We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Available Rate!
Ranked #14 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Well located. Good rooms - we were upgraded
Staff helpful
Highly Reccomended
Our room had a nice view of the square
If your room was across the corridor - not so great
Beds very soft but comfortable
The lobby bar closes at 12 but you can still order drinks if you stay in house

Xxx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you experienced the personal and instinctive service Westin is renowned for. Please be assured your special comment is passed onto all our associates. We do try to build a culture of continuous communication amongst all our departments and most of all, deliver caring service that is memorable. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    367
    95
    38
    20
See reviews for
163
560
101
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the classy martini bar to the "heavenly" beds, this is my favourite hotel to stay at. I've stayed here many times but I enjoyed my last stay the most. I booked a room as a surprise for my wife's birthday. We were greeted with a room upgrade and she received chocolate and a card from management wishing her a happy birthday.
The location of the hotel is perfect, situated at the Paris end of Collins St with close proximity to Federation square, designer shops and the Bourke St mall.
Can't recommend this hotel enough, but get in early as it fills quickly and the price goes up, however this is pretty common I've found with the Starwood hotels.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel (City View Room on Collins or Swanston), the Westin roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing the Westin for your wifes birthday recently. We feel inspired we are able to consistently satisfy your expectations with our personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great business hotel in a great location. High quality rooms, great food and great staff. Only downside is the significant expense for what you get e.g 50 odd AUD for a room service ceaser salad. That said would return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located near Flinders station. We went there for the OZ Open and were able to take the direct tram to the tennis or even walk. The hotel is very modern, spaceous, loved the style. Free Wifi in the lobby only but that seems to be standard in Australia (odd coming from Asia). The rooms are just heaven - comfortable beds and amazing bathroom. If anything the breakfast could still improve, totally sufficient but maybe a bit simple for what you expect in this type of hotel. Staff was amazing at receiption, bar and restaurant. No complains and would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing The Westin Melbourne for your recent stay over the Australian Open. We are delighted you found a tranquil escape in our luxurious room and you enjoyed our close proximity to all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another refreshing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well hi everyone he is my second review I hope it helps when looking for somewhere to stay in
Melbourne !
This hotel has it all especially when your there for the Melbourne Cup as we were the service is second to none from the front desk to the door men.The rooms are great make sure you get the ones facing the street .The breakfast /brunch on Melbourne Cup day is second to none all for free of charge if you are staying at the hotel.
I would highly recommend this as a place to experience in Melbourne and yes is worth the visit.

Room Tip: High Floors facing the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide inspiring feedback. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you enjoyed our Melbourne Cup Day Brunch. The Spring Racing Carnival is a great time to be in Melbourne.
We hope to welcome you back soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Gave me a lovely SPG upgrade. The location is simply excellent being near to plenty of restaurants and other amenities. Try to get a higher floor if you want to keep your curtains open. Some of the lower floors can be seen from street level. Considering this is Melbourne, the price is understandable but a bit too high for leisure purposes.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if you want to keep your curtains open while you're in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with such special feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This would be an excellent place to stay - the second time. By then you will have finally worked out where the light switches are when you want to sleep ( hidden down the side of the bed), where a power point is to charge your phone (hidden near the floor or down the side of the bathroom cabinet), where the restaurant is for breakfast (they don't do wayfinding signage so just ask someone)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. As one of Melbourne’s leading five star hotels, we strive to ensure guests have a valuable experience so it was disappointing to read your stay was not a completely fulfilling one. Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,436 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.