We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sense of Summer from $285
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Good things:
- You'll be impressed with how spacious the rooms are.
- Really well thought out function of room amenities (what is placed where, etc.).
- The rooms are really clean. I am not sure if the hotel (or the room I was in) was newly renovated but it sure does feel like it.
- Although it is right in the middle of the city center, it still feels very quiet. Feels like a boutique hotel.
- Service is efficient and friendly. The concierge will remember your name if you chat with them long enough. Way to go, Melbourne!

Negative stuff:
- Not a lot of good views since you are surrounded by buildings. You have to close the windows if one requires ultra privacy. To somehow compensate, they have panel mirrors in front of the bed.


Tips:
- If room service is too expensive (everything in Australia is mighty expensive these days), there are a lot of good eating places around. If it's your thing, there is a Subway (and a Hungry Jacks, and Krispy Kreme) right across.
- Try the Italian coffee place in front of the hotel along Collins Street. There is also a Starbucks on the ground floor if you feel like it (if you get tired of the famous Melbourne coffee culture).
- If you collect SPG points, you can redeem your points for stuff (movie, theater tickets). It seems that points required for redemption are lower than usual -- although I am not sure about this.

Room Tip: Use your points for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments. We are delighted you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and personal service. We have recently completed a refurbishment of our guest rooms so we are pleased you enjoyed the refreshing facilities. For future stays, we are also certainly happy to assist with any specific room preferences in relation to city views. Regarding our Starwood Preferred Guest program, Starpoints may be redeemed for in-hotel indulgences and Free Night Awards, as well as with our merchandise partners for products and gift certificates. Please contact us directly if you require further information. We hope to welcome you back for another fulfilling staying in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
458
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

After having such a good experience here a few years ago, the Westin was a natural choice when it came to booking a hotel for our wedding night.
I booked the room for the night of our wedding, and my fiance also made a separate booking for the night before, in order that he and the groomsmen could get ready in the hotel on the wedding morning. We informed the hotel of our circumstances and requested that they move my fiance's bags to the bridal room for us returning in the evening. The staff advised that they would remake the same room instead; and that the room would be perfect for our return.
However, housekeeping failed to visit the room at all, with the result that we arrived back from our wedding reception to a very messy room. My husband, the groomsmen, wedding photographer and videographer, etc had all spent the morning there getting ready, so the bins were overflowing with coffee cups, the bathroom was littered with used towels and footprints, the bed was unmade... all very disappointing for a 5 star hotel at the best of times.
When we called reception to complain, they acknowledged that they did indeed have a note on their system regarding our circumstances, and that the room was meant to be made over ready for our arrival; however, housekeeping had left for the day and they had no staff available to remedy the shambles in our deluxe spa room!
They left us sitting in the mess for an hour whilst they tried to think of a solution, and eventually found us a standard (yet thankfully clean) room elsewhere in the hotel; where we had to move to for the first night of our stay.
Such a disappointing start to our honeymoon, especially after I've had such great experiences at Westin previously.
Note - I have marked cleanliness low in light of the failure to conduct housekeeping. Once the room was actually cleaned the following afternoon, the room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We only went for the afternoon tea which we enjoyed immensely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed here while in Melbourne. The hotel was immaculate, with a beautiful foyer. We arrived a little early and were pleased with our room being ready at 10:30am ! The room was roomy with a beautiful bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds we ever slept in. In saying this the hotel does have some downsides. Firstly it was quite costly. Visiting Melbourne every 2 months we found that for the price we paid there were many more places to stay. Also, while the juliette balcony has an amazing view overlooking a little park with views of the Cathedral and buzzing pedestrians underneath, it also directly overlooks the flashing lights of the tram and horses that constantly go past.

Room Tip: Polite manners
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted we were able to assist with an early check-in and you enjoyed a relaxing sleep in your Heavenly® Bed. For future visits to Melbourne, please visit our website to view our upcoming special offers. Prior to your next arrival we also recommend you provide your room preferences so we may provide the best option for a refreshing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Have just recently returned from The Westin Melbourne. Had a fabulous stay once again.
The hotel is in a great location; close to everything. The rooms are spacious and service is excellent. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast (included in the cost of our package) every morning. The food was delicious and fresh. We won't stay anywhere else when in Melbourne- a truly special place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your special feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our refreshing facilities and instinctive service, as well as a fresh start each morning with our gourmet SuperFoods buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fulfilling stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I normally stay at the Langham when in Melbourne however thought we thought we would try something different for our recent stay to visit the Tutankhamun exhibition.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Right in the heart of the city close to lots of places to eat and shop. When we arrived there was no one at the front of the hotel and over the 2 night stay no one offered to open the doors for us which was a bit disappointing.

We arrived a bit early, check in was very friendly and efficient and we were able to leave our bags there to shop whilst waiting for our room. We received a call within the hour to advise the room was ready and our bags were already upstairs.

Our room was very clean and quite spacious. The bathroom was very large with a bath and double shower heads which was a treat. Unfortunately our toilet did not flush properly. It was a double flush button one, we reported this and it was fixed quickly however after it being fixed the other button didn’t work. I didn’t report it again as we were leaving the next morning.

The robes in the bathroom were not very soft like their towels and I imagine this is cause they might be a bit old and washed several times. Like another review I did find the bed very uncomfortable and we were not able to adjust the room temperature in the room which made for quite a warm evening.

I ordered a club sandwich for lunch from room service and was very disappointed with an $8 fee for room service on top of the expensive price of the meal. I have not had to pay a fee for room service before. The mustard was also out of date. When I mentioned this they offered me a free drink where they really should have waived the price of the meal.

Overall the stay was good, however I would not be staying there again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and spacious guest rooms. We sincerely regret any inconveniences you experienced with our room facilities and amenities and welcome you to discuss these with us at the time of your stay so we may have the opportunity to remedy your concerns. We have also noted your feedback regarding room service charges. We hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future so we may have the opportunity to provide a more fulfilling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it definitely deserves a much higher rating than this on Tripadvisor. We have also stayed at most of the other hotels in the top 10. This hotel gives wonderful, consistent service but also has the best position in Melbourne in my opinion.
We use this hotel as a standard for professional, warm engaging service- thoughout our travels staying in numerous 5* hotels The Westin Melbourne is rarely bettered. The staff often greet us by name and we have never encountered anything remotely like poor or begrudging service here. They certainly have a knack for choosing and training the right attitude amongst their staff.
I find the rooms great, they are perhaps a little masculine and minimalist but they suit me fine. The bathrooms are large and really quite outstanding. The rainhead showers from the high ceilings are luxurious. The corner rooms on the south end of the property are my favorites-they are larger rooms with an abundnce of light and the lower floors have beautiful trees shading the juliet balconies.
The beds are perfect- heavenly beds are more than a motto at this Westin (not all Westin's seem to have beds as good as these).
The breakfast is possibly not to super indulgent international standard but the range, choice and quality are very very good.
The foyer is a great place to meet with friends and they also serve an excellent high tea ( tea afficionados should be very happy-the quality is outstanding). The pool and gym are suitable for business travellers but may be a bit of a let down compared with some international 5* hotels. Overall book with absolute confidence and enjoy.

Room Tip: South corner rooms are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed and delightful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoy the Westin experience and are willing to recommend us to others. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will certainly share them with all associates as an inspiration to continue providing personal, instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne’s dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia’s leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city’s finest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.