We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but inflexible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good location but inflexible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

1. Excellent location on Colin St. Accessible to conveniences, restaurants and business offices.
2. Inflexible front desk but gave a straight answer that "I just told another gues that check-out is strictly 11am, $50 every hour of extension". Firstly, I had no idea who you spoke to and I did not believe the person was related to me. Secondly, you did not even check my identify to see that I qualify for late check out. Robotic answer and robotic expression.
3. Room missing amenities, eg complimentary water, slippers. And the cleaning standard was below average.
4. The service boys (one Asian boy, one is Korean, the other looked like either Korean or Chinese) were very helpful and friendly. They delivered amenities fast, responded to problem on the balony door fast, and ended always all with "is there anything else I can help you with" and big smiles.
5. The most amusing one is the door man Aaron Joseph. He had such warm smile, preemptive in pointing out the necessary on the location map. When I returned to hotel on taxi, he promptly opened the door for me and handed a card with the taxi number saying "the taxi number in case you leave anything behind". I have never got that before! AWESOME!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Rest assured your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management associates to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. We will certainly pass on your comments to our doormen as our associates do make memorable encounters and they do focus on providing instinctive service at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night 27 November 2012,Location excellent, check in was good, room clean and spacious, bed great. I ordered a Prawn Pizza at midnight room service, i have to say it was not good, i paid $37.00 dollars i left most of it, dry, no topping infact 4 prawns for a 5 star hotel this is not acceptable, Bali Westin in Nusa Dua serve better. I had breakfast this was ordinary, service was not much better.

The cost of the room for one night was expensive especially when the day before i could have got the same room for $340 but was charged $380 for the night i stayed, and still had to leave $100 dollars cash for incidentals at reception,i did get this back once i had paid for my Pizza.

Would i reccomend this hotel: yes but i would go out for breakfast and not order room services

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Westin Hotels have provided for you. The room service quality you encountered during your stay is not typical of the standard we offer, and I regret that you were unable to address these concerns prior to your departure. Our accommodation rates fluctuate according to the occupancy. For your next visit to Melbourne, please also feel free to book directly through our in-house reservations team or on our website for best rates guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The location of The Westin is excellent. Very central, a stone's throw to busy Swanston Street and nearby Bourke Street Mall. The rooms are large along with a very generous sized bathroom. Wardrobe space is good and there are mirrors in good locations (near power points).

I mentioned improvements because I did notice a few things:

The doors to the hotel are very heavy and not self-opening. I think they need to either have door men or an automatic opening system. The reception is also quite a distance from the front doors and the reception area is quite stark. The staff were fine however we weren't given any information about the hotel facilities and on looking through the room, couldn't find the usual hotel compendium. We later figured out it was on the television. We also found the beds to be very soft. I was able to sleep well enough being a heavy sleeper but my friend who is a stomach sleeper ended up with a sore back. The safe also didn't work. We arrived back to find our towels which we had hung up to re-use were gone and we weren't given any replacements. They were however brought up promptly when we called reception.

All in all a good hotel with quiet rooms and great location but a few things need to be addressed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Melbourne is a fabulous location for retail therapy with great bars, cafes and restaurants all within a short distance from our Hotel. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all the city has to offer and we are delighted you enjoyed our luxurious room facilities. We have noted your comments regarding the bed and may we request when returning you mention this to our in-house reservation prior to arriving and we will organized according to your bedding preference. We believe the printed compendium is readily available on the study table in the room for our guests and given the opportunity at the time, we would certainly have attempted to repair the safe. We hope to welcome you back soon so we may have the opportunity to provide a more instinctive experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel recently and would say that it has a great location on Collins Street, next to the Cathedral and a minute walk to Federation Square, which is convenient for the Business District and Shopping Areas. The bed and room was comfortable with a desk area to set up your laptop or take some calls and the usual mini bar.

There was a bath and separate shower in the room with the usual complimentary toiletries.

The Pool in the hotel was lovely. It was really long and had a jacussi next to it. Both were heated to a nice temperature.

The Gym looked good with a lot of equipment there, I didn't use it but my husband said it was good.

We did not have a breakfast package so did not try the restaurant but we did sip a few drinks in the bar (which is not open on Sunday or Monday nights!)

The reason that my review is not 'excellent' is just that I have stayed in much better 5* hotels before and I felt that this hotel was just adequate for a one or two night stay and was not catered for the long term stayer which we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay. Our central location is certainly perfect for shopping in addition to Melbourne’s theatres and restaurants. Please also note, to earn Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints you have to book through our Starwood branded websites. It is amazing how many guests save their points for their family holiday overseas and if you are on business away a lot then this is the best way to spend them with the ones you love. We would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail to learn how you feel we could improve our overall services, please feel free to contact our Front Office Manager and we look forward to hearing from you .Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved the Westin Melbourne. Right in the heart of the city, a short walk to anywhere, and first-class comfort and service. The rooms are roomy, the beds the usual Westin awesomeness, and the hotel is maintained to a very high standard.

There are numerous eat and drink options in the hotel, but we preferred to venture outside. There is a sidewalk strip just below the hotel on Swanston St, populated with bars and restaurants, all of which have gas heating, which was fabulous. And it was only a short stroll to wherever else we wanted to go.

Westin Melbourne is my first choice for a CBD-based Melbourne hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Swanston Street have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location and luxurious facilities. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. Just to let you know, we have three distinctive dining venues within the hotel. Allegro, our signature restaurant where we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lobby Lounge where guests can have a light meal or relax and enjoy our contemporary High Tea. Also, the Martini Bar where you can wind down after a day at work. May we mention SPG members receive 15% off on food when dining at our venues (T&C applies). We look forward to welcoming you back for your next getaway. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend and what an amazing hotel. Location is excellent, rooms and bathrooms are lavish and large. Bed was comfy and massive, lobby bar was great, buffet breakfast was wonderful. The thing we both noticed the most though; out of everywhere we have stayed, every single staff member here was excellent and really went above and beyond to assist and be friendly. Paul, the concierge in particular went above and beyond, we have never encountered such excellent staff at any other Australian hotel ever! We will surely return next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our excellent location, Heavenly facilities and distinctive dining options. We are delighted you recognize our instinctive service. We will ensure your comments are passed to all in our hotel with special mention to our Concierge associates. We do try to build a culture of continuous communication amongst all our departments and most of all, deliver caring service that is memorable. We look forward to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to the city. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

There is very little one could do to improve The Westin in Melbourne, certainly from a business hotel standpoint. The rooms are very elegant and tastefully appointed, not to mention quite large. The bathrooms are very modern and luxurious, with rainforest shower heads, excellent toiletries and are so big, you'll need a map to find your way from the sink to the shower. While some travelers have reported noise, I heard none during my stay, although I was located in a rear room, rather than one facing the street.
If I was to be unreasonably picky, I'd say that the only issues would be a cracked light switch, and pillows that were too soft (alhough the latter is personal preference). All in all, a great hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a rear facing room- I had no noise during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our luxurious facilities and have noted your feedback regarding light switch. May we mention SPG members receive 15% off food in all F&B venues at our hotel (T&C’s apply). If you are not already an SPG member, please enquire on your next stay and or log onto our website. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.