious charge. I don't buy it that not everyone wants wifi so they keep the room rate down. My parents have iPads!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience for your visit to Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well appointed in room features such as the White Tea toiletries, Heavenly bed, bath and shower, that we are renowned for. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise that the in room Wi-Fi charge dampened your otherwise uplifting stay. Your comments are both well received and noted by management for further discussion. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed at Westin Melbourne between 19 and 22 September 2013. Room was clean and well equipped. Staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast Buffet was excellent. Very centrally placed for shopping and theatre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your positive review. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have such a satisfying stay in every way. We are delighted you enjoyed our enviable location in the heart of Melbourne, delicious gourmet SuperFoodsRxTM buffet breakfast in our signature restaurant Allegro and our instinctive and personalised service which our staff are well known for. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Tucked away in the middle of the shopping and theatre district, the Westin is a great location. The lobby is beautiful and the beds are so comfortable (featuring their heavenly bed) - even more important, the staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. When our pre-arranged transport did not show up, we called the hotel and Paul from the concierge desk assisted us in getting to the hotel. He even reconfirmed our other travels to ensure this didn't happen to us again! Their Business Center was very nice and offered coffee, tea and water. Great place in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such an uplifting stay in every way. With our coveted Collins Street address, The Westin Melbourne is the city's stylish centerpiece, surrounded by designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated the instinctive service as our associates take pride in their work and do work hard to instill these high service standards. We will ensure we pass on your comments to the team, in particular to our concierge associate Paul. Finally, we are also pleased that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly bed – it certainly offers a revitalising night’s sleep. It might be worth mentioning that you can actually ‘take a piece of heaven home’ as the signature Heavenly bed and Heavenly linen are available for purchase directly through our Hotel (Heavenly Linen currently available at 25% off – until 31/12). We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by lots of shoppings and restaurants. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and comfortable. Their heavenly bed is one of the best mattress i ever slept on. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience on your recent visit to Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well appointed in room features that we are renowned for. You can actually ‘take a piece of heaven home’ as you can purchase our signature heavenly bed and linen directly through our Hotel (Heavenly Linen currently available at 25% off – until 31/12). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I have an annual weekend in Melbourne without the kids to shop and chill. We decided this year to stay at The Westin as I have previously stayed in their Sydney motel and loved it.
The hotel is in one of the best locations in Melbourne, close to everything so when you fill your arms with bags you can easily call past and drop them off to head out again! Our check in was quick and efficient as was the business of dropping the car off. All staff were very friendly and new what they were doing. We were upgraded on arrival but I think the room was pretty much on par with what we had already booked from what I could gather. The rooms are nice and big as are the bathrooms. Its the bed that is exceptional, soooo comfy. We had a great view of the city which was lovely to see especially at night with all the city Xmas lights.
The only negative was the slowness of the staff in the lounge area. We had shopped all day and were quite thirsty as it was hot and we had to wait forever to be served for a drink. After one drink we decided to head out because we got sick of waiting for another. We were sitting on the balcony so they may have forgotten we were there. Other then that the hotel was pretty faultless and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, your feedback is important us. We are pleased you both enjoyed your “mini moon” and shopping spree as we are in the perfect location to do anything and everything. However, we are disappointed to learn the less than efficient service you encountered in our Lobby Lounge. Your feedback is well noted and we will definitely pass on your comments to the team so they may readdress coverage with the team on the balcony area. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel for our wedding weekend. The room was lovely, the staff by and large were fantastic. In particular, the GM Debra Watt, was brilliant and should be an inspiration to all hotel managers. Unfortunately the hotel was let down by terrible night service in room dining... which after a wedding is an important feature for a hungry groom. I ordered a sandwich off the menu that cost $28, took over an hour to get to me because the completely wrong thing came the first time, when it arrived, it was dry, the turkey was leathery and it was quite possibly the worst room service experience I have had. When checking out, I explained this to the girl on the front desk, who merely apologised and said she would pass on the feedback to to the cook. No offer to refund my $28. I did not catch her name, but I remember her badge informed me that she likes rock climbing... perhaps she is better at that than customer service. This unfortunate event had to lower my rating on service from what should have been a 5 plus down to a 3 overall despite the shining example of the manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer. Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments as your feedback is very important to us. We congratulate you on your marriage together and wish you a lifetime of happiness. We do apologise for the less than satisfactory in room dining experience and we have refunded your account. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Melbourne for perhaps your first year anniversary. Please do email the GM as she would be delighted to assist with your reservation. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.