We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably Chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #17 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minooka, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortably Chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Tucked away in the middle of the shopping and theatre district, the Westin is a great location. The lobby is beautiful and the beds are so comfortable (featuring their heavenly bed) - even more important, the staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. When our pre-arranged transport did not show up, we called the hotel and Paul from the concierge desk assisted us in getting to the hotel. He even reconfirmed our other travels to ensure this didn't happen to us again! Their Business Center was very nice and offered coffee, tea and water. Great place in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such an uplifting stay in every way. With our coveted Collins Street address, The Westin Melbourne is the city's stylish centerpiece, surrounded by designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated the instinctive service as our associates take pride in their work and do work hard to instill these high service standards. We will ensure we pass on your comments to the team, in particular to our concierge associate Paul. Finally, we are also pleased that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly bed – it certainly offers a revitalising night’s sleep. It might be worth mentioning that you can actually ‘take a piece of heaven home’ as the signature Heavenly bed and Heavenly linen are available for purchase directly through our Hotel (Heavenly Linen currently available at 25% off – until 31/12). We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    340
    90
    35
    19
See reviews for
146
509
98
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by lots of shoppings and restaurants. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and comfortable. Their heavenly bed is one of the best mattress i ever slept on. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience on your recent visit to Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well appointed in room features that we are renowned for. You can actually ‘take a piece of heaven home’ as you can purchase our signature heavenly bed and linen directly through our Hotel (Heavenly Linen currently available at 25% off – until 31/12). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I have an annual weekend in Melbourne without the kids to shop and chill. We decided this year to stay at The Westin as I have previously stayed in their Sydney motel and loved it.
The hotel is in one of the best locations in Melbourne, close to everything so when you fill your arms with bags you can easily call past and drop them off to head out again! Our check in was quick and efficient as was the business of dropping the car off. All staff were very friendly and new what they were doing. We were upgraded on arrival but I think the room was pretty much on par with what we had already booked from what I could gather. The rooms are nice and big as are the bathrooms. Its the bed that is exceptional, soooo comfy. We had a great view of the city which was lovely to see especially at night with all the city Xmas lights.
The only negative was the slowness of the staff in the lounge area. We had shopped all day and were quite thirsty as it was hot and we had to wait forever to be served for a drink. After one drink we decided to head out because we got sick of waiting for another. We were sitting on the balcony so they may have forgotten we were there. Other then that the hotel was pretty faultless and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, your feedback is important us. We are pleased you both enjoyed your “mini moon” and shopping spree as we are in the perfect location to do anything and everything. However, we are disappointed to learn the less than efficient service you encountered in our Lobby Lounge. Your feedback is well noted and we will definitely pass on your comments to the team so they may readdress coverage with the team on the balcony area. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel for our wedding weekend. The room was lovely, the staff by and large were fantastic. In particular, the GM Debra Watt, was brilliant and should be an inspiration to all hotel managers. Unfortunately the hotel was let down by terrible night service in room dining... which after a wedding is an important feature for a hungry groom. I ordered a sandwich off the menu that cost $28, took over an hour to get to me because the completely wrong thing came the first time, when it arrived, it was dry, the turkey was leathery and it was quite possibly the worst room service experience I have had. When checking out, I explained this to the girl on the front desk, who merely apologised and said she would pass on the feedback to to the cook. No offer to refund my $28. I did not catch her name, but I remember her badge informed me that she likes rock climbing... perhaps she is better at that than customer service. This unfortunate event had to lower my rating on service from what should have been a 5 plus down to a 3 overall despite the shining example of the manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer. Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments as your feedback is very important to us. We congratulate you on your marriage together and wish you a lifetime of happiness. We do apologise for the less than satisfactory in room dining experience and we have refunded your account. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Melbourne for perhaps your first year anniversary. Please do email the GM as she would be delighted to assist with your reservation. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Once again we had an amazing weekend at the Westin. Everything from valet parking, fast and friendly check in, beautiful room with balcony opening out to view of the church, swimming in the pool, working out in the gym and a delicious breakfast, was truly a five star experience. Thank you again I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for posting such uplifting comments regarding your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such a satisfying stay in every way. We are delighted you enjoyed our instinctive and personalised service which we are so well known for and you experienced all the hotel has to offer, including the recently upgraded Lifefitness equipment in the WestinWorkout studio (open 24hrs). A personal favorite of our guests is the beautifully designed lap pool in our WestinWELLNESS centre. Even if a guest does not go for a swim, it certainly is something to view from a design aspect. Our Deluxe rooms on Flinders lane featuring a Juliet balcony are quite popular that many guests for the commanding views of St Paul’s Cathedral next door. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not distant future for another refreshing stay. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Westin on Collins Street for 3 nights, and it was in the middle of a busy Christmas shopping week. Coincidentally there was a conference happening at the hotel at the same time but that didn't affect our stay.

The Westin was truly a mixture of comfort and luxury. The rooms were adequately sized, great bathroom, hotel facilities were phenomenal (definitely recommend the pool and the spa!), and the gym equipped with high quality (LifeFitness) exercise machines.

I do however think that the buffet breakfast needed a bit more variety, but the quality was superb.

I however was quite disappointed with the porter/bell boy service (one in particular). We had stepped out of the hotel hoping to get a cab and the porter hollered to us and said the taxi service is only for guests at the hotel with a tone that implied we weren't. I politely said that we are guests and he didn't apologize and instead went on to complain about there's a shortage of taxis that day, and that it's been driving him mad. A polite "are you guests at this hotel" to begin with would've been much nicer and wouldn't have made us feel terrible all throughout the taxi ride.

Ah well, people have bad days I guess but porters are the people at the front line, a bit more courtesy would've made our stay perfect.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to learn you enjoyed our luxurious and well appointed rooms, the newly upgraded WestinWORKOUT equipment, the beautifully designed lap pool and spa, and the quality of food offered at the buffet breakfast in our signature restaurant, Allegro. Rest assured we will pass on your comments regarding a better range of breakfast items. Finally, we are disappointed to learn of the less than satisfactory experience you encountered with one of our associates. This is certainly not the type of service we strive to offer our guests and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise. The limited taxi’s in Melbourne are a sense of frustration for our associates and for our guests as well. We will definitely share your review with our team and guide them to be aware with guest interactions. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne for an overall uplifting stay in every way. Until then, be well.

NB. May we just take this opportunity to mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is located excellently; it is central to all the shopping areas and has lots of eateries around it. The staff were extremely dedicated and were all very professional, efficient and friendly.

I loved the smiles that I received when I arrived, and the quick room service delivery timing. The room itself was pleasant, comfortable, and had a great selection of TV channels to watch. When I was bored, I took a stroll and quickly realized how close I was to some of the nicest shopping areas in Melbourne.

I would not choose any other hotel besides this one in Melbourne! Greatly recommended for all.

4/5 only because of quite a steep price.

Room Tip: City hotel, so no one particular room has a better view than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for posting such uplifting comments regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an overall fulfilling stay in every way. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our hotel’s unbeatable location, spacious and well appointed room features and our outstanding service that The Westin Melbourne is renowned for. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. Also, download the SPG app for your mobile device to stay updated on all the latest deals at our hotel and over 1100 other beautiful Starwood properties in the most sought after locations around the world. We look forward to the pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.