We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPG qualified” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“SPG qualified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Be a SPG member, booking hotels for me is easier by app now :)

I stayed in westin Melbourne for 7 nights as my 1st stop in Aussie for x'mas holiday. It locates in Collin street which is indeed the city center. You could reach many arractions by foot, and train station is just behind, from which I also went to famous Chapel street and Prahram market.

The SkyBus + hotel shuttle, you could arrive at hotel in a n extremely convenient way, good!

I didn't hav chance to try hotel breakfast while my friend did, she was very satisfied with it.

The room is spacious, as well as the bath room, really rare size in city center. And I'm happy with all staff there, they were friendly and kind.

Oh there is a restaurant next to hotel names Ezard, if you wanna some fine dining, try it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

One of the best hotel to stay in. Rooms are big and very comfortable bed. Good Location and staff are very friendly. On arrival to the hotel i by mistake took someone else baggage.The Concierge help me to get my Baggage and courier the baggage of the person i got by mistake.
Would like to thank all the Concierge team and the reception. Excellent Customer service. Would definatly come back to stay in this hotel again and this time it will not be a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently visited Melbourne for a work function held at the Westin. Included was one night's accommodation in a Westin King Room.
I found the service to be efficient and helpful and the room spacious and luxurious - especially the gigantic bathroom. My room was located to the rear of the property, overlooking a lightwell/courtyard and driveway. I was happy to sacrifice a view for peace and quiet. I couldn't hear noise from any surrounding room either - bliss!
The location on Swanston street is fantastic, a short walk or tram ride to Federation Square, Bourke St shopping and Melbourne's famed laneway bars.
A lovely extra touch was a plate of fresh afternoon tea treats (hand made macarons, dried fruit and nuts) sent to my room courtesy of the hotel.
I love that a 'late' checkout of 11am is standard, and the beds are as good as they are claimed to be.
As it was such a short stay, I did not utilise many hotel facilities, however the business centre was adequate for my needs.
I'd happily stay at the Melbourne Westin again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I regularly at the Westin when I am in Melbourne for business or pleasure. I love its convenient location, its access to the sites, shopping and generally a good place to start and end the day with. The welcome is Westin "wow' and the staff are friendly, courteous and genuine. The porters/concierge folks tend I think to focus too much on the 'tips' and I have in the past had the displeasure of encountering one porter who was visibly upset when i didn't tip him (Westin GM note, he still works for you!) Otherwise its a great place to hang out..have a martini in the martini bar and decompress in the Gym and spa and great pool ( 25M) which is great for lapping.

Room Tip: the King Deluxes are open, fresh and have great views. Bathrooms are large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you recognize our luxurious facilities and unsurpassed location. Thank you for your comments about the experience you encountered with our associates – we would like to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact our General Manager so we can investigate this further, as we strongly believe this attitude should not be tolerated among our associates and we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry NSW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the Westin Melbourne on Dec 9th asking on booking if at all possible could I have an early check in by 2.45 as I had to be in a cab by 3.30 to a very special party...asked again when I arrived at Melb airport and was advised they would try...Fortunately a daughter was also booked in and as a Starwood Member was given her room at 1.30pm . My other daughter and I had to shower/dress in her room as our room was not ready until 4pm.....after we had left in the cab. Management said they had given an upgrade? dubious as it looked what I had paid for ...a late check out ??? + 2 Pimms . On further discussion I did not have to pay for an additional breakfast but for sure I will not stay at the Westin in Melbourne again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Regarding the check in delay, we do apologize for your experience. We will certainly review the overall performance of this service to ensure we are able to provide the best service possible moving forward. We hope you do consider staying with us again and on your next occasion we can make it an even better experience for you. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had the opportunity for a rare night away from the kids so we wanted to stay somewhere a bit special. The Westin did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Our room was pretty much what you would expect for a five star, the bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was amazing! Loved that shower.
The location is fantastic, walking distance to a variety of great restaurants, bars and theatres. There is also a great martini bar on site which was a good way to kick off the night.
I would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are delighted you experienced a fulfilling stay in every way at The Westin Melbourne and visiting our wonderful city. Melbourne always has so much on in the theatres, art exhibitions, ballet, jazz and let’s not forget the fabulous shopping. By the way, there are “hidden secret laneway tours” if you wish to learn the history and the tours are very informative. You may also purchase additional products from the Heavenly Bed range to complete your Westin experience at home – please enquire directly with our Business Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next family getaway. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great hotel - perfect location, you can walk to Southbank, Victoria market, chinatown and of course right in the center of the downtown CBD. Room was big and good views. I would have given 5 stars if they had an outdoor pool. Staff had the exact right level of involvement (when needed and not if not).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you had a fulfilling stay and enjoyed our instinctive service, renewing facilities and central location amongst some of Melbourne’s finest attractions. Due to the chilly weather in Melbourne most of the time, we think our indoor pool is more suitable for guest to be able to enjoy our facilities all year round. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.