We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Almost awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Unbeatable location in the CBD. Warm and friendly check-in. Room and bathroom very generous size and probably the best standard room I have stayed in in Melbourne. Bed is amazing as you would expect. All great but I had a few gripes, the main one being $8 delivery for room service and other minor issues being no bottle opener, no toothbrush and no bath salts to use in the beautiful bath, all of which makes it feel a bit mean. Fix these sorts of issues and I would rate it 5/5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you enjoyed our superior service, luxurious facilities and location surrounded by Melbourne’s finest attractions. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. With the room dining delivery fee, this practice is common in other Melbourne 5 star hotels. On future stays, please may we request you send us an email and or communicate your preferences for the bathroom amenities on check in as we would be delighted to add these amenities to your profile to ensure these items are placed in your room each future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future . Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We will definitely be going back to the Westin Melbourne, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a contemporary style - it has a really good feel about it. The bathrooms are huge and the staff are like no other I have encountered before. I accidentally left clothing at another hotel and they offered to collect it... even though this proved to be quite difficult for a number of reasons... but they still pulled it off and this is something I will not be forgetting. I have already told about five people about my experience and I know that I will be telling many more - don't even bother looking anywhere else! The Westin is the place to stay. A big thank you to all the staff that helped get my dress back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for delightful comments and are sincerely grateful you are willing to recommend us to others. We are pleased we can help to retrieve your dress and your comments will be shared with all of our associates to ensure we continue to provide personal, instinctive service. For future visits to Melbourne, please visit our website to view our upcoming special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

There is no better Hotel for all round criteria than the Westin.
Our room (335) was probably the best room we have had in any hotel for a while. We stayed in a Spa Suite last time, but for an "open air" feeling the "Deluxe" room is tops. Large bay windows add a unique dimension to this room.
As always, the Res staff of Regina and Rosa did did the hard yards. Thank you both.
A 3 minute walk to laneway cafes, 5 minutes to Fed Sq. & Flinders St. Station.
The same time frame to Myer and DJs.
Everything about this Hotel is exceptional.

Room Tip: Deluxe with bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious room and central location. We will certainly share your comments with our Reservations Team, who will be inspired by recognition of their instinctive service. We look forward to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to the city. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

By all accounts The Westin is a very enjoyable hotel to stay in. Fantastic location, excellent service and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are a highlight. Main traffic areas are starting to look a little tired but that aside you truly cannot go past the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Westin Melbourne and you enjoyed a fulfilling experience with our central location, luxurious Heavenly room facilities and instinctive service. In regards to our public areas, we are currently in the planning stages to refresh some of the areas including our Lobby , Wellness Centre and Allegro Restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Again we had a great weekend deal through expedia.com and I took my husband to Melbourne for his birthday. We choose not to have the hotel buffet as we were in Melbourne and spend our days walking the streets, cafe's and bars. So much to eat and so little time to do it all in.

The hotel was great as we arrived early morning and allowed us to have an early check in as our room was available. Which was a bonus for us, we grabbed a early nap before heading out for some breakfast.

The staff were excellent and we enjoyed the well appointed room with a great view. I loved the little balcony which we could open our windows out too. The plush robes were a nice little treat :).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your husband’s birthday. We are pleased you had a memorable stay with us and hope your special experiences will bring you back to The Westin Melbourne in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Probably the best location for 5 star hotels in proximity of being right in the centre of the CBD. After arriving and checking in, the room I requested(quiet) was very noisy with cranes building near my room. Reception was exceptionally good, in not doubting me and in no time had me moved to another room. You are so close to the main mall area, so popping back was so easy. Room service was quite good and the lobby pleasant. Beds are so incredibly comfortable, they really do live up to their reputation. Owen from concierge was extremely professional and each time he saw me in the hotel by myself, he came and asked if there was anything he could do for me and always remembered my name. Most outstanding staff member. I hope the general manager hears of such a stand out staff member.

Room Tip: A city view, a larger room than the standard is more appealing. Higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent visit. Your special comments will be shared with all departments as inspiration to continue providing personal, instinctive service and we are certainly aware of what an asset Owen is to the team and he has been commended for his exceptional service and we wish to point out that in fact he is new to our hotel. Our General Manager is very hands on and she will ensure a personal letter of thanks from you is given to Owen. We are glad we were able to quickly and easily accommodate your request to move rooms and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another fulfilling stay on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just spent a night at the The Westin for a girls night out. Must say it was a wonderful experience.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and even gave us a free upgrade.
Our room was wonderful with two doublebeds and great views of St Pauls cathedral. The beds were the most comfortable I've slept in.
We spoilt ourselves with High Tea in their lounge and it was delightful. Very generous with both savoury and sweet, little cakes and mini bagels. Tea and coffee included but we indulged with a couple of glasses of Chandon. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your delightful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed a refreshing girl’s getaway in one of our spacious Deluxe Twin Rooms with our Heavenly beds. We appreciate you recommending our High Tea experience to others and would like to mention we have seasonal menus. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.