We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service - Best Beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Available Rate!
Ranked #14 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Service - Best Beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed at The Westin Melbourne many times for both business and pleasure and go back time and again, due to their great service, beautiful large balcony rooms (Deluxe King) and the best ever beds. Have also eaten at their restaurant, Allegro, often with meals and service excellent. The Martini bar is great for drinks and appetizers after the football, with a great log fire to warm up. Will be going back without hesitation, as this is the best hotel in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe King room with a Juliet balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted you experienced a refreshing stay with our personalized service, spacious deluxe rooms and Heavenly beds. We will also pass your inspiring comments regarding Allegro and Martini Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back during the football season. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    367
    95
    38
    20
See reviews for
163
560
101
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Westin for the fourth time in early April and have booked to return to celebrate my birthday later in the year. Each time I have stayed at the Westin has been a wonderful experience - friendly, first class service from all staff we dealt with. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the middle of the CBD. Plenty of good shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres within easy walking distance. The rooms are superb - a good size, with wonderful beds and excellent bathrooms. The lobby is very tranquil and welcoming. I have stayed in many hotels in Melbourne, but after staying at the Westin would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for continuing to stay with the Westin and we are inspired you experienced an instinctive stay and you enjoyed our close proximity to all that Melbourne has to offer. We sincerely value your loyalty and are delighted you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us in the near future. Please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with special arrangements to enhance your stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropolitan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel distinguishes between paying and non-paying (using Starpoints or free nights from Starwood promotions) guest! The Westin Melbourne belongs to the group of Starwood hotels that don’t bother about you when you use your Starwoodpoints or free nights out of a Starwood promotion
As a Platinum member of the SPG program, I am deeply disappointed with Starwood that they call "The Westin Melbourne" a Starwood hotel!!!
The hotel staff didn't recognized my Platinum member level and the free breakfast reminded me of my military service of 25 years ago. This with my past 3 stays also!!!
You hear constantly what the hotel can't do for you!!!

Room Tip: To get a good room you better pay the full room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our SPG program and The Westin Melbourne. We regret your experience was not fulfilling and would like to address your concerns regarding SPG and breakfast. We would value the opportunity to resolve your concerns directly and request that you contact our General Manager at your earliest convenience. If there is ever an opportunity to for you to stay with us again, we would certainly ensure you receive an instinctive Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I just wanted to write a quick review on the service I received over the phone when making a booking at the Westin. Amber was the name provided on the other end of the line and I have to commend her on her service. She was lovely and patient in answering my questions regarding the different rooms and valet parking, etc.. And upon hearing that it was for a special occasion, offered an upgrade. Even before our stay, I am already impressed with the Westin!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such delightful feedback regarding your reservation experience. We will certainly pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel's location is very convenient to Melbourne's CBD, business, shopping and restaurant scene. The staff make you feel very comfortable. The rooms are great as are the beds and bathrooms. Resulting in a very good night's sleep and feeling of being very well rested from the stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you experienced a refreshing stay with our personalized service, spacious bathrooms and Heavenly beds. We are pleased you had a rewarding stay and enjoyed our central location amongst some of Melbourne’s finest attractions. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I spent 24.00 in Melbourne for Business. This hotel is centrally located in Business surroundings.
Hotel care for guest is good, even perfect. I could let my luggages at the concierge for a full day @ the office + enjoy a shower before Overnight Flight to SIngapore. No extra cost, Concierge was friendly and dedicated.
Sounds one of the great place to stay for business in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Try not to be located on the street side. Some noise can happen on the public part of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your recent trip to Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and Concierge assistance. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed regularly in Melbourne over the past few months and always at a different hotel, usually based upon the "package" they have available. The Westin was the best one. Right from the time we drove up the service was excellent. Our room was a great size, with a huge bathroom (and separate bath). It seemed to have all of the best features from the other hotels we have stayed at - very comfortable bed, modern decor, sensible TV, comfortable chair, an iron that cost more than $5! Breakfast was good - the usual items but good setting and service. The staff were friendly, engaging and helpful. We were very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback from your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing personal, instinctive service and we were delighted to read your stay was certainly memorable. For future visits to Melbourne, please visit our website to view our upcoming special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.