We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin consistency part 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Urban Retreat from $270
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Westin consistency part 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What can I say? Westin Sydney last weekend, Westin Melbourne this weekend! Great location, and same clean, consistent look and feel. I think the rooms in Melbourne were slightly bigger. The lovely doorman (who has worked there for nine years) claimed he remembered us from previous visits! Even if he was just being pleasant it was still a lovely comment. Easy check in. Everything was service with a smile. We were going to see "King Kong" (which I would highly recommend) and the theatre was right next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer and valued Westin guest. We are pleased to hear you and your partner had such a memorable stay with us last weekend. We are certainly well known for our unsurpassed location and larger sized hotel rooms and accompanying bathrooms. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. Thank you also for your comment on our doorman. He certainly is a favorite amongst our guests for his personable manner. We will make sure we pass on the feedback. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    351
    93
    36
    20
See reviews for
152
537
98
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent the weekend at this hotel for my sister's wedding. We had booked more than 10 rooms as a group and the Westin had accommodated all of our specific requests. Hotel rooms are very big and amazing. Beds are heavenly, bathrooms are luxurious.
Our group of 35 had dinner at the Allegro restaurant. It was organised on very short notice, yet they accommodated us all. Food was delicious.
Location was very convenient. Valet was expensive at $50, but there is a reasonably priced parking lot just outside the entrance.
We all had an amazing say at The Westin, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. Thank you for your positive review on our hotel. We are delighted that you and your family chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. The uncompromising location and large and luxurious rooms are what we are well known for - the Westin’s Heavenly Bed certainly lives up to its name. We will be sure to pass your positive feedback regarding your dining experience at Allegro onto the restaurant team. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise well it was all and more room was tops and spacious beautiful comfortable bed quiet all amenities were lovely location was perfect as we were going to King Kong very short stroll . We have stayed here on previous occasions and never disappointed.
Breakfast in restaurant was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. We are delighted hear that you and your husband chose to stay with us last weekend. It is always so pleasing to hear that our guests have had such a pleasant stay. We are also glad that you noticed our generously sized rooms and bathroom’s. The luxurious in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, ensure our guests have a refreshing stay. During your next visit, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed the location. The rooms are large as are the bathrooms and nicely appointed, however we found the heavenly bed to soft for our liking. Parking is quite expensive at $50 a night and the only offer valet parking and off street parking is not a available here. This hotel compares favorably with any other 5 star hotel such as the Sofitel which is two blocks up and I would recommend it for an enjoyable stay in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our uncompromising location and large and well appointed rooms that we are well known for. It may be worth mentioning that the Westin’s signature Heavenly Bed is available in a firmer option, which you may wish to request upon your next visit. Also, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

House wine flat. Mean with canapes. Slow in serving water. Not very friendly service.

Female toilet was dirty !!!!!!!! Bin overflowed with used hand towels !!!!! Two out of three cubicles were filthy !!! :((

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. We sincerely apologise for the disappointing experiences you encountered. We assure you that this is not a reflection of the typical level of service we strive to offer at The Westin Melbourne and we will be investigate the situation further with the relevant departments. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel for a much more uplifting experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time at the Westin, having a break from our usual Melbourne hotel. Enjoyed our stay in a Spa Suite. Wonderful light filled room with views over the city. Loved the huge bathroom. As other reviewers have noted, great location for shopping and access to the CBD, not to mention the excellent restaurants in the Flinders lane precinct. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We considered the breakfast buffet underwhelming but enjoyed the tapas and drinks in the Martini Bar.

Room Tip: Spa suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. We are delighted to hear that you recently chose to try The Westin Melbourne and that you had an overall uplifting stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location and large and well appointed rooms that we are so well known for. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet are well noted and with the recent appointment of a new executive chef, a review of the breakfast menu is a priority. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3,017 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,426 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is perfect for most trips to Melbourne - ideally located in the centre of town close to shopping, restaurants, theatre,etc. This trip was a footy trip and it was close to Federation Square for the morning show, could watch the players parade right outside the hotel and an easy walk to the MCG - all you could ask for - so much easier than the stadiums in Sydney.
Luxurious and stylish rooms,comfortable beds, easy to sleep; a great swimming pool and a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your review. Our location is certainly unbeatable along with our personable service and the very large and well appointed rooms. Grand final weekend is a great time to be in Melbourne as the city comes alive with the team colours. The swimming pool is visually certainly something special and it is very popular amongst our guests along with the steam and sauna rooms. Don’t forget the Westin Workout gym is open 24hrs for that late night workout. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.