We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very good hotel for business trips situated right in the heart of Melbourne. Its the first Westin Hotel I've ever stayed in, but I think it lived up to what I had expected from the Westin brand name. Very swish elegant reception and lobby. The staff were a bit on the formal side but freindly enough. It has a nice gymn with a good selection of equipment. An indoor swimming pool with hot tub and a sauna and steam room. The room was a bit on the small side but the bed was very comfortable. There's quite a good view of the city from the restaurant on the first floor. The wi-fi service was patchy and is not free. You need the room card key to operate the lifts and the card reader in the lifts might of had a problem cos I always had a lot of trouble with one particular lift not recognising my card.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for staying with the Westin Brand. We have to mention that we are very proud to be working in such a beautiful hotel and you never tire from viewing the lobby and the magnificent staircase. In regards to our WestinWORKOUT facility, we have actually recently replaced all our Life Fitness equipment as it is a popular for our guests to be able to work out any time of the day and or night. We regret you had an issue with our Wi-Fi service as significant capital has been invested to ensure a fast and efficient WI-FI connection. Ideally it would be great to know your room number so we may follow up immediately as we do understand there is nothing worse than having an insufficient connection. We also apologise for frustration experienced regarding the lift card readers. This system although high tech, is very sensitive. We have viewed all the key lift inserts and found one to be faulty so this was replaced. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    287
    75
    29
    17
See reviews for
117
419
86
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, could have stay for longer but not impress with hotel. The check-in was just standard no love there. The staff was professional but not friendly or anything.

I booked the room directly with SPG site and there is 1.5% surcharge on the credit card transaction. Unfortunately that is the only method of payment this hotel accepted with online booking. (so why don't they add 1.5% in the room price to avoid any confusion) I would love to pay by paypal, EFT to avoid the 1.5% surcharge but that option is not available.

We got the room upgrade, which is great as it's sunday night. Although I can’t imagine what is the standard room would be like.

The room is rather small, However, great view and great location. Nice little balcony We called up for sewing kit and tooth brushes. As it's not provided in the room. Comfy bed, nice sheet and towels. But apart from that it's just a simple room. I thought the design could be a bit better, especially the room layout. We looked at the room service menu but there is $8 delivery fee if you order the room (example, coffee/tea $7.5 you have to pay $7.5+$8 for the delivery surcharge) I thought that is such a biggest rip off. Stayed at more than 100 hotels around the world. This is the first time I come across this surcharge.

Check in: 3pm Check out: 11am ... again, seem like this hotel do everything to benefit themselves not their guests.

Since there is nothing good to say, I really hope that the “superfood” breakfast will be amazing to claim the westin reputation back (impress me please!) Unfortunately, the staff again rather cold, The food is like a good 3 stars hotel. About 6 hot food items in Bain marine, which placed very high on the bench that I can't really grab the food, some item I have to jump up and down to see what it is. (I am not tall, just an average 1.6ish women, also saw other women on their tippy toes try to get food) There is not much going on for the breakfast, if your room not incl. breakfast it’s not worth paying $40 p.p. there is a fresh fruit platter, sliced square bread, you can order egg cook how to like it. Small cold cut platter. Few fruits juices. As far as buffet breakfast go… this is one of the worst breakfast I come across from SPG hotels. (oh the coffee is good though)

Room Tip: higher floor and room with balcony, facing the church the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear SPG Member. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our unsurpassed location in the Melbourne city and our signature room features such as the Heavenly Bed, bath amenities, and the Juliet balcony for fresh air and inspiring views. However, it appears simply there was not much else that you enjoyed and for this we apologise. To avoid the 1.5% credit card surcharge that is printed on every confirmation, you have the options to contact our reservation office to pay cash or Eftpos upon your arrival. For a requested earlier check in time, simply let us know prior to arrival so we can do all we can to assist however, it does depend on the room type you may have booked. We also noted your constructive comment regarding the room service delivery fee and our breakfast selections and service. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure. If you wish please contact the Hotel Front Office Manager for a further conversation on these matters. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during a recent work trip to Melbourne.
Pros:
- location: bang in the middle of everything, tram station is right outside, loads of shopping and eating options.
- room: we had a Westin workout room. Spacious and well appointed
- Service: staff were very friendly and helped us book a day tour to Phillip island with almost no notice!


Highly recommend the Westin Melbourne.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post such positive review- it’s always so pleasing to learn when guests enjoyed everything about our hotel and our location really is the best for everything you want to see and do whilst in Melbourne. We thank your comments regarding our personalised and instinctive service from our concierge department as they are simply magicians when it comes to booking tours, securing tickets and or booking fabulous popular restaurants at very short notice . We will make sure your comments are passed on. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed three nights as I was facilitating a conference at the hotel on the Wednesday. Room was good, bed incredibly comfortable, only the cleaning lacked. I pointed this out on the Tuesday to reception, a statement taken as fact but no apology or further comment, however, evidently the message went no-where. By the time I returned to the room there were still several places where you could write your name in the dust. Drinks coasters in the bath room were clearly days old and had a hair on them.
Once complaining I did get someone to clean, someone to check that the person had cleaned and then a couple of bottles of beer as an apology,
The bar was great for drinks but it would be nice to be left alone and free from staff continually trying to promote more drinks. Room Internet, where you need it to work was extra, although free in the lobby. In fact everything seemed to be an extra.
It is expensive and on reflection I'm not sure the location justifies the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, your feedback is very important to us . We are pleased you noticed our comfortable and well appointed rooms which we are renowned for, including the signature Westin Heavenly Bed. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered at The Westin Melbourne, particularly in regards to the cleanliness of your room, the internet connection and the service encountered in the Martini Bar. We work hard to ensure we deliver high standards of service that we are renowned for so we will certainly be investigating these matters further. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 6 years ago and went back but it has downgraded a bit. Staff not so friendly except for the doorman. Problem with the aircon in the room. Had to ask for bigger towels twice as we were 2 people and housekeeping kept on putting just 1 towel. Breakfast is bad value for money. You would expect fresh fruit in your bircher muesli at that price! Staff quite slow and no smiles. We went to the grand hyatt for lunch, far better!
Rooms are big and the beds are wonderfull. Location is perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, your feedback is very important to us . We are delighted you appreciated our unbeatable location and our larger and well appointed rooms which we are renowned for. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered at The Westin Melbourne, particularly in regards to the service you encountered and the breakfast offering. This is certainly not the type of service standards we uphold at our hotel and we will be investigating these matters further, in order to understand what went wrong. In regards to breakfast we have a new Executive Chef and he is reviewing our menu. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights; spacious room and bathroom; luxurious pillow top bed, extremely helpful, friendly staff; delicious meals especially the omelettes at breakfast made to your selection and cooked to perfection!
A fantastic venue for National Conference to show case the best of Melbourne : in a great location! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post such refreshing comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel’s brilliant location, instinctive service and the spacious and well appointed room features as such our signature Westin Heavenly Bed. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such an overall uplifting stay. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during the race carnival week. The service from Service Express, the consierges, restaurant and bar staff was very good. The staff always said hello in the hallways, elevators, lobby, etc. I consulted many times with the consierge for reservations, directions, advice etc and they were very thorough and professional. I was disappointed with the gym - the treadmills had the TV icon - but were not hooked up with TV. Usually Westin has good workout facilities. The location was very good. Rooms were modern, clean, very comfortable, good size. Bathroom had a nice deep tub and great rain shower. Very clean. We had an interior room that had NO VIEW what so ever. This was the "standard" room and they offered us a better room with a view - but we would have to change rooms mid stay. We did not want to do this. Would have been nice to have a view of any sort. Breakfast was included in our rate and we enjoyed a buffet breakfast every day with excellent service. If not included, the breakfast is $40 a head - pretty spendy for food that is not cooked to order. The coffee in the restaurant was great. Since it was race week they invited us to a private champagne brunch on Melbourne Cup day - and I wanted to bring my friend who was staying at the Intercontinential hotel nearby. No problem having 3 people at the brunch. VERY nice touch! I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Melbourne. We are thrilled you appreciated our instinctive and personalised service as well as the well appointed room features. Our Melbourne Cup day brunch, sponsored by Moet, is one of our most exciting annual events at the hotel and it is our pleasure to offer you and your friends a refreshing experience on such an occasion. We sincerely regret any disappointment you experienced regarding the outlook of your room and the gym facilities in WestinWORKOUT. Should you choose to stay with us again, you may wish to consider reserving a popular City View room that offers impressive views. However, at times availability is limited so please do book ahead. May we also just mention that we are upgrading all our Life Fitness equipment in the WestinWORKOUT gym (open 24 hrs) on Monday the 25th of November. We are delighted to hear that you will be recommending our hotel and we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.