We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms are good - but avoid room service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The rooms are good - but avoid room service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are elegant and the bed truly is heavenly - one of the best beds in Australia! Bathrooms are spacious and well-appointed.

The lobby bar downstairs does a lovely afternoon tea, or evening drink.

My only criticism of my most recent day was the room service dinner. My steak sandwich was a baguette, with a piece of steak that was SO tough, half had to be left, as my teeth couldn't get through it, no matter how long I chewed for! My friend's chicken was dry and awful.

The breakfast buffet is fine, but they need a few more hot choices. Plus, they are slow to replenish food, as things are depleted.

Room Tip: Ask end of corridor, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for staying with us at the Westin. You are welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. Thank you for your comments about the In Room Dining experience you encountered – we have forwarded your comments to our Executive Chef for further investigation.
We hope to see you again in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    290
    76
    30
    17
See reviews for
119
429
87
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break recently (but I have used the Westin Melbourne for business as well). The whole deal was first class: check-in, the room, concierge service and the location. You cant really go wrong here.

The hotel. Recently renovated, modern, clean and fresh with really large rooms. This was my second stay and the room was as large as the first time so they must all be of a decent size. I was on one of the lower floors with a balcony overlooking Collins Street. There was no issue with noise and being able to open up the doors outside was nice. The rooms were typical high quality Westin and the beads as usual are awesome. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning which was pretty straightforward 5 class hotel fare other than that we did not eat there.

The location for me at least is a winner. You are toward the lower end of Collins Street beside Flinders Lane. Perfect. If your working you can walk everywhere you need. If you are there for the weekend its a 10 minute walk to Southbank. It is a 5 minute walk to the station of your going out to Flemington and the great bars and restaurants in Flinders Lane/Little Collins etc are right on your doorstep. Mix in great shopping etc and you are good to go.

I would personally chose this everytime over staying on Southbank/Crown complex.

Great stay.

Room Tip: Get the concierge to arrnage breakfast at Cumulus restaurant....wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments - it’s always fantastic to hear our guests enjoy themselves. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and being near to all Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed there two nights and was impressed by the size and the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. They are larger than any standard 4.5 star hotels with crisp linen, pillow and quilt cover. The wellness swimming pool is very well maintained, warm and inviting. Not to mention the location is perfect for both tourists and business people. Melbourne Central station and Federation Square is just across the street, for cake lovers the famous Brunetti cafe is right in front on the of the hotel vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location near to all Melbourne has to offer and you had a refreshing experience in our Wellness Centre. Our spacious guest rooms are also certainly amongst the largest in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the hotel for even more refreshing experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Westin for a long weekend and I would definitely recommend it for a great location and of course their fabulous 'heavenly beds' which I still rate as fantastic. The room was understated and lovely, and the bathroom large with plenty of room at the large sink for putting all your toiletries, one thing that I like in a hotel. Of course, the room and bathroom were also spotless. They have blinds for blocking out all light and the hotel was exceptionally quiet, particularly given it is in the centre of Melbourne. We found it very handy to shops etc, and the staff were helpful and very friendly, particularly those at the front door. When there was a queue at the concierge desk, staff immediately came over from reception to clear the queue and assist. I would recommend the hotel as a lovely place to stay in Melbourne - the foyer is also light and airy.

My only complaint - free WiFi would be fabulous in the rooms. The foyer has it free but it is so nice when hotels provide this - it would make a nice accompaniment to their free bottles of water in the room (that was appreciated in the 30deg heat).

Room Tip: Even though we were on the third floor, we heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, personal service and luxurious facilities. Guests are welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly Bed range. Apart from our lobby, we also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. For future visits to the city, we would suggest you review the Hotel Offers page of our website, which are continually refreshed with seasonal packages. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin a number of times each year when I visit Melbourne and it always delivers. Our most recent stay was at the end of 2012 and like all the times before the service, facilities, room, restaurants, loungesm and cocktail bar were all outstanding. The location is fantastic as it is in the heart of Melbourne city and one can walk to wherever they want (or hop on a tram just out the door and head to any of the other inner suburbs for shopping and good eats). If rooms are available one should request one that faces Swanston street for the best view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for continuing to stay with the Westin. We sincerely value your loyalty and are delighted to provide a warm welcome when you are away from home. Thank you for your special comments - we are pleased you enjoy our personal service and luxurious facilities. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so you could earn Starpoints every time you stay and take advantage of a fulfilling range of accommodation packages on our hotel’s website. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in March for a 5 night stay. The building is beautiful. Wonderful, wonderful location. Staff is pleasant and everything runs so very smoothly. Had wine out on the deck to enjoy the warmth and view. The waitstaff was very attentive. I'm a platinum plus and we reserved/submitted our "suite requests 5 months ahead. When we checked in we were informed the upgrade wasn't available. :( My wife politely asked them to move us if something did open up. Our room is tastefully decorated. We have a high floor request on my account but are situated rather low. Our main view is of a run down building across the way. Not so nice, but it is fun to watch the tram cars come and go. The only annoying part of our stay is so far in 2 days we have gotten 2 letters and 2 vm telling us not suites are available for the remainder of our stay. (We only put in the one request so it feels like it is being rubbed in our face a bit.) We get the idea....
Besides that it is a great place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service, distinctive dining venue and convenient location. As a Starwood Preferred Platinum Guest, we sincerely value your loyalty and are disappointed to read your experience was not a completely fulfilling one. We believe our associates were trying our best to have your room upgraded thus updating you from time to time. However, we regret your request was not granted due to no availability. We look to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Loved the place and the people. As one would expect the staff were attentive, the rooms were exquisite and the location is exceptional for the CBD. Two drawbacks: the business center was unmanned and suffered from malfunctioning equipment and the traffic in and out of the area is horrific at rush hour. Otherwise, pay close attention to directions if you don't know where it is because it is literally tucked away. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your personal comments. We are pleased you enjoy our personal service, luxurious facilities and ideal location near to all Melbourne has to offer. Similar to all other CBDs, we do advise guest to allow extra travel time during rush hours due to traffic congestions. We are sorry you did not receive the attention needed with the equipment in the Business Centre. We will address this with our team to ensure associates pay extra attention to guests’ needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.