We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in the heart of the arts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EASTER RETREAT from $290
Ranked #16 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great stay in the heart of the arts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Westin hotels are not always fabulous, except well located, but the one in Melbourne is always a pleasure to return to. Price is fair if you go online, there is gym, pool, steam room and the rooms are light. Everything for the Ars festivals is all around.

Room Tip: do check the motif.com for price variations and ask for a light room on the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We certainly have to agree with your title “Heart of Arts” as there is always so much to see and do in our fabulous city. There is an upcoming Melbourne festival celebration in October with a total of 105 events and activities including contemporary and classical music, dance and theatre, visual arts, film, forums, conversations and encounters – all at 45 venues around the city – see more detail at http://www.melbournefestival.com.au. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again to explore Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    260
    64
    26
    14
See reviews for
108
373
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It has been more than 15 years since we have stayed at the Westin, Melbourne having decided to work our way through other 5-star Melbourne hotels instead. An evening function called us to the central part of the city and the convenient location was the main drawcard. Valet parking was easy, check-in was a breeze and a sparkling wine in the lobby lounge relaxed us enough to truly enjoy the function we attended. As many others have mentioned, the rooms are large, spotlessly clean and equipped with first class linen, furniture and accoutrements. Breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable, although the serving area was a little cramped. Overall, the Westin is an exceptional hotel, convenient and first class - truly a great stay in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. Our rooms are certainly known for their size and it is with these signature Westin features and service standards that we are able to offer our guests a revitalizing stay. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My stay at the Westin was short, just overnight in order to attend business meetings. As I did not spend much time at the hotel I cannot provide comment on the general amenities, or value given I was not paying myself! (always a bonus).

Having said that, the check in and check out processes were excellent and all of the staff I came in contact with were helpful. I had left my overnight bag with reception when checking in before the room was ready and was told it would be in my room when I returned. It wasn't but was brought up within a few minutes of me letting them know.

The rooms are huge. There is an amazingly comfortable bed and chair and office furniture and still the room did not feel crowded at all. The bathroom was larger than most entire hotel rooms I have stayed in, extremely well appointed with a double vanity, bath separate from the shower (where I spent some time deciding which shower head to use - rainforest or usual). I was on a lower floor so there was no view, but for my purposes that did not matter.

Location is great. Smack bang in the theatre area, a very short walk from the Bourke Street shopping Mall and Flinders St Station, and nearby to many cafe's and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5. Finally, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my first stay at the Westin in Melbourne. Based on this stay, it's a slightly below average 5 star hotel (which makes it very good on an absolute comparison). Good sized room, comfortably appointed and quiet. All you need for an overnight business trip. Long corridors, though, and some rooms such as the one I had are a long walk from the lift. And I looked out onto nothing in particular, just the entry passage which Kevin Rudd's entourage made quite noisy first thing in the morning. Many other rooms would look out onto City Square and have much better views, but might be a little noisier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We thank you fot taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. May we mention that there are two sets of guest lifts, the north and south end lifts, and we apologize you were not informed. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here with my Melbourne University student daughter for 3 nights. She checked in for us after class, the room was absolutely perfect with 2 very comfortable queen beds, a huge bathroom and plenty of space for suitcases, shopping and phone/ ipad chargers. King Kong was right next door, and tram-stops or city shopping only seconds away. Next time I go to visit her, we will stay here again, and will book in a spa day for us both!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to learn your stay us was so memorable. It certainly sounds like you made the most of our enviable location, amongst all the best that Melbourne city has to offer. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms and our signature Heavenly Bed provides a comfortable and revitalizing night’s sleep. The bed linen can actually be purchased through the hotel and there is currently 25% off until the end of December. Prior to your next stay, please contact our concierge so we may organise the in room massage for you and your daughter. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We don't normally spend as much on accommodation as we did for this hotel but it was worth it. I had notified the Westin that we were in town for my husband's 50th and they upgraded our room and when we got to the room there was a plate with chocolates on it and happy birthday piped on it in chocolate. Nice touch. Started the weekend off on a fantastic note. Can't say enough about the location and service. The beds and shower definitely lived up to the hype. I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer. We are thrilled that you and your husband chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to share your refreshing comments. We are delighted you appreciated our personable and instinctive service and that you enjoyed the signature in room features that we are so well known for. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future for another special celebration. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Exceptionally well-appointed rooms with grand bathrooms, but the icing on the cake was the central location. Easy to meet guests in the lobby and go from here; lots happening in the area and easy walking distance to attractions, events and dining. Service was fantastic!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first guest floor have balconies overlooking the square - highly recommended!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted the family enjoyed the unbeatable central location, the stunning city views, the signature room features and our impeccable service. The deluxe rooms with a Juliet balcony are always very popular and are located on 3 sides of the Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne Hotel
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin
Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.