We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home whilst Home was being built.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Home whilst Home was being built.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

On a good day, any good hotel might be rated "really good". But what if your visit to the respective hotel was not for one night, or a few nights - but for a few days, every-week, for six months? How good (really good), after such exposure, would be your rating? Familiarity breeds contempt, right? Wrong!
During 2010 we, (wife Amanda and I), were building a house in South Yarra, 300 metres from the Lyall. Happily we had beach house accommodation for much of each week (during the build process), but at least 3 days each week we were required in the City. Could have chosen a serviced apartment. Punted instead on a 6 month booking at the Lyall.
6 months! Checking in checking out. Ordering room service. Asking for extra towels, booking cabs and cars, demanding restaurant bookings and begging special favours, commandeering restaurant and bar spaces for business and family functions. So easy to stretch the friendship, over stay the welcome, try the patience of every member of staff (who eventually, God bless 'em, knew the pesky Bennetts up close and personal). Yet,
never once did the service, the friendliness, the helpfulness flag. Not once. Not ever.
Incredible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
86
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We had four nights at the lyall which proved to be a wonderful experience. Lee MUddle and the team at the Lyall helped us in every way possible in finding restaurants as well as making sure that we made the right chioces of transport when going places in town. Very attentive and helpful. The suites was just the thing we needed when stayiogn in melbourne fully equipped kitchen with washer/dryer and a superb spa with a wide range of treatments.

Also being in South Yarra was perfect with close proximity to restaurants, shops and cafes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

A comfortable hotel that provides great service. Easy walking distance to shopping and good restaurants. There is a late night convenience store nearby. We had good service and food in their restaurant. The staff especially Lee were all friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Having friends and family in Melbourne I've rarely had the need to stay in hotel accommodation, however my husband and I recently married in Melbourne and spent our wedding night and the following night at the Lyall Hotel. It was just great, so conveniently located and we had a lovely suite which was spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Melbourne for its fantastic and quiet location, its personal atmosphere and great service. The breakfasts were fantastic and we hope to celebrate an anniversary there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I agree with other reviews that the TVs in this hotel are not up to a 5 star standard. I could not adjust our picture to avoid cutting off the sides, even using each of the aspect ratio options. I don't think they were plasma. And the tv in the lounge room was simply too big. It is a very small lounge room, so the small couch is only 1.5m away from the tv, and the large screen is on top of you.

Another disappointing aspect was the fact that, although the staff kindly offered to park our car, there was no word that we would be hit with a $15 charge for the privilege! When my wife complained when paying that we did not know about that cost, there was no offer to remove the charge.

Those two complaints aside, we liked our stay. It is a very stylish hotel. Just a tiny bit dated, but the rooms are still very nice and very well equipped, and there is a definite feel that you are staying in a special, boutique place.

I think the location is great. Always something happening nearby, even on Sundays when other parts of Melbourne are dead. Some great cafes nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Recently, my Mother and I had occasion to stay at The Lyall for three weeks.
The understated elegance of The Lyall with it's fabulous staff combined to make our stay a most enjoyable experience. We've stayed at many fine establishments around the world, and The Lyall compares with the best of them.
Each of our rooms were spacious and well equipped, and I slept like a baby every night!!
Tucked away throughout this boutique hotel there are lounge areas with fireplaces, where one can relax with a book, a drink, or a friend, in a cozy atmosphere.
The staff are very caring and attentive without ever being intrusive.
All in all, five stars from us.
We will be back.
N&N

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Lyall has been our home away from home for some years now. We're probably there 8-10 times a year, so we know it well. So what has it got? Well probably the best staff anywhere. Helpful, friendly, courteous and yet with a light touch. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Location? Hey, it's South Yarra. Nuff said!

Is there anything wrong with it? Well yes. Some of the plumbing needs sorting occasionally but it is sorted as soon as we mention it. But here's the odd one. The main TVs (there are of course 3 in each suite - 4 if it's a 2 bedroom) are way too big. They dominate the rooms and the picture quality is poor. Only SD which isn't good enough these days. The Lyall needs to look at this. And the coffee is a bit ordinary and Melbourne is not a place to go sub-standard on coffee. But the little bloke across the road makes superb coffee. Hire him!

We sometimes think of trying other hotels in Melbourne but why would we? We'd just be disappointed.

NLBatEBR

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the essence of its chic South Yarra address, The Lyall Hotel and Spa is Melbourne’s only privately owned and operated 5 Star hotel, a true home away from home offering grand hotel services and facilities on an intimate and personal scale. With 40 suites of contemporary oriental design, the hotel’s welcoming ambience attracts guests who appreciate personal recognition and attention to their individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.