We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location. Pay close attention to your bill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding location. Pay close attention to your bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been staying exclusively at Starwood properties and this may be the best Westin ever, as far as facilities are concerned. Outstanding location with beautiful lobby, rooms, decor and bathrooms. The shopping and dining options make this a perfect choice for exploring the downtown area.

The service is consistent with that found at other Westins. Concierge and bellman services were better than I expected. The one weak spot was the lobby bar. It seemed more like a commercial for Moët and Chandon Champagne than a hotel bar. It took forever for them to take my order, and they never returned for me to ask for the check.

I was quite disappointed on checkout when I noticed they added a 'voluntary' contribution to the UNICEF charity without my permission. It was for a small amount and I was too rushed on checkout to complain. But this was an unpleasant surprise to an otherwise great visit.

I went to the gym and felt the pool was average. The steam room was quite small- it seemed adequate until someone else came in- it then felt crowded. Ladies take note- the steam room and sauna are coed. But the sauna was broken.

I cannot comment on value as we stayed here for free on points.

Overall a very nice hotel. High points are the location and bathrooms. Service at times lags behind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for continuing to stay with the Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We sincerely value your loyalty and are delighted you enjoy our instinctive service, luxurious facilities and central location. Our spacious guest rooms are also certainly amongst the largest in Melbourne. Regarding the charge mentioned on your account of $1.00 for UNICEF, please accept our apology if you missed this information on the registration card and our Front Desk did not provide you with the UNICEF insert in your key wallet outlining our partnership with this charity. This donation is optional in all our Starwood properties and we do inquire with our guests on check out confirming participation from each guest. We offer our apologies as it appears this was not offered to you. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    305
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
124
454
89
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is simply an outstanding hotel, everything is first-class. Nice, large rooms and bathrooms. Bathroom especially is gleaming marble and glass, with luxury and hi-tech touches. Very comfortable bed. Great location too, right in the heart of Melbourne, close to the famous lanes with the coffee shops, restaurants, and galleries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you recognize our unsurpassed location, luxurious facilities and signature Heavenly Bed. By the way, there are “hidden secret laneway tours” if you wish to learn the history and the tours are very informative. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I try to stay here for a few days each time I visit Melbourne, and this time it was just as excellent as every time I stay and just as reliable and great as when i first started staying here 8-9 years ago. Service was excellent, I had a fab room with a view onto the city skyline with little balcony great for a drink at dusk. The beds are still some of the best offered by any chain out there. Excellent location, and great place to explore the city or for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing to return to the Westin. We are delighted to provide another fulfilling experience and pleased you received such special service from our associates. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. As a loyal guest, you may be aware of our Starwood Preferred Guest program. If you are not already a member, we encourage you to enquire on your next visit so you may enjoy a range of inspiring travel rewards. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We always stay here and get well looked after. Comfy beds, good aircon, terrific food, and the driveway boys are always a standout. This time we did the meal deal in the Allegro which gave us a selection of entrees and mains for a reasonable price - well presented and surprisingly healthy. The Westin seems determined to improve my overall consumption of the so-called 'super' foods! Brekkie can be busy but the selection is impressive. I particularly enjoy their swimming pool, going to the Business Lounge for free Nespresso and sitting in the lobby bar by the fire on winter Sunday mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We will ensure your comments are passed to all associates in our hotel with special mention to our Doorman and Food & Beverage associates. We do try to build a culture of continuous communication amongst all our departments and most of all, deliver caring service that is memorable. SPG members now receive 15% off food in our Food & Beverage venues as a new permanent benefit (T&C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Always our favourite hotel in Melbourne because of the superb location. On recent 3 day stay had a charming corner room overlooking both the square and the sandstone church nearby. The understated and yet luxurious decor is enhanced by the art that lines the corridors. The lounge is the foyer is comfortable, expansive and relaxed, a great place to meet up with friends. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout, and particularly notable were the doormen and the concierge, nothing being too much trouble. Highly recommended. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: The lower floors appeal to me because you can view the activity in the square below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Tend to stay here whenever I am in Melbourne. But experience in my last trip early last month wasn't too good. The right side of the heavenly bed sank in it was rather uncomfortable. But will still return when I am back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Westin for a night after finding a good deal on Wotif - $295 for accommodation, buffet breakfast for 2 and valet parking. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the facilities lovely too. The hotel is located in a great area and is very convenient to get around.

Pros:
- Friendly staff - the bellboy helped us pick a dinner location
- Large rooms, large bathrooms
- Incredibly comfortable beds and pillows
- Great buffet breakfast
- Good valet service

Cons:
- Terrible view from our room (looked out to the driveway - absolutely no city view or view of anything nice at all really!)
- No free wifi available in the room
- Check-in from 3pm (would have liked to check-in at 2pm)
- TV had a few pixelation issues
- Shower had a bit of funk on the floor

I would definitely stay again (if I got a good deal on Wotif!) but would request a room with a better view next time.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.