We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
1 Week Only: From $245
Ranked #18 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Westin Melbourne for my Birthday and had a wonderful experience. It was so refreshing to find young staff who were not "too cool" to chat and they were all very helpful, especially the guys out the front of the hotel, really a pleasure to see. Our balcony room was delightful, spacious and very well appointed. If you want fresh air at night (as we both hate hotel air conditioning) it may be a little noisy but what can you expect in the heart of a city. If you love people watching you must book a balcony room. The breakfast quality was high, not your usual buffet fare and the morning staff were so helpful, and always quick to seat you and the espresso coffee was really good (which you seldom find in hotels). They even have lots of healthy options, I had an egg white omelet, it was really delicious. Good work Westin, I had almost given up on hotel but you have restored my faith (for the time being). Oh and the lobby bar serves great bubbles.

Room Tip: If you like fresh air book a balcony room but be prepared for a little city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    333
    89
    32
    18
See reviews for
140
497
94
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had two nights here early in Dec and was very impressed.
The room was very well appointed and the king bed was wonderfull.
Excellent service, valet car parking and breaky was great.
Had a short business meeting in the lobby area. Really nice place to meet. plenty of private areas, comfy chairs, good coffee, etc.
Definatly will be back next time in Melb

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved this hotel. Central, stylish and very well appointed. I think it is wrong to ask guests already paying $40 for breakfast to pay for a second latte. Should be included as I don't think what we both ate was really worth $80. A touch disappointing.

Room Tip: Definitely one facing either Collins St or Swanston St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel recently booking a couple of rooms for a birthday celebration.
In the days leading up, as well as at time of booking I made them aware this was a special stay for birthday occasion with their response being that they'd look after us on this special occasion.
I was not expecting anything until then.
Upon arrival there was not one mention of it. Like I said I had no expectations prior to the email, then I expected maybe just a "happy birthday". But nothing. It was somewhat disappointing as nor did the receptionist welcome me to the hotel or ask how I was. It was a transaction and it left me feeling a very cold vibe. This is a minor issue and only is it an issue because I have stayed here previously and had the most amazing service from all encountered but I felt like the standards have slipped.
I also was disappointed in the housekeeping because every day our room was serviced it seemed all they did was make the beds. Our amenitys were not topped up and there was plastic rubbish left from opening the bar of soap etc. little things that you would assume of you saw rubbish that the cleaner would throw it. We had a week long stay & it got quite frustrating that it continually happened.
Bell boys were lovely and welcoming as they were last time.
I was just slightly disappointed by quality of service received by the front desk & housekeeping.
Another disappointment was that the Martini Bar was closed. And right up until 25th jan.
This was disappointing as we were really looking forward to this aspect of the hotel and not once in the lead up to our stay were we notified of its closure, not in email correspondence or on the website. Just a let down if prior to arrival it's something you have in your plans.
As I said, I've travelled here before and had an amazing stay. But this time, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I arrived at the Westin running away from another shabby hotel in town, and as usual I felt back home. I love the Westin and this one is no exception.

The location is simply fantastic, our room was overlooking one of the main streets in the center, with a XMas fair just below us and the church on the side. The rooms are nicely appointed, spacious with nice amenities and bathroom. The only regret is that they do not have an executive floor and executive lounge, otherwise my rating for this hotel would be a 5.

I arrived without booking, as I said running away from another place, and the girl at the reception was very helpful to find me a good room at a good rate. Also we forgot a sweater in the room and they Fedex it to another hotel in Sydney where I would be arriving in some days. Very nice touch.

The location is perfect, right in the center, near Federation Square, few minutes waling anywhere from bars, cafes, shopping area and even (if you like to walk) Victoria Market.

Unfortunately another reason for not rating the place 5, is the Breakfast buffet. Nice one, but not at the level of other Westin around.

We really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on 31/12/12 and 1/12/13 for the first time. We had a westin spa studio and were blown away with the size of the room, location and amenities. We overlooked St. Pauls Cathedral on one corner and Swanton on the other side. The room was spacious and had everything that we wanted. The staff were very professional and friendly. We can't wait to stay there again, if not before then definitely on New Years Eve 2013

Room Tip: The Spa studio's are expensive but well worth the cost. Won't stay in any other room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here in a room on Level 3 in late December. This was our third stay at The Westin and we weren't disappointed.

As with our previous stays, the service was first class. At all times, all staff encounted during our stay were very professional and friendly.

Our room overlooked St Pauls Cathedral and had a juliette balcony. The room was well appointed and quiet.

Breakfast was included in our room rate - the selection catered to all tastes.

We're looking forward to our next visit to Melbourne - and of of course, our next stay at The Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.