We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $240 p/n
Ranked #20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Melbourne for a weekend trip from Sydney. The service I had received was exceptional, they know how to look after there guests. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location for exploring the City,restaurants and shops and is a 10 minute tram ride to Chapel Street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Melbourne. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the instinctive service you were provided and our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    282
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
405
84
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The clear winning feature of this hotel is its location. Absolutely perfect for walking the central district, accessing fun restaurants, getting on and off the free bus and tram services that circle the city. We had a two night stay here on the way back from tropical Queensland, and really only one full day to explore what we could of the city, so location was critical, and the hotel delivers in spades.
It's a very nice hotel; even our shuttle driver on the way there from the station told us we had hit the best spot of all the folks he dropped off. Unfortunately this place is reluctant to do nice things for its Starwood Plat guests, we got stuck in a hole-like room in a back corner of the building, pretty much no natural light at all etc etc. Apparently you have to ask to get put in a nicer room ...
Well, we didn't do that. We had no idea about the size and location of the room, other than the fact they had put us on a low floor; to go and ask for a different room would have just been such a time waster.
Staff was standoffish in general, so overall we experienced disappointing service and the only discordant note in a wonderful if short stay in Melbourne, so it kind of sticks out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We would like to apologise for you have not been entirely satisfied with your stay. Please know, we do provide upgraded room to our Platinum Preferred Guests whenever possible - we appreciate your loyalty and strive to recognize that loyalty. We apologize for the service you received was anything less than exceptional. This is certainly not our standard and we would appreciate if you could contact our Rooms Division Manager to elaborate more. It will certainly be addressed with our hotel ambassadors and managers for continued development. Nevertheless we would be pleased if we could be your host once again one day. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Westin Melbourne after our flights to Bali for our honeymoon had been cancelled. This was our second attempt to leave for our honeymoon as earlier in the week I lost my passport! We both were feeling very disappointed and exhausted. We decided to book at the Westin and spend the night in Melbourne. As soon as we arrived at the Westin we were really looked after. The kind lady on check in upgraded our room to a city view king suite and gave us discount vouchers for the buffet breakfast in the morning. Our room was absolutely amazing, everything was done to perfection. Not long after getting into our room the hotel send us a Complimentary bottle of chandon and strawberries to enjoy! The next day we spent at the lovely pool, spa and sauna relaxing. We were just so happy with everything at the Westin, all the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay, the rooms was fantastic with really comfortable beds and the hotel was amazing. The service we received at the Westin made a terrible day turn to an enjoyable stay! We will definitely be coming back! Thank you very much to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted you received a warm and friendly welcome after such disappointing experience and experienced our personalized service, spacious rooms and luxurious facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

    We had a great 2-night stay in The Westin Melbourne. We arrived at 11am and were glad to know that our room was ready for check in. We also requested for late check out (til 1.30pm) and the staff has kindly allowed us to do so.
    The hotel location is very good. Compared to Grand Hyatt situated just a block away (we stayed in Grand Hyatt before moving in to The Westin), the room is more spacious and look more modern. We requested for a quiet room as we don't mind the lack of view. There is free Wifi at the business centre as well as the lounge area and it was working great. 
    While it was an enchanting experience, we noted a few developmental areas:
1) The ceiling shower head was non-functional. We had to use the hand-held shower head instead.
2) We were charged $14 for the sparkling water which we did not consume (we put it at a different place & they thought we have consumed it), but the problem was resolved quickly upon clarification.
3) The door at the shower area was not tight, and water tends to leak out.
4) There is no 24-hour security. We need to leave the hotel at wee hours (4am) for our day tour; and the lack of hotel staffs at the lobby has led to some inconveniences. 
Overall I think The Westin is a very good hotel, and we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Forgo the view if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

At a premium hotel like a Westin, great service, location and facilities are expected, but the Westin Melbourne exceeds these expectations with an outstanding location and wonderful staff, which makes a huge difference to the experience of staying there.

Highly recommended for business travellers.

Although one small observation - during the next refit perhaps the hotel should consider engaging a professional qualified electrician rather than whoever fitted the sockets and light switches this time around. When everything else is so great, things like disintegrating switches and bizarrely placed sockets stick out like a sore thumb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel.
This was our second visit. The first: My husband saw a review for their Martini Bar and, being really fond of a good martini, decided we had to stay and check it out.
That stay was excellent and so was this one.
Our room was perfect and had a lovely view over Swanston Street.
We had 3 breakfasts and found the food to be top notch and the staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please.
As we were going to a wedding being held in Fitzroy Gardens, the hotel was perfectly placed.
And the evening before, a party at Oscar's in Flinder's Lane was only a few short steps away. Add to that, just 5 minutes more to Bourke Street for some of the best shopping in town.

Will certainly be back the next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I strongly recommend the Melbourne Westin for anyone visiting Melbourne (BUT stay away from the Sydney Westin where there seems to be a taxi scam run by the Sydney Westin Luggae personnel). In Melbourne, the Westin has no similar issues. The hotel is stunning, centrally located. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. A+++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.