We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location, great rooms & friendly staff. Look forward to returning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent location, great rooms & friendly staff. Look forward to returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Westin Melbourne for 4 hours to rest after catching the red-eye flight from Perth to attend the AFL Grand Final - it proved to be the perfect place to catch some well-deserved rest and recharge the batteries ahead of a whirlwind football match and flight back home again that evening. We used Starwood points from our SPG Gold to cover a full night’s accommodation, which proved worthwhile as the daily rack rates effectively double for this highly demanded weekend of the year. We checked in at 6.30am and were granted a late 1pm checkout. The hotel has an impressive entry drive which consists of a wide cobblestoned covered laneway running between Collins St and Flinders Lane in the heart of the city, but as is always expected from a Westin hotel, you disembark your vehicle to enter a quiet and peaceful oasis with their distinctively calming white tea aroma. The location is perfect for access to Melbourne City – the full glass windows of the lobby overlook the City Square, and you are surrounded by major shops, restaurants and quaint arcades with cafes. All the city sights are within walking distance, and the MCG is an easy and well signposted 15 minute walk away. All the staff from the doormen, check-in/out and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Whilst we opted for a standard Westin room, it was incredibly spacious and beautifully furnished. The blockout curtains were great (even though the view across the lane to the Church was lovely and it was a shame to draw the curtains against it) and the Westin Heavenly Beds are divinely comfortable - we fell asleep the minute our heads hit the pillows to wake up feeling well refreshed. The bathroom was very spacious consisting of a good sized bath and shower, and double vanity. There was also great robe space, a nice large writing desk, good mood and bright lighting options, and comfy lounge chairs. The spa menu looked great, although I did not get to try it in light of our brief stay. Overall, we were most impressed by our brief stay at this convenient and lovely hotel. So much so, that my husband (who has previously always stayed at the Park Hyatt) has now decided to make the Westin his new first choice for his regular business trips to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book well in advance when there are major sporting events (eg AFL Grand Final, Cup Racing Events, F1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer and valued SPG member. Thank you for such positive and detailed feedback. We are pleased that you and your husband had such a restful and uplifting stay in every way, even if it was for only half a day. We see you made use of our enviable location, close to the MCG for the AFL grand final you came to Melbourne for, and that you enjoyed our luxurious room features, such as the signature Heavenly Bed which is all a part of the Westin experience. We also see you noticed our spacious rooms and bathrooms, which we are so well known for at The Westin Melbourne. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T's & C's apply). We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne in the near future. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    283
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
406
84
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What can I say? Westin Sydney last weekend, Westin Melbourne this weekend! Great location, and same clean, consistent look and feel. I think the rooms in Melbourne were slightly bigger. The lovely doorman (who has worked there for nine years) claimed he remembered us from previous visits! Even if he was just being pleasant it was still a lovely comment. Easy check in. Everything was service with a smile. We were going to see "King Kong" (which I would highly recommend) and the theatre was right next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer and valued Westin guest. We are pleased to hear you and your partner had such a memorable stay with us last weekend. We are certainly well known for our unsurpassed location and larger sized hotel rooms and accompanying bathrooms. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. Thank you also for your comment on our doorman. He certainly is a favorite amongst our guests for his personable manner. We will make sure we pass on the feedback. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent the weekend at this hotel for my sister's wedding. We had booked more than 10 rooms as a group and the Westin had accommodated all of our specific requests. Hotel rooms are very big and amazing. Beds are heavenly, bathrooms are luxurious.
Our group of 35 had dinner at the Allegro restaurant. It was organised on very short notice, yet they accommodated us all. Food was delicious.
Location was very convenient. Valet was expensive at $50, but there is a reasonably priced parking lot just outside the entrance.
We all had an amazing say at The Westin, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. Thank you for your positive review on our hotel. We are delighted that you and your family chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. The uncompromising location and large and luxurious rooms are what we are well known for - the Westin’s Heavenly Bed certainly lives up to its name. We will be sure to pass your positive feedback regarding your dining experience at Allegro onto the restaurant team. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise well it was all and more room was tops and spacious beautiful comfortable bed quiet all amenities were lovely location was perfect as we were going to King Kong very short stroll . We have stayed here on previous occasions and never disappointed.
Breakfast in restaurant was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. We are delighted hear that you and your husband chose to stay with us last weekend. It is always so pleasing to hear that our guests have had such a pleasant stay. We are also glad that you noticed our generously sized rooms and bathroom’s. The luxurious in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, ensure our guests have a refreshing stay. During your next visit, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed the location. The rooms are large as are the bathrooms and nicely appointed, however we found the heavenly bed to soft for our liking. Parking is quite expensive at $50 a night and the only offer valet parking and off street parking is not a available here. This hotel compares favorably with any other 5 star hotel such as the Sofitel which is two blocks up and I would recommend it for an enjoyable stay in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our uncompromising location and large and well appointed rooms that we are well known for. It may be worth mentioning that the Westin’s signature Heavenly Bed is available in a firmer option, which you may wish to request upon your next visit. Also, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

House wine flat. Mean with canapes. Slow in serving water. Not very friendly service.

Female toilet was dirty !!!!!!!! Bin overflowed with used hand towels !!!!! Two out of three cubicles were filthy !!! :((

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. We sincerely apologise for the disappointing experiences you encountered. We assure you that this is not a reflection of the typical level of service we strive to offer at The Westin Melbourne and we will be investigate the situation further with the relevant departments. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel for a much more uplifting experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time at the Westin, having a break from our usual Melbourne hotel. Enjoyed our stay in a Spa Suite. Wonderful light filled room with views over the city. Loved the huge bathroom. As other reviewers have noted, great location for shopping and access to the CBD, not to mention the excellent restaurants in the Flinders lane precinct. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We considered the breakfast buffet underwhelming but enjoyed the tapas and drinks in the Martini Bar.

Room Tip: Spa suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. We are delighted to hear that you recently chose to try The Westin Melbourne and that you had an overall uplifting stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location and large and well appointed rooms that we are so well known for. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet are well noted and with the recent appointment of a new executive chef, a review of the breakfast menu is a priority. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.