We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoppers will love the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Shoppers will love the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am not a shopper on vacations but there is shopping abound in this area. The hotel was as expected for Westin (with noted exception for Sydney). The location was good for shoppers and museum buffs. We walk where we go so we felt that we could easily walk to locations such as Fitzroy Gardens. We did use the bar lounge on two nights and enjoyed the duck rolls. I didn't think the salt and pepper calamari was all that spectacular but the zucchini fries were tasty. They sold a combo of the three for $26 which wasn't that bad given it was not only Australia but also a Westin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing the Westin for your city getaway. Our central location is certainly perfect for shopping in addition to Melbourne’s theatres and restaurants. We will also pass your inspiring comments regarding the Martini Bar to our Chefs. As an SPG member, receive 15% off food in our distinctive venues; please enquire with our associates on your next visit if you’re not already a member. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent the night at The Westin as we had a function at The Plaza Ballroom. Location was fantastic, Valet Parking a breeze and staff couteous and friendly. The room was beatifully appointed with everyting you could ask for. It was spacious for a City Hotel and the Bed was to die for. Had a wonderful nights sleep and an even better experience in the morning by having a glorious hot bath with lots of lovely smelling accessories. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and recommending us to others. We are pleased you enjoyed our instinctive service, signature Heavenly facilities and our unsurpassed location close to all Melbourne has to offer. We strive to provide guests with personal service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have consistently fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had High Tea here in July 2013 with a girlfriend. We had an amazing time, wonderful from beginning to end. Our three tier tray was full of beautiful bounty that we managed to work our way through aided by a glass of champers & of course tea!! Great view overlooking Swanston Street & a relaxing library feel setting. Staff very courteous & attentive, excellent value can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We appreciate you recommending our Contemporary High Tea experience to others and will ensure your comments are passed on to our associates. We do try to build a culture of continuous communication amongst all our departments and most of all, deliver caring service which is memorable. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont Hills
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Central to all activities you want to experience in Melbourne the luxury Westin had everything you needed at your fingertips and the smiling service went with it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious and beds are very comfortable. The restaurant (food, wines and service) was terrific, as was the lobby bar. We noted that nothing was too much trouble to do for you and or ask for, the staff volunteered to show us and others where you go, and what else you may want to see. The Shopping centres and theatres/cinemas are within walking distance to the hotel, as is the gallery, museum and train stations and a palethra of good restaurants. We immensely enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely return on our next visit to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book a room on the road side and ask for a higher level floor, if you like to see the hussle and bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are thrilled you enjoyed a fulfilling stay in every way and your special experiences will bring you back to The Westin Melbourne in the future. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all of our dining venues (T& C’s apply). Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On our annual visit to Melbourne - this time to view the "Monet" exhibition, our return stay at the Westin lived up to expectations. It's location is great - unbeatable for Melbourne city shopping - the rooms are large, well and tastefully furnished, great bathrooms and a superbly comfortable king bed. Breakfasts are great - although at $40 per head - a little pricey. The staff are friendly and efficient although the Lobby Bar seems a little understaffed and service can be very slow at times. Regrettably free Wi Fi is not available in the rooms - and in this day and age, I cannot understand why this is not part of major hotels' service especially as small motels seem to be able to offer it. In addition, when accounts need to be settled by credit card, the surcharge seems a little petty and annoying especially as major hotel chains managed to "cope" without it for many years.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for city view rooms - otherwise you will just be looking at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are delighted you experienced a fulfilling stay at The Westin Melbourne and visiting our wonderful city. We were disappointed to learn of the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered in the Lobby Lounge. This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team. Our in-room internet is one of the fastest in town and guest can connect up to three devices at the same time at a minimal fee of $5 per hour. As an alternative, guests are welcome to use the complimentary internet in public areas, as well as desktop computers in the Business Centre. Please be advised the credit card surcharge is a common industry practice amongst 5 Star hotels in Melbourne and the greater Australian Hotel Industry. We accept alternative method of payments where the fee would not apply, for example EFTPOS and Cash. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, AUS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What else can I say? I had a most wonderful stay at The Westin Melbourne. The room was very clean, the bed so comfy and I had a very nice city-view room. I checked in at 10am (too early I know) and I was pleased to hear that a room was already available for me. The staff were genuinely pleased to have me as a guest, especially the man who was manning the main front door (I didn't catch his name, unfortunately). Breakfast at the Allegro was good. It had a decent amount of choices for brekky. I ordered room service on my last night and the food was delivered less than the 30 minutes they told me. Food was reasonably priced, no different to other hotels that I've stayed in.

Overall, I loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a city-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted we were able to assist with an early check-in and you enjoyed a relaxing sleep in your Heavenly® Bed. We pride ourselves on providing instinctive service and are thrilled to read our associates continue to provide memorable experiences for our guests. We will pass on your inspiring comments to the entire team and perhaps on your next visit you could return for Allegro’s unique platter dining experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A good location for those inclined to shop and also a very nicely restored building. The concierge service and service express really do a great job at this hotel. The gym is reasonable as well as the pool set up. The cocktail bar serves some great cocktails and has a nice feel about it.

Rooms are new and well maintained. The only issue I had was powerpoints were in weird locations. Other than that I would recommend this for anyone looking for a great location and well run hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location to explore the attractions our city has to offer. You will be thrilled to hear we are currently developing plans to refresh some of our public spaces including the Westin WORKOUT room and our signature restaurant, Allegro which will ensure long-term viability of the hotel. We have noted your comment on the power points. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our food and beverage offerings in the Martini Bar. SPG also offers 15% off food in all F&B venues (T&C’s apply). If you are not already an SPG member, please enquire on your next stay and or log onto our website. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.