We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Westin.com
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EASTER RETREAT from $290
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great location, high quality hotel, certainly everything you could hope for in a hotel, the service was great, pool fantastic, etc.

As a Platinum Starwood Member, the Westin hotels pretty much globally are fantastic, but this one is very nice.

It is however on the upper level in terms of pricing, in Melbourne I would list my top 4 hotels as -

1) Park Hyatt (Outstanding, still the best in the city of Melbourne)
2) Westin (very nice hotel, location, facilities, etc)
3) Grand Hyatt (very nice hotel especially since the reservation, great executive lounge)
4) Intercontinental (location not as good but is acceptable)

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted we provided a fulfilling stay for one of our loyal Starwood guests. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to extending you another warm Westin welcome in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    261
    64
    26
    14
See reviews for
108
374
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Spent two nights for leisure at this Westin property at Melbourne in early December. Location is excellent for shopping and dining - right near the Paris end of Collins Street. The rooms are nice and cosy - what you would expect from a Westin grade hotel. I had one facing Collins Street and no problems whatsoever with noise, even though people had been partying late at night (december christmas!). A compliment to hotel management as the rooms are nicely serviced and promptly attended to - they could do with some improvement to their in-room lighting/AV-TV control system as I fimnd them a bit dated by today's standards. Other than this, would recommend this hotel to both the business traveller or the quiet, leisure, taking-it-easy traveller

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing the Westin for your city getaway. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our in-room lighting and television system. We have recently refurbished all of our guest rooms so your comments will be reviewed in future updates. We would also encourage you to contact us prior to your next visit as we may be able to assist with you specific lighting preferences. We are so pleased you are willing to recommend us to others and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed the one night with my wife as we had a Xmas party next door. Had a balcony view room overlooking City Square which was great to watch the world go by. Only one word can describe this hotel - service. I checked in and went for a walk returning an hour or so later. An attendant opened the door for me and said "Welcome back Mr Winch" when I returned. I have never had a personal greeting like this ever from any hotel in the world.

Nicely appointed rooms and very good noise proofing. Heard nothing at nightime despite being bang in the middle of the city. Breakfast was ok - nothing earth shattering. But everyone was so damn polite. That's the thing that will stay with me the most from our short stay.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony otherwise you'll be staring out at a concrete wall on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Mr Winch. Thank you for recognizing our personal, instinctive service – it is inspiring to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed a refreshing stay and hope to welcome you back soon for perhaps a longer visit. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel is lovely, rooms are luxurious but best of all the staff is excellent. The location of the hotel is close to everything in the city and close to the tram system for those things not located in the city. The staff was so helpful, when I lost a bag they found it, they offered excellent recommendations for bars and restaurants and were just very pleasing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed a fulfilling stay and were able to assist with locating your lost property. Our Concierge are certainly very knowledgeable about Melbourne and are always delighted to assist with recommendations to ensure you make the most of your time in the city. We look forward to assisting you further on your next stay with us. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Tend to stay here when in Melbourne. Doesn't have the view of the Sofitel but very central. Service understated but immeadiate and special requests sorted very quickly. Love sitting in the bar in one of the corner nooks after a day in meetings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you choose to return to the Westin for your visits to Melbourne. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to providing another fulfilling stay when you are next in the city. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I've been staying at the Westin Melbourne since 2007 and recently returned for my 5th visit. While it is on the expensive side, every time I have stayed I have received the same excellent service and always had a great time at the hotel and Melbourne generally. Here's why:

1) Location: It's on Collins St, in the heart of Melbourne. Just outside, on City Square, is Brunetti, a phenomenal patisserie, and also a Starbucks if you're after a quick coffee. There are trams running in all directions outside the hotel so it is easy to get around the city. The Regent Theatre is next door; I saw 'Wicked' one time and 'Love Never Dies' another while staying at the Westin. Two minutes after leaving the theatre you are home for the night!

2) The service: On my last visit it was my birthday and a small note and box of chocolates was left in my room. I was greeted with a 'welcome back' when I arrived in a taxi from the airport. Everything is done easily, nothing is too much trouble. When, on my third visit, it took a while for my luggage to arrive, I was given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine

3) The rooms: Spacious, airy, clean, with a massive bathroom. All the rooms are equipped the same: big bed, big tv with a DVD player, big wardrobe. The add-ons can be a bit expensive - for example, while there is a large room service selection it is a bit pricey - but at the Westin the room is so lovely that you do just want to order room service and curl up for the night!

The Westin Melbourne will always be one of my first choices - if you can, try it out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such delightful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service, luxurious facilities and central location close to all the city has to offer. We sincerely value your loyalty and look forward to continuing to be your hotel of choice in Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

We were tossing up between Crown, new Grand Hyatt, Sofitel and Westin and for a very short stay I am glad to have chosen the Westin. We stayed just one evening but the following day was spent perusing the city, shops and the mandatory stop at Cumulus Inc! Melbourne is so cool, we had a great weekend away from the kids and the Westin is close to it all!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne Hotel
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin
Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.