We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Home away home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having travelled extensively thru out the world the Westin in Melbourne is one of the best the staff a great and remember you location is fantastic no other choice for me when i come to Melbourne.The only thing is that i have stayed here more than 20 times and have never been upgraded to a suite.

Room Tip: higher floor or away from collin st can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are delighted you experienced the personal and instinctive service Westin is renowned for. We sincerely value your loyalty and do try to upgrade our guests to a higher category room whenever possible. If you are not already a SPG member, we encourage you to enquire on your next visit so you may enjoy a range of inspiring travel rewards and earn Starpoints when staying or dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    307
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A trip to Melbourne wouldnt be the same if I wasnt staying at the Westin.

This is one of my favourite hotels in the world.

Location is ideal. Grand lobby. Nice place to have afternoon tea and watch the passers by.

Love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our refreshing facilities and our enviable location close to all Melbourne has to offer. We appreciate you recommending our Contemporary High Tea experience to others and would like to mention we have seasonal menus. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service is very good at this hotel and the rooms are lovely. The location also is the best - just by Fed Square and in the heart of the CBD, surrounded by wonderful restaurants. It is only a short walk to Flinders Lane. My only grouse is that they charge for Wi Fi. This really should be a free service in all hotels, yet many international hotels are still trying to make extra bucks from this. I thought the Heavenly Bed was comfortable, but not everyone in my group shared my view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your special comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and spacious, comfortable facilities. May we request if family do comment on the softness of the bed, to contact our hotel and in-house reservations for their mattress preference and we will place the comments on a guest profile for all future stays. Please note as an alternative to guest room Internet, the hotel offers complimentary wireless in public areas, as well as desktop computers in the Business Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another 5 star experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very comfortable bed and pillows. Great service and friendly staff. Convenient location. Spacious, clean and well furnished rooms. Overall a great business hotel which provides great quality of comfort. Will defintely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you experienced a refreshing stay with our unsurpassed location. Guests are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly Bed range. Please contact us directly for more information and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location is in the heart of the City. We stayed in a deluxe room facing the station on the
7th floor. The service is excellent and both Concierges are outstanding helpful and friendly.
Check in was efficient and friendly.
The buffet breakfast is like in all Australian Hotels, very English. We missed better bread and
not only toast and "Australian" muffin. The coffee is not like European standard, but this
is all over Australia.
If we come back to Melbourne we will stay again at the Westin and hope the mattress will
be not so soft like we had.

Room Tip: 7th floor with the view to the Station is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your special feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our refreshing facilities and instinctive service. We appreciate your feedback regarding bread selections in our gourmet SuperfoodsRX buffet breakfast. We are always happy to assist with your personal bedding preferences so please contact us directly prior to your next arrival to ensure a completely fulfilling stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our stay was of two nights during our NZ/Aus trip and we consider this Westin to be one of the highlights out of the places we slept. It actually delivered everything one could want from a luxury hotel visiting the city for the first time. Location allowed us to walk to every place we planned to see. Inside it was very elegant with luxury and boutique feel which we very appreciated. Room itself was huge with one of the biggest bathrooms we have seen down under. Everything very clean and in very good condition. Except the bed which was unfortunately too soft and whats more broken to one side so I kept sliding. Not very good. Oh and the view! Out to the cathedral, very nice. We have been offered discounted fee for breakfast which we happily used during both mornings, and it was very good with every necessary item and more. And last but not least as almost everywhere in Australia the staff was just excellent. Westin Melbourne really impressed us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your delightful comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is inspiring to read your comments regarding our luxurious facilities, distinctive dining venue and unsurpassed location. Our spacious guest rooms are also certainly amongst the largest in Melbourne. We hope to have you staying with us in the future and may we request you contact the hotel directly to discuss your bedding preferences. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I like the Westin as it's usually very minimalistic and great for business travel. I have to say that this Westin really stood out. The lobby looks like it was a 5-star luxury hotel. Location is extremely convenient for both tourists or business people - you can walk everywhere or take the tram. The rooms are also amazingly large - in fact, I think this is the first time I actually didn't mind being in a hotel room instead of exploring the city. Your usual Westin amenities are all available.

The staff at this hotel are simply superb - very friendly, helpful, knows their city very well and tries and succeeds in anticipating needs.

Was told that the food at the restaurant is so-so, but there is a Starbucks and Brunetti's right below the hotel, so no need to worry about breakfast options, which are cheaper than the hotels. Lots of great food in Melbourne too so lack of a great restaurant is no big deal.

The only downside is noise. I could hear people signing, garbage trucks collecting trash all throughout the night and I was already on a higher floor (with a balcony). Perhaps double glaze windows needs to be installed?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for sharing comments regarding your Westin experience. We strive to provide guests with personal, instinctive service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have consistently fulfilled your expectations. Just to let you know, all of our guest rooms have double-glazed windows however we are sorry to hear about the noise you had to deal with during the night and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Regarding your comments on our dining venues, we strive to provide high quality, inspiring menu options using fresh, seasonal produce so it is disappointing to read you did not experience it. May we mention SPG members now receive 15% off food in our Food & Beverage venues as a permanent benefit (T&C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.