We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Botanic Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Seasons Botanic Gardens to your Saves list
Seasons Botanic Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   348 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed here for a quick break and change of scene from renovation works on our house. We found this hotel via a google search on 'Self-contained Accommodation Melbourne'. Quite often you can be disappointed with last minute "Dive-In with all fours" decisions like this but we were pleasantly surprised. We got a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with views of the Shrine and gardens across the road. It was very clean with modern furnishings (Like new). We ate in the hotel restaurant - very good, friendly staff and modifying the meal for one of our fussy children was no trouble. We found the amenities (My son and I enjoyed a lengthy swim in the pool and spa), location and overall style of the hotel to be very good. It greatly exceeded the quality of a lot of other so-called more upmarket (and more expensive) hotels that we have stayed at.
Our daughter is going to be in a production at the Arts Centre during December 2009 for 2 nights - We wanted to stay in the city during the shows and immediately thought of the Seasons Botanic Gardens - We booked without hesitation and are really looking forward to our this next visit.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    148
    42
    18
    20
See reviews for
69
93
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This is a great hotel, Ive been a regular guest here for several years now & i dont stay anywhere else in Melbourne these days. The rooms are apartment style, have a decent sofa & a proper kitchen (not that I think it gets much use) along with a washing machine in each one. The beds are good quality & its 5 mins on the tram straight into the city... all good. The staff are always nice, I will keep staying here...

The only bad bit is breakfast, its not good (limited choice, order from a fixed menu if you want something hot) but being Melbourne a quick tram ride will take you to anyone of a hundred decent cafe's that do a much better job. Its not a problem, just go elsewhere.

Overall its great value for the price, decent sized rooms, great location, nice staff, its clean & I've stayed there loads & will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel is a 10 minute walk or 2 min tram ride from Southbank, Tram the other way takes you to St Kilda. We asked for, and got a quiet two bedroomed apartment away from the road. We did look onto a building site which was slightly noisy from 7.30 onwards but didn't bother us,
It's not luxurious but perfectly adequate and quiet at night which was my main concern. Rooms were clean. Breakfast is basic during the week but again, has everything you need. Full breakfast at W/ends
Round the corner is a nice restaurant (the Olive Tree)
Staff were very friendly. I'd definitely stay here again if in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This hotel did not live up to our expectations. Best thing about it was the location esp if you have kids as the botanical gardens are just across the road and the kids will enjoy riding the trams. On our 1st night there, it was obvious that the sheets had not been changed as there was lots of hair in the bedding. So had to ring reception at 10pm and get them to change the sheets, but the thought of hair all over the bed and pillows made it impossible to sleep. Other things such as the remote control for the TV did not work, there was no grate over the vent in the bathroom and thus the build up of dust could be seen, the light above the dining table did not work. Their internet charges are ridiculous. On the upside the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east gippsland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Tired - in need of a make-over. Gives the appearence of things being done on the cheap. Front desk staff not particularly friendly. Cleanliness of apartments, lifts etc. only fair. Shower over bath. Low quality toiletries. Continental breakfast (included) basic. Access to carpark down flight of steps.
Back rooms away from St Kilda Road quiet. Call to have light globe replaced during evening attended to promptly. Comfortable beds and pillows.
Convenient for short tram trip to city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Seasons Botanic Gardens Melbourne is located south of the central business district on St. Kilda Road in Melbourne. We were scheduled to stay at this hotel for three nights but we extended our stay for an additional three nights to enjoy the city of Melbourne.

This hotel is located directly across the street from the Royal Botanic Gardens. The "Shrine of Remembrance" is a major landmark in Melbourne and the Seasons Royal Botanic Melbourne is located directly across the street from the shrine.

St. Kilda Road is the primary tram route into and out of the Melbourne CBD. There is a tram stop located just steps from the front door of the hotel. You can catch a tram to the CBD/Federation Square or go in the opposite direction to visit St. Kilda Beach in minutes.

A daily tram ticket is under $7.00 AUD and it allows you to travel anywhere within the Melbourne metro Area 1on any tram. We used the tram to explore every corner of Melbourne.

The room we stayed in at the Seasons Botanic Garden Melbourne was clean, comfortable, and reasonable for the space we had. There was a balcony overlooking St Kilda Road and the bedroom had two galss walls allowing you to lay in bed and watch everyone else go to work.

The staff is extremely courteous and very helpful. Joe takes great care of the lobby, Vanessa does a great behind the front desk, and Adrian is a great bartender. Our rate included continental breakfasts during the week. You can upgrade to a hot breakfast for an additional $6.00 AUD.

There is an indoor lap pool, a hot tub, fitness center and a sauna. The business center has a computer with internet access but we did not see a printer.

The major benefit of the hotel, immediate access to the trams, my be considered to be a drawback to others it you do not like the sounds trams make. However, the trams give you the access to the hidden gems located throughout Melbourne.

This is not a backpacker hotel. But if you are backpacking through Australian and you want a great room, comfortable bed, and easy access to the great tram system in Melbourne you should splurge on this hotel and use it as your base for a few days.

The Rod Laver Arena and the Melbourne Cricket Ground are located on the other side of the Royal Botanic Garden. We walked to the MCG to catch a Collingwood vs Carlton AFL game which was attended by 82,000 people. The free tourist bus also stops in the park and on St. Kilda Road very near the hotel.

I would rate this hotel as well above average. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I needed an overnight stay between late night and early morning meetings. A quick search of the internet booking sites showed that my usual hotels were full, but Seasons Botanic Gardens was just around the corner from my next appointment. Booked.

What a great decision. The rate was comparable with places which are well below the standard of this hotel. I got an apartment room with LARGE rooms by self-contained standards. A good work desk, small but complete kitchen, comfortable lounge, and large bedroom and bathroom.

The only negative about the hotel was the lack of cable/satellite television. For the price I paid I'm definitely not complaining.

Check-in/out service was fine, and a continental breakfast was included in the rate. The breakfast offered a good selection of juices, cereals, fruits and bakery goods. I've paid $15-20 for similar breakfasts in other hotels.

Assuming a similar rate, I'll definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seasons Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Botanic Gardens

Address: 348 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seasons Botanic Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the heart of Melbourne and St Kilda, you can indulge in the luxury of our spacious apartments and enjoy fantastic Hotel service with the Royal Botanic Gardens and the Shrine of Remembrance as a relaxing backdrop. It is the type of affordable experience which makes our guests return time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seasons Botanic Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Seasons Botanic Gardens Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.