We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with a show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #21 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weekend with a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, friendly service, clean rooms, great location, excellent breakfast! Parking was easy with valet service at the door. We wanted to go for dinner at a nice restaurant, concierge was very helpful and rang around last minute and found us a great booking for dinner close to hotel

Room Tip: You should not have too many issues with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our instinctive service, luxurious facilities and our enviable location close to all Melbourne has to offer. We are delighted you enjoyed a refreshing start to your stay with our SuperfoodsRX breakfast. We strive to provide guests with personal service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have consistently fulfilled your expectations. Please also note, our Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program offers benefits for frequent travelers. If you are not already an SPG member, please enquire on your next stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    287
    74
    29
    17
See reviews for
117
418
86
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Westin is extremely centrally located and is an excellent choice for visiting Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and have all the facilities you'd expect. There is a terrific gym, a nice bar, and the staff are welcoming and warm. The concierge as well were very helpful.

Hard to go wrong really.

Room Tip: Half the hotel has no view, so rooms at the front of the hotel facing the street are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our refreshing Wellness centre, distinctive dining venues and location surrounded by Melbourne’s finest attractions. We will certainly also pass on your kind comments to the Concierge team regarding the attentive service we provided. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the Westin and it was excellent. We had adjoining rooms for 3 adults and a 2 year old. The rooms were a good size and well appointed, apart from the beds, which we didn't much like (couldn't decide whether they were saggy or just too soft). It was very clean. The location is hard to beat, close to everything. The staff were friendly and helpful, right down to dealing with a noisy, active two year old. This is a repeat visit for us and we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We had 702 and 703. Rooms on the Collins St side get the sunrise and better views, the other looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to our hotel. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and delighted to read our associates were perceptive and instinctive to your needs. Please be advised when returning, may ask you to contact the hotel directly because we do have a selection of beds for guests who require slightly extra support in a mattress and we will note this in your profile for future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Westin on Collins Street in Melbourne. A block away from Federation Square and Findler's Station. Close by to Southern Cross rail station. Down the street from China Town and Greek Town. Even close enough to walk to the Footy in Melbourne Cricket Ground. Stayed twice. Staff is very helpful and polite. Room was very comfy. Service was excellent. Concierge was very helpful. Food was excellent. Highly recommend stay! Try the White Rabbit Ale (local beer) in the Martini Bar. Used the Spa services and the gym. Well equipped. Nice Sauna. Nice lap pool. All very good and clean. Very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Book with the breakfast upgrade and look for a discount on WiFi which can be expensive at 20 AUD per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such delightful feedback regarding your recent visit. We are pleased you experienced a fulfilling stay in every way and you enjoyed our central location amongst all Melbourne has to offer. We will ensure your comments are passed to our Concierge associates. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Melbourne recently on a Saturday night as we were attending a function in the city. If you have stayed at a Westin before, you will feel at home. They all seem quite similar. This can be reassuring to travellers, particularly if you are weary! The location is right in the heart of the CBD and is surrounded by shops, restaurants, theatres and plenty to do and see. it is on the corner of Collins and Swanston Streets, both of which have trams, and Flinders Street Station is just a block or so away if you want to catch trains.

The room service menu is comprehensive, and they have a very good breakfast buffet downstairs in the restaurant, where you can have an excellent omelette made freshly to your taste. They also have a lovely Martini Bar with a terrace. The staff are generally very good, although we did have an issue with our booking, but we think that came down to the person who had taken the reservation (not that thats an excuse). Beware of the valet parking fee of $50 a day. Either try to get it included in your package or seek parking elsewhere.

All in all, a very pleasant and convenient place to stay in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you experienced a warm Westin welcome and enjoyed our central location. Regarding your car parking comments, our valet parking for $50 per night is certainly a convenient option. As an alternative option, there is also a public car park underneath the hotel for self-car parking. We sincerely regret any inconveniences you experienced with your booking and glad we could help you resolved it prior to your departure. Thank you for your delightful feedback regarding your dining experiences, this will certainly be shared with the food and beverage team as inspiration to continue providing personal, distinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for another special stay in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

On the whole we should have loved this hotel. It is as well placed as any in Melbourne, you can walk almost anywhere and the rooms are really sizeable and comfortable, we even had a balcony which was great. The pool area is also excellent and a real plus in a City Centre.
But...we arrived at 3am. The hotel knew this would happen. The doors were locked, the only staff member on the phone. Without our Emirates Chauffeurs we would have been scuppered. When we finally checked in and opened the locked doors to get our luggage in with the help of our Chauffeurs the bell boy had disappeared. Not impressed.
But...we also ate breakfast in the hotel on our last morning. Disaster, poor choices and food that made us very ill. No wonder they had a half price deal on! Annoyingly we were on our way to Sydney as illness struck so we had no means of complaining to the hotel. A great shame as it really should have been such a good hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room but remember to ask for a key when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback. It is disappointing your stay did not meet your expectations. In the case of after-hours access, our front doors are locked to ensure the security of our guests and large signage is displayed for entry instructions. Please be assured we strive to provide high quality, inspiring varieties using fresh, seasonal produce thus we are deeply troubled to hear about your breakfast experience at our hotel. We wish we can provide you with a reason as to why and we have reviewed our recent Hotel Logs and was unable to find any similar events recorded in our system to match your comments. With regards to the half price deal, we do offer a special rate to all in-house guests to experience our breakfast. Please feel free to reach out to our Food & Beverage Manager with your contact details so we obtain more details. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, and even Etihad Stadium if your trip involves a sporting event in Melbourne. It is also close to Southern Cross, a bus/train station, and a block from Federation Square. You can walk to many Melbourne attractions from the hotel, and given its central location, there are many restaurants within walking distance.

The room is clean, modern and spacious, and even though our room faced Swanston Street, we were not bothered by street noises. The breakfast food is plentiful, with freshly baked pastries, fruits, and eggs prepared on order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you experienced a renewing stay with our luxurious rooms and central location amongst some of Melbourne’s finest attractions. We thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.