We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Central location with everything Melbourne has to offer on the door step. The hotel is excellent and in the perfect position for what we wanted. The rooms were great and the service was high standard. Lovely staff with caring attitude. The food I loved the most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are delighted you experienced a fulfilling stay in every way. If you are not already a SPG member, we encourage you to enquire on your next visit so you may enjoy a range of inspiring travel rewards and earn Starpoints when staying or dining with us. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    282
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
405
84
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently went for a working holiday in Melbourne for 5 days. My company booked me at Westin which was great as it was located in the city center.

The minute I stepped out of the airport, I was greeted by the friendliest Towncar Driver and had the best first class service on the way to the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that I paid a very reasonable price so I decided to book my business trips & city tour with Towncars as well.To top it off, they use hybrid cars in support of a sustainable environment which is very appealing to me as a greenie.The transport company is called Towncars - highly recommended because they don’t charge for tolls or for waiting in traffic.

The hotel was exceptionally cozy too. I slept in the most luxurious and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in a long time. The staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much of a bother. Breakfast is nice considering they have so many healthy options. I was informed by the hotel concierge that King Kong was showing at the theatre next door. Who says you cannot mix business with pleasure? I would definitely stay with Westin again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This time when staying at the Westin I decided to get a room with a treadmill in it facing Collins Street. The room also had a rather large balcony that could be used to sit outside. I enjoy the Westin Melbourne, as a get away. If you are driving I would recommend a deal that includes parking as it now costs $50 for valet parking each night. This is not the hotels fault but the excessive fees the parking lot provider charges.

Back to the hotel and the lobby is a nice little place to sit and watch the world pass by. Nice food is on offer from three different places from the Lobby Lounge, Martini bar and signature restaurant Allegro. Even if there is nothing on the menu you want they usually are happy to cook something from the main kitchen and serve it.

Staff are always accommodating and happy to answer any requests. Their suggestions also for dinner are pretty good.

Rooms are nice. Ones facing Elizabeth Street have nice little balconies and views of the cathedral next door and the night lights of the city. The rooms are extremely comfortable and represent all that is good about Westin hotels: bed, atmosphere, bathrooms, amenities, comfort. Avoid getting rooms facing the rear of the property on the lower floors as the literally look into a brick wall and would feel rather claustrophobic. My only little gripe would be the poor design of shower screens where water pools on the outside of the shower door in the bathroom area. However the rain shower head makes up for this little issue.

The hotel is perfectly located to attend all theatre shows and is a stones throw to the Paris end of town shops and only a short walk to China Town if that takes your fancy. Finally, the breakfast whilst not providing a large variety is still very nice and worth adding to a planned stay

Room Tip: close to everything in the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have previously stayed at the Novotel on Collins - but, this is our new favourite Hotel. We go to Melbourne once or twice a year. The location is good - even though it is right next to the Chanel store (not good when the wife is in a shopping mood, to walk past Chanel all the time)
But, from the Bar to the Lounge to the rooms - this is several steps above Novotel for not much more money. Sorry Novotel you've lost us.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 10 years and came back again . It's a good hotel , nice bars and lobby - friendly staff . Negatives would be not a great choice on the breakfast buffet and you have to pay for Wi Fi in your room . It's 2013 and the Internet is a commodity like water in the taps. Felt a little ripped off

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you experienced a refreshing stay with our personal service and distinctive dining venues. We thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our breakfast selections and we are always trying new items to keep it fresh. Guest room internet charges are consistent with similar five star hotels and alternatively we also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We visit melbourne every July as a family trip. We have stayed at the marriott and stamford previously. The Westin is definately the best for location, service, cleanliness. I cannot fault this hotel. As beautiful as the stamford and marriott are, this hotels location cannot be beaten. Everything is right at your doorstep. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are modem and spacious. The indoor pool/spa was well used by our 2 girls, possibly there favourite part of the holiday. This will now be our choice of accom in melbourne. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Martini Bar was absolutely aweseome. Had the best martini, drinks arrived right on time without having to wait too long. Service was great, friendly and attentive. Ambiance was more awesome. Quiet, even when the bar was 60% full. Staff was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.